My Bike - Giant TCR Advance 2

in Cycling11 months ago

This is my joy! It's a Giant TCR Advance 2 from 2018. Although I owned a race bike before this one, this is the first one I purchased newly. I bought it in January 2019 and it took me close to 20000 kilometers so far!

It is a carbon frame equipped with a 105 groupset with a compact 50/36 11/34 drivetrain. Some 5000 kilometers ago I replace the stock wheels with some Campagnolo Zonda's (not in the picture above).

Recently, after about 19000 kilometers, it was time to replace the BB. It was starting to make some expensive noise. The press-fit BB is quite interesting to replace. Here are some pictures of the procedure:


BB removed (don't mind the dirt).


"Pressing" the new BB.


Crank back in place!

It's now good for another pile of kilometers!

Talking about kilometers, I've road in many countries with this bike! Among them there are Austria, Germany, France, Belgium, England, and Norway. And of course, also the Netherlands where I'm based. Here's a heatmap of my local area:

The Giant TCR Advance is my favourite bike I own. It's light, swift, and took me to great places!

The longest ride I did with this bike is the Liege-Bastogne-Liege of about 250km and 4500 altitude meters. Here's the Strava entry for it:

I still plan to ride many kilometers with this bike! One of the next challenges to come is the Rad am Ring. Which is a 24Hr challenge in which the goal is to ride as many laps on the Nürburgring racetrack. I will do this with three of my colleagues in July.

I also own a gravel bike, but that one is for another time :)

Thanks to @friendlymoose for the #Cycling community and I'm looking forward seeing other to share in some #mybike story!

Sort:  

Cool bike. Nice to see you're doing some maintenance yourself. I don't have the tools to replace my crankset myself, but I also try to do some replacements myself. It saves a lot of money. And you get to know your bike better.
Speaking if which... didn't you give your bike a name like some of the others who showed their bike? I was surprised people do since I haven't.

That Liege-Bastogne-Liege trip is epic with that amount of elevation 💪

Thaks for joining the #MYBIKE challenge.

Ha good point! I call this one Le Colossal. French for Giant :P And yes it's quite amazing that it's possible to do so much climbing in a relatively flat country!

Soon I'll write another article on my gravel bike 👍

Thanks for inviting me for this writing challenge!

You're welcome! Thanks for joining!
Looking forward to your gravel bike post!


Upvoted by the Cycling Community
image.png
For all cycling related blogs!

It was starting to make some expensive noise

The expensive part of any noise scares us all \o\

Curious about the Nürburgring challenge. I imagine it's quite brutal. How are you guys dividing the time? 8-hour shifts between the 3?

That's a pretty sweet ride you have yourself there. I'm jealous!

Hello @michelmake

While I read the comments in your post, I laugh to myself because I am not capable of talking about mechanical topics 🤣, but I can tell you how beautiful is your bike "Le Colossal".😍

The longest ride I did with this bike is the Liege-Bastogne-Liege of about 250km and 4500 altitude meters.

This ride is really impressive, I can't breath just reading it 😂

Enjoy you bike and thanks for share #MYByke

I also have a gravel bike, waiting for reading about yours.