Indrapuri Mosque, architecture of the mosque originating from a temple in Aceh province.

in Architecture+Design3 years ago (edited)

1615661602005-01.jpeg


Hello all friends...

It was my surprise to find an extraordinary community. I am not an architect, but I love history and photography. So far, I often take pictures of historical buildings in my area and look for historical references from various literacies on the internet, and have not been yet to publish it. After finding this community, I was interested in trying to share Architecture + Design that I've met in my area, and I hope to contribute in this community with my pictures.

Some time ago, I visited one of the historical sites in my province. Located approximately 20 kilometers from the center of Banda Aceh City, Aceh province, there is a building that is one of the oldest mosques in our area. The Masjid Tuha Indrapuri is located on the banks of the Krueng (river) Aceh in Keude Indrapuri, Aceh Besar District. Masjid Tuha Indrapuri has historic architecture and design, even from some literacy that I found this mosque is one proof of Islamic civilization in my province Aceh-Indonesia.


IMG_20210106_173844-01.jpeg

1615661340922-01.jpeg

1615661426570-01.jpeg

1615661482490-01.jpeg

1615661686180-01.jpeg

1615661811495-01.jpeg


Masjid Indrapuri estimated to have been built since 1207 Hijriah or 1618 AD on the ruins of a pre-Islamic temple. A history states that the Indrapuri Mosque was built by Sultan Iskandar Muda who led the Aceh Sultanate in 1607-1636 AD.

It is said that before the mosque was built, this location was one of the temples and fortresses of the Lamuri Kingdom. Lamuri is a Hindu-Buddhist kingdom which is believed to have triumphed on the tip of Sumatra Island (now Aceh) before the arrival of Islamic influence. The temple is thought to have existed since the 10th century AD.

The architecture and design of the Indrapuri Mosque are quite simple. From the side of the building it is clear that it is basically in the form of a fort and a temple, from the sources I have read; the building of the Indrapuri Mosque is made of a mixture of stone and clay. But I pay attention to it like cement and sand today, even the Indrapuri Mosque looks very sturdy


1615661652810-01.jpeg

1615661961931-01.jpeg

1615661631062-01.jpeg

1615661893110-01.jpeg

1615661920014-01.jpeg

1615661942295-01.jpeg


The mosque was built during the reign Sultan Iskandar Mudait has 36 supports together with the roof support. From these pillars, you can still see various forms of carvings typical of the ancient kingdom. Besides, the shape of the roof in this mosque resembles a pyramid with four roofs from bottom to top. The pyramid-shaped roof is a hallmark of traditional mosques in Aceh at the past time.

The Indrapuri Mosque is a witness to various important history, ranging from traces of Hindu civilization to the entry and development of Islam in Aceh. When the Palace Kingdom of Aceh Darussalam in Banda Aceh was successfully controlled by the Dutch in the second military aggression in 1874, the center government of the Kingdom of Aceh moved to the Indrapuri Mosque, at Lamuri village.

The construction of the mosque be like other traditional Acehnese buildings, the Indrapuri Mosque was built without nails and bolts, all with wood on pegs. It is really an ancient building, in our province many ancient buildings are not nailed, according to the era at that time, such as for example the traditional Aceh house which is also neither nailed nor bolted even though its construction is from wood material. The mosque is located in an area of ​​33,875 Ha. At first glance, in the form of a fort building, there are three floors with the last floor at the top of the ancient mosque building above the temple.

Masjid Tuha Indrapuri Source

Thats all my friends, those are some architectural pictures and designs of one of the ancient buildings in my area which is now a place of worship and is able to attract a number of historical researchers to conduct other studies and research. So many introductions from me in this extraordinary community, hopefully I can continue to contribute while introducing various architectures and other designs from my area. Best regard from me, see you in the next post.


1615661788064-01.jpeg

1615662048539-01.jpeg

1615661851430-01.jpeg

1615661984803-01.jpeg

1615662021168-01.jpeg


All pictures are my own documment and were taken by Canon M100

Indrapuri, Aceh Besar, Aceh-Indonesia

Sort:  

Welcome @dilimunanzar to Architecture + Design Community!

My pleasure to share and contribute here , and thank you for warm welcome 🙏@discoveringarni

What a wonderful mixture cultures and architectural styles.

Yes, that's right, even today it is still one of the historical sites and continues to be restored by the local government.

Hello @dilimunanzar, and thank you for featuring this historical gem of architecture from your province! What was your initial reaction when you visited that place?

Welcome to the Architecture+Design Community! Have fun here!

Thank you for the warm welcome in this wonderful community. I can't really say how I felt when I was there. When I read the information on the inscription stone about the mosque being built during the Aceh Sultanate, it was as if I was in the past. The construction of every corner of the building is still as it was built, only some of the old materials are replaced with new materials, but that does not diminish the value of the building's history.

Indeed, being in the presence of historical buildings creates a sense of nostalgia! I’m glad you enjoyed your tour there.

Nice to meet you @storiesoferne, I would like to share some other architecture and design from here and I hope you will enjoy it.