🎵 LET'S JAM! | Week 2 | "Space In Between" (Original Song)

in HIVESICIANS4 years ago

HIVESICIANS ( #hivesicians ) is a global community made by @ilazramusic for those creators that make musical content within HIVE. This new community's current event is called: LET'S JAM!


Space In Between

A song about the mystical place between sky and sea

LetsJam2Beach1.jpg

Today's creation is a song and music video, made specifically for LET'S JAM! This week, we're invited to make music inspired by the theme: "Beach," and so I worked with some film footage I captured recently at a place called Sunny Beach, near Galveston, on the Texas Gulf Coast.

▶️ Watch on 3Speak

This is an experimental song and music video, celebrating a fascinating moment, when the sea and sky showed their spectacular interplay. Seagulls drifting, pelicans diving, moon holding a silver glow, sun rising pink, waves reflecting the silvers and pinks... The entire scene was delighted, including me.

On that day, during the recent full moon of ~2 weeks ago, my family and I arrived at the beach before dawn. It was a rare moment when the twilight allowed both the moon and sun to present themselves in all their glory.


Space In Between

A musical adventure in sampling and looping

The reason why I decided to try sampling and looping for this project is because I discovered an old collection of Funk recordings that I collected while attending grad school. At that time, I studied the Funk music genre in one of my courses, called Soundscapes, and I ended up with a whole library of Funk music material.

The music you hear in the movie soundtrack is sampled from a song called "Inspiration Information," by Shuggie Otis. My audio production process began in Adobe Audition, where I broke apart the song into memorable sections. In the end, I chose a clip of ~16 seconds, and I carefully cropped and duplicated it into a looping music clip.

After assembling my loop, I recorded the words to a song I wrote a few years ago, for Steemit Vision Quest. I gave the verses a bit of reverb and added an echo effect to the chorus lines. It all sounded a bit dissonant to me when I put the pieces together, so I tried my best to make it resonate.


Acknowledgements

LET'S JAM - Week 2 is underway right now. I am happy to participate again in this initiative. This has been a meaningful experience for me as an artist, exploring new ways to express myself musically. And, as a music fan, I look forward to listening to the other entries too. Thank you to the host: @ilazramusic, for bringing the musicians and music fans together here on Hive.


Bio

I'm Cabe Lindsay, a high-flying star child making music with Butterflies and movies with ARISE. Publications include films: Voices of the Grandmothers, Wild Family... books: Brave Spirit, Be Well Bee, WYLD, Big Idea Patterns... and songs: Brave Spirit, Home, Colors Flying... Most importantly, I'm a rad daddy making life with three kids and a wife: @wildfamily, delighted to thrive on Hive.

Sort:  

Uuufff... Brother, it's this but extraordinarily beautiful... I traveled to hear this song. It was the perfect moment to come across this work of art. I'd definitely like to add it to my phone playlist. If you can get the song to me, that would be very nice. Hugs, buddy. Good vibe!

Wow, I sure appreciate that! Thank you. Sure thing. Here's a link to the song in MP3 format: Space In Between.