Taking a Punch [EN/ES] Cogiendo un Ponche

in Cycling4 months ago

Riding a bike is extremely satisfying. It brings a happiness and a sense of freedom comparable to few things in life... However, we always feel a bit frustrated when one of the cyclist's constant fears happens: the dreaded flat tire 😬

A few days ago, I was doing one of the usual daily rides when suddenly I started hearing (and feeling, since with 23-622 tires you can completely feel the road) something strange, metallic 🤔

I got off the bike and inflated the tire to see if it would hold (which was almost empty) but the attempt was unsuccessful. I had to walk. When I got home, I didn't even bother to check, I was too tired 😮‍💨. But eventually, I had to make the change.

Disassembled bike

The front wheel was the one that had the flat tire (luckily), so it wasn't very difficult to remove it, since I have a quick-release. The first problem arises when I have to remove the tire to take out the inner tube: I don't have the proper tools, so I had to improvise a bit 🙂

Removing the tire

After successfully removing the inner tube, I had to identify the puncture. For this, I used a bucket of water and gradually introduced the tube until I found the points where bubbles were forming. After this and drying everything well, I used some cold patches that I had, a truly wonderful product 👍

Cold patches

Since everything was disassembled, I also took the opportunity to change the protective tape inside the wheel. I bought this a while ago but hadn't installed it. This tape is important to prevent a spoke from penetrating the wheel and puncturing the inner tube 💁

Protective tape

After finishing the whole process, all that was left was to reassemble the wheel. And there you go, happy ending 😁... if this were a family movie... 🥲

Unfortunately, it's not, this is the harsh reality of life, that when installing the inner tube inside the wheel, it gets pinched and punctured again. To make a long story short, I took the spare tube I had and installed it, end of the story. I didn't do this from the beginning because here in Cuba they are not very cheap, it's more efficient to use patches than to buy a new tube. But sometimes there's no choice but to give in ¯⁠\⁠⁠(⁠ツ⁠)⁠⁠/⁠¯

Good as new


Note:

  • all photos are of my own 📸
  • taken with a cell phone

Versión en Español

Rodar en la bicicleta es algo sumamente satisfactorio. Da una felicidad y una sensación de libertad equiparable a pocas cosas en la vida... Sin embargo, siempre nos sentimos un poco frustrados cuando sucede uno de los miedos constantes del ciclista: el temido ponche 😬

Hace algunos días me encontraba realizando uno de los recorridos habituales en el día a día, cuando de repente comencé a escuchar ( y a sentir, ya que con gomas 23-622 se siente completamente la carretera) algo extraño, metálico 🤔

Me bajé de la bici e inflé la goma para ver si llegaba (que ya faltaba poco) pero fue infructuoso el intento. Hubo que caminar. Al llegar a la casa ni hice el intento de revisar, estaba demasiado cansado 😮‍💨. Pero eventualmente tocó hacer el cambio.

Bicicleta desarmada

La que estaba ponchada era la rueda de adelante (por suerte) así que no fue muy díficil sacarla, más que tengo cierre rápido. El primer problema surge al tener que quitar la goma para extraer la cámara: no dispongo de las herramientas adecuadas, así que tuve que improvisar un poco 🙂

Sacando la goma

Luego de lograr extraer la cámara tocó identificar el ponche. Para esto utilicé un cubo con agua y fui introduciendo poco a poco la cámara hasta dar con los puntos donde se formaban burbujas. Tras esto y secar bien todo, utilicé unos ponches fríos que tenía, un producto realmente maravilloso 👍

Ponche frío

Ya que estaba todo desarmado, aproveché también para cambiar la cinta protectora del interior de la rueda. Está la había comprado hace tiempo pero no sé la había colocado. Está cinta es importante para evitar que un radio pueda penetrar la rueda y pincharnos la cámara 💁

Cinta protectora

Terminado todo el proceso, solo quedó volver a montar la rueda. Y ya, final feliz 😁... si es que esto fuera una película familiar... 🥲

Desgraciadas no lo es, esto es la vida pura y dura, que al montar la cámara adentro de la rueda hace que se pellizque y se ponche nuevamente. Para no hacer el cuento largo, tomé la cámara de repuesto que me quedaba y la monté, fin de la historia. No hice esto desde el primer momento ya que aquí en Cuba no son muy baratas, es más eficiente coger ponches que comprar una cámara nueva. Pero a veces no queda más remedio que ceder ¯⁠\⁠⁠(⁠ツ⁠)⁠⁠/⁠¯

Como nueva


Nota:

  • todas las fotos me pertenecen 📸
  • tomadas con el teléfono móvil

Translated and formatted with Hive Translator by @noakmilo.

Sort:  

Punctures 😐
Good tools are quite important. Tire lifters are essential. Did I see younused a screwdriver?
You could easily create a second puncture by using that.
Also don't forget to check the inside of your tire to see if the sharp item is still in your tire.
I always carry tire lifters, a small lump and a spare inner tube in my saddle bag so I can replace a tube on the road. When you continue riding with a flat tire you have the chance of creating even more damage.

Thanks for sharing!


This post was upvoted by the Cycling Community

cycling.PNG

Join our Discord Channel!

Delegations are welcome
| 25 HP | 50 HP | 100 HP | 250 HP | 500 HP |

Thank, great advices. I know that the ideal tool it's a tire lifter, but here even this simple things are expensive and hard to find. However yes, I'm going to do that inversion as soon as I can 🙂

Congratulations @rigomohe! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 40 posts.
Your next target is to reach 50 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - January 15, 2024

Es genial y maravilloso andar en biblioteca...y hay que ser buen mecánico también jajaja

Siii... 😂😂😂. He aprendido bastante a golpes de vídeos en YouTube y de armar y desarmar y ajustar y reparar unos cuantos componentes 🥲