Journey to the past that passed (Interior design)



clpcicz26022997sz965khvw1_11700819104593.webp
clpcid1hc026me9sz0czj21zm_11700819104418.webp
clpcide3s026abfsz3wuoceg4_11700819104429.webp
clpcidc9q003d26szfbcs3agx_11700819104503.webp
clpcidn5d025h83szea6p2qpz_11700819104564.webp
clpcidoy2000wrwszc7t5f5gz_11700819104407.webp

For as long as I can remember, I have been wearing formal clothes: shirts, pants, ties, etc. When I needed to buy clothes like that in my adolescence, I used to visit several specific stores in the city where I lived. Now that I wanted to buy a white shirt, I went back to several of those, but one in particular was quite an experience because of its interior design.

Upon arrival, I asked for what I wanted and was told to go up to the second level. I knew it existed. In fact, I remember it. As I went up, I was surprised to see how well preserved it was. It is a spacious room where the walls are covered with very good quality wooden shelves. They are the originals that I remember. There is also furniture with clothes hanging on hooks that create aisles in the middle. Everything looks neat and clean.

As for the ceiling, they decided on LED lighting, which is cool and energy-saving. I think it is a good decision. Also, with taste and symmetry, they decided to place them individually and not using lamps that are placed three at a time. This allows a softer and more uniform light. The floor only has ceramic tiles in the part near the staircase. But the rest was covered with carpet.

The result of using all these materials is beautiful acoustics. The few reflective surfaces are some glass on the furniture and some mirrors. The rest absorbs sound, as does the wood, carpet and folded clothing. Wonderful. But there is still one more detail missing.

What surprised me the most was to see some old equipment that they used as decoration. Of course, I did not miss the opportunity to take pictures of them after getting permission. On one of the columns there was an old black telephone and a tape recorder. They are in front of you as you go up, so it is obvious that they intended for us to see it. They complemented it with some period photos that matched it very well.

Nearby they had an old computer whose trademark is a bitten apple (you know what I mean). Having that element in the room instills respect for the place, as it is a message that the store has history and trajectory: 40 years. I wasn't born yet!

On top of one of the pieces of furniture was a beautiful red telephone, one of those that worked by inserting a couple of coins. Incredible. And finally, next to the staircase, they had a cash register machine, one of those with which they used to do the accounts and tell the amounts to be paid. The nice label they put on it said that they used it in that store from 1978 to 1991. And on its body you can see a small plaque with the name of the store made of metal.

I think the interior design of this store is magnificent. You can perceive the desire to maintain a brand and style, and that shopping there remains an experience for the customer, keeping the elements of the space so that we can look for what we need and spend time to find it and measure it. It was all a trip back in time, both for those "vintage" elements and for those memories of years ago going back to such a preserved store.

The photos were taken with my wife's Oppo Realme 7 phone.


Twitter



For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  

Congratulations @aaalviarez! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 3000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 3500 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Good taste of our era, neat and clean!

@tipu curate

Yes! Very beautiful and well preserved. Thank you for your support @joanstewart

Reminds me of departmental stores we had in the 1960s - 1970s three I remember Greaterman's, John-Orr's and Stuttafords in Johannesburg, South Africa.

Today I believe most of these are now split into apartment buildings for living in, also currently a dangerous part of the city.

From a prestigious shopping area into squalor, like many cities in our country.

Wow, nice memories, but contrasting actuality. I think that's what gives even more value to those objects that survive those times. Thank you for your nice words and appreciation @joanstewart

Very little survived here sadly, yes plenty of memories to cherish from places like you still enjoy today.

https://inleo.io/threads/aaalviarez/re-aaalviarez-2s3jma94u
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( aaalviarez ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

Wow! These remind me of the retro era during the 80s and that telephone wire,old computer, and a tape recorder are very nostalgic. They're almost or already phased out but hey, they are really iconic because these things bring us back to a certain period of time.

You hit the nail on the head: iconic. Those few must exist in such good condition. Maybe there is a lot of value in them and the owners don't know it yet. Regards @sydney27

Are they for sale? They're great for collections!