Sort:  
 3 years ago  

Hey @chrisdavidphoto! Wow! That is nice to know you have been able to visit my place especially oslob. Now that you mention about the whalesharks, let me indulge you with this recent freediving we have with them: https://peakd.com/hive-178638/@indayclara/wyfhfbut

Same here. I'm really hoping to travel a lot by next year in different freediving spots here in my country but I've been also checking on freediving videos in australia as well! which is also in my bucketlist but perhaps someday after all this covidshit going on.

My last shoot there was in Boracay right before the borders closed but planning for a number of underwater project shoots when Im finally back and definitely be including Moalboal , Oslob and Malapascua and Panglao Island. A few around Anilao and Puerto Galera too. There's not much for underwater ocean shoots around Sydney especially with our rough green and cooler waters so Im more stuck doing shoots in pools here. Lockdowns cancelled my diving with seals and swimming with whales for the year here. Great Barrier Reef has some great diving though I enjoy my ones in the Philippines more.

 3 years ago  

Woaah! Way to go for able to going back home before the borders closed! Some got stucked here.

Moalboal is definitely a place you should come and do your underwater photoshoots in the future! Even I couldn't get enough of the place.

I haven't been to Malapascua but my friend says there is a sunken ship there we can freedive so i've already included that on my bucketlist. And we are also planning to visity Panglao early next year! So I'm excited for that.

Woah, is it really easy for you guys to swim with the whales there? I mean, the humpback whales that is?

I think its Gato Island when doing trips from Malapascua Island that theres a cave that travels through one side to the other with plenty of reef sharks hiding inside. Ive been to Moalboal 3 times already and spend 2 weeks there the first time and still wanting to go back. Same with Panglao. Some of my shoot concepts are complicated though so its been hard to make happen there. One includes bodypainting 2 freedivers in UV body and diving at night under special lights that make all the live corals glow for video/photo project. Last time had Anilao and Moalboal listed due to proximity of coral gardens to the shore.

Normally for whales here is in Queensland and Western Australia - mostly humpbacks but few other species. This year a local dive company in Jervis Bay a few hours away is in their first year of being licensed to be able to do a snorkel/swim with whales/seals but lockdowns happened in the peak of it so have to wait next season.
Ive linked the site for easier reference. https://www.divejervisbay.com/swim-with-whales

 3 years ago  

Never knew there was cave in Malapascua. my friend said though that the reef sharks are located 20-30m underwater and would require us to scubadive. We heard though there are sharks (not sure what kind) on another part of Cebu. we will still have to check it out ourselves if its true.

One includes bodypainting 2 freedivers in UV body and diving at night under special lights that make all the live corals glow for video/photo project.

Wow. can you send me a link of of your finish product? 😆

 3 years ago  

I saw the video on the link you sent me! Got goosebumps! So amazing to see them swimming near with the humpbacks.

Most people go to see the thresher sharks which is about 30 or so metres down. Ive done that dive twice trying to photograph them because equipment is very slow to focus and capture them at that depth as artificial lighting (Dive lights/strobes) are restricted due to the sensitivity of those creatures.

Im still to shoot the UV project in the Philippines but the testing down in a pool here has been done years ago. One of the shots I have up. - https://www.instagram.com/p/Bmm1WxHnWO-/
I also have a video from the first test of lights I did with some of the equipment there on a trip