Pies And Puppers

in Daily Blog6 months ago


IMG_1136.jpg
This is Jupiter. He's a Great Pyr mix. I love him. That is all

paw divider transparent.png


Thanksgiving in our house has been a non-traditional thing for the past few years. One year, after many, many years of doing it all, I decided not too. It was one of the best decisions I have ever made and it gave birth to a super excellent tradition, Fun Family Feast.

However, sometimes situations arise where one's new traditions might need a bit of a family building pause.

So, a few weeks ago our daughter got engaged to this delightful creature, T, and T and his dad T Sr. invited us to their house for Thanksgiving.

Like we weren't going to go! Our family is growing!

So, yesterday I got up and took the mountain of pie crust out of the fridge that I had prepped before, and began baking pies, for I told T Sr. I would most definitely be happy to bake all the pies.

Apparently they also knew that I bake, and made a request if I could bake a pineapple upside down cake at their house for the dinner too. They wanted to see how I did it because apparently my cakes is pretty tasty. They sure know how to butter up a girl who loves baking.

IMG_1133.jpg

Anyway, before too long I had a couple of pumpkin pies baking in the oven made with my very own Winter Luxury pumpkin puree from pumpkins I had grown, roasted, reduced, and pureed.

I then moved on to the cherry pie, as that was the other request I received when I inquired as to what they would like. Apparently a lot of people have never had from scratch baked pies. This is a foreign concept to my frugal and loves to craft comestibles brain, so of course I said I would bake a cherry pie too.

And I did. I even latticed the sucker!

IMG_1135.jpg

A short while later we loaded up into various vehicles and drove up the hill to our new family to be's house. They are basically our neighbors. My joy about the get together was growing exponentially because I had been to the T's place once before and there are PUPPERS EVERYWHERE!

I love dogs, especially rescue dogs, and the T's got something special going on at their house. There are thirteen dogs of all sizes, from chihuahuas to a Mastiff mix, and every single one of them is a rescue. They also are the most socially well-adapted pack of animals I have witnessed in awhile.

Everyone just has this get-along vibe that I enjoy. T Sr. also cares for two not fully abled young adults and a very traumatized teenager. His home is a haven for the wounded.

And you can tell they feel safe, valued, and cared for in it, because everyone is thriving.

So, right out of the truck I got Mastiff loves, I then was welcomed by the rest of the pack as I offloaded the pies and the cake making supplies. Soon me and S, T's little sister who's developmentally mentally around five years old or so was in the kitchen watching me whip up the pineapple upside down cake like a question firing bluebird. She has the most amazing soft, high-pitched voice. I just love her and of course I told her I would teach her how to make pies when she said she'd love to learn how.

IMG_1138.jpg

Dinner was glorious, and I even enjoyed the non-gluten, non-dairy chocolate pudding pie I made that I could nosh on. But truly, it was the company that made my whole day grand.

IMG_1137.jpg

Sitting next to the raging pellet stove, with a mastiff on my boots and a chihuahua in my lap, I smiled as I thought about all the new additions to our family. Breaking tradition for the sake of growth is not a bad thing at all😊


paw divider transparent.png


And as most of the time, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's sniffed at least thirty-two times iPhone.


Sort:  

I’m glad that you made this kind of dessert for your thanksgiving day
It is looking awesome

Thanks a bunch! Hope you found something tasty to enjoy too😊

!PIZZA

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@generikat(1/15) tipped @rafzat

Congratulations to your daughter! It's cool his family lives near yours. But 13 dogs! My goodness!

Big congrats to all!
I got to say those dogs got it made. Nothing warms the bones like a raging fire.