Session Road Sunday

in Daily Blog2 years ago (edited)

Session Road in Baguio City is considered to be the central business district of the city. It is where you will find different businesses from groceries, restaurants, legal and medical services, and more except for wet market. As part of the city government's way of promoting tourism and fostering bonding among local families, the road is closed to vehicular traffic on Sundays. It is turned into a business and recreational spot instead.

20220918_102058.jpg

On Sundays, a portion of the road is occupied by artists, pro and hobbyist alike. They bring their colored chalks and draw on the ground. Some would draw just what's on their mind. Others draw or just write about the product or service that they promote.
20220918_093415.jpg
At first I wondered what he is doing like crouching. Then someone came and traced his shadow on the ground. Okay...😄

20220918_093552.jpg
They call it making art. I call it legal way of vandalizing public property. 😄

Many small businesses would put up their stall and line up on the road. There are those who serve food for alfresco dining, others sell souvenir items and others sell live plants. I sell live plants online and I wondered how these vendors price theirs. I canvassed by randomly asking plant vendors. Their prices are higher than mine. That is okay given their efforts to put and clean up the store just for one day. I just hope they have good sale on Sundays.

20220918_103201(0).jpg

20220918_102651.jpg

20220918_103240.jpg

One of the most popular scenes along the road are the giant crocheted mandalas. I saw them first on a post of an FB friend. They were already amazing on the post. I was more amazed when I first saw them with my own eyes. The biggest seem to be about one storey high. When I first got near them, I softly touched and traced the designs. I can only imagine and fully admire the creator's patience, diligence and creativity.
20220918_102955.jpg
Notice how almost unnoticeable that woman to the right with how big the mandalas are.

It was very hard timing up to get a clear view of the mandalas because many people keep taking turns for their photos with the mandalas as the background. Due to its popularity, it made to the national news with a fair warning of the price.

Session Road’s giant mandalas a head-turner, but they cost a fortune

I was too ambitious of thinking buying one of the giant mandalas so I wondered about the price. Instead of directly checking the price of the giant ones, I checked a small one which is about one-fourth the size. It was already P16,000 which is around US$ 273. I no longer bothered checking the price of the giant ones. 😄

20220918_102917.jpg

Aside from obvious buisness of selling, many would do their own tricks for tips. Others play their music. The most common trick I noticed is cosplay. I guess that is because it is the easiest to invest in. You don't even need a talent, just hide inside your costume and pose for tourists especially the kids.

I saw three spidermen. Among the cosplay costumes, I guess this is the easiest to find.
20220918_102135.jpg

Batman has a crown. Umbrella crown. And since when did he have an armor?
20220918_102142.jpg

Forgive me but who's this? It's not Iron Man. Is it?
20220918_102528.jpg

Picachus seem to like me a lot. They turned to run towards me, ready to hug, when I aimed my camera at them. I ran away! 😄
20220918_102748.jpg

20220918_102537.jpg

Wonder Woman double? Nope. That bright red costume is for the Filipino superheroine Darna. I have known the character through komiks (comic book) since I got my senses. Searching it now on the web, I gathered the character first appeared in 1950s, decades before I came into being. I have known Wonder Woman then and now I wondered, is Darna an adaptation of Wonder Woman? I searched Wonder Woman to have first appeared in 1941 so I guess Darna maybe indeed an adaptation.
20220918_102348.jpg

When Gal Gadot came out as Wonder Woman in 2017, I noticed her dark red costume which is not what I remember of Lynda Carter in the 80s. Lynda has bright, not dark, red outfit. Critics came out about the shade of Gal's outfit so I remember it right. Lynda also has a rope on her waist, Gal has a sword and a shield. Apparently, Gal's version was revolutionized.

20220918_102255.jpg

There are many more cartoon characters doing their tricks. I cannot catch them all.

Session Road is just below the Baguio Cathedral and very near the popular Burnham Park. It is a very good destination to unwind and shop at the same time on Sundays. If you happen to be in Baguio City, you better catch the fun!

P.S. The photos were taken last Sunday. It is raining today so no Session Road pedestrian mall for now.

Sort:  

Love the pattern on those massive mandalas! Mahal pala yan cia!

!PIZZA

Yes, mahal siya! Sobrang mahal... 😄

Dear @macoolette,
May I ask you to review and support the Dev Marketing Proposal (https://peakd.com/me/proposals/232) we presented on Conference Day 1 at HiveFest?
The campaign aims to onboard new application developers to grow our ecosystem. If you missed the presentation, you can watch it on YouTube.
You cast your vote for the proposal on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

Thank you!

Support casted. Good luck!👍🏻

Thank you for your support @macoolette, really appreciate it! ❤️

Pica.. CHU!! (not Kim Chu)

Darna could take em all tho..

wow, those mandalas we so awesome. and they can get even bigger? what are they, like rugs? i wonder how long it takes to make one..

very cool spot! 💪😊😎🤙

Rug? The mandalas are so expensive and you regard them as rugs? Waaaahhhh... 🙃😄🙃

😁😂 i meant like a run that u would hang/display on a wall or something. my aunt does have this giant canvas type thing all over her floor in her living room, and its like a big painting that u just walk all over.. 😮😂🤣

I see... okay 😁

Really interesting post, I especially like the pictures. Thanks for sharing :)

!PIZZA

I am glad that you enjoyed my post. Thanks for dropping by! And thanks for the !pizza 😊💖

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@chichi18(1/5) tipped @macoolette (x1)
btcsam tipped macoolette (x1)

Join us in Discord!

I wonder how this pizza thing works...