New Hood System in My Little Japanese Kitchen

43D9463B-42C7-459D-BACF-2CD1FA669EB5.jpeg
Newly installed hood system.

6BE95D81-70E6-45DD-8600-F1CB7F685CDF.jpeg
7CA34F58-D94A-4EB1-80A6-55FF37240316.jpeg
Photos of the former (old) hood system

😃Hi fellow hivers and members of the Architecture+Design community.
I recently got a new kitchen hood system and I am quite happy about it.
I’ve been living in my apartment for a number of years. I realized it was getting harder to clean the system. I occasionally started seeing what looked like drips of thick “black oil” on my stove. This started happening even shortly after cleaning. I wondered whether the heat was being properly extracted. It made me very uncomfortable as the system sat directly over my stove. The thought of that substance falling in my pot or in whatever I might have been cooking, didn’t sit well with me.
It made me very uncomfortable. I visited the maintenance office and struggled a bit to find enough Japanese vocabulary to explain what what’s happening in my kitchen. I used google translate to help me fill some blanks. Haha! I felt relieved that I was eventually understood and that soon after, I received a call from the main technician. He stopped by my place to do an assessment.

Before fully entering the kitchen, he glimpsed the equipment and basically said, “Oh! That’s the type you’ve got? It’s very old. We’ve been changing those out!” No assessment was even needed. It must had been there even long before I moved in. I was happy that I’d be getting a new system. I set an appointment and was told that the process would have taken two hours.

Day of Installment

Before the time of my appointment, I went on the road to get some groceries. I got caught up in traffic and got back just in time for the installment. I had no time to pack the groceries out. I put everything in my living room. It’s a good thing I had nothing for the freezer. Had to quickly remove some items from the kitchen counter, let the workmen in and get out the way.
I really understood how long two hours were when I was hungry and had no access to my kitchen. Apple and chicken I picked up from Costco saved the day. I had to utilize my bathroom sink instead of the kitchen. Usually I’d slice my apple. This time, I was so happy to bite right in.
8CE1EF32-4AE4-44E3-9C4D-20844AC27EA0.jpeg
DA77C85A-27B5-4360-822E-3885E8F36A1B.jpeg
The apple that saved the day.
4CA1254E-6965-4556-BFD8-B0337650502F.jpeg
Chicken that helped to save the day.
934C0F7F-0147-45EC-8E4F-F9B3FAE27B2C.jpeg
Brown covering of the old hood system.
B3360434-0F90-4C4E-A100-EF2464F3382B.jpeg
Protective covering for the kitchen area.
152A3BFB-8892-425F-94F7-FE95670CE7DE.jpeg
8C309BA7-D4A4-4EC9-805A-F8FA5776EC3F.jpeg
0C2C463A-7E2C-4437-924C-E014394506DE.jpeg
Removal of the old system
As the workmen moved out and in to remove and take items in, I was able to get a few shots of the work being done in the kitchen.
84B932D7-3F4F-4178-85FB-8E557DF8ABCE.jpeg
Work tools
3A035163-4569-43B8-BFFD-902E67168EED.jpeg
New system to be installed.
DFA0B925-5E60-4A06-B50D-C9AEC73F48F0.jpeg
Work tools

The work was done in exactly two hours. It does feel good to have a new system. It makes an entire section of the kitchen feel new.
EC3B965C-6128-4504-84C5-2AC485DAE4EB.jpeg
BC358E42-351F-49D5-8F7C-3DD8301FB323.jpeg
5C3FA1A0-F4BC-4724-815D-0D8DF10AFC90.jpeg
7FA6BBFE-50CF-45ED-BB1E-D93CC2402168.jpeg

Have you ever had to change your kitchen hood system?

How long did the process take?

Thank you for reading my post. Have a great weekend. 😃

Sort:  

By only changing the hood, your kitchen looks brand new immediately. I have never use a kitchen with a hood system bit i always curious about ut since i saw them a lot in movies and social media

You’re so right. Just that change made the kitchen look different. When the workmen left, I checked to see if anything else was new. Lol!
Seeing them break the old one down made me curious about the installment. It’s interesting how they utilize the space.

Oh yeah! I'm with you @fruityfruitz. I know what a huge hassle it can be with these types of renovations for mechanical systems. And I'm glad you've finally replaced that antique piece of kitchen hood after ages have passed. Who knows how long, lol 🤣

While observing the work, what do you think was the most challenging aspect of that replacement process? 😊

😂Haha! Antique indeed. I wonder if they decided to store it in a museum. 😜
I wish I could have observed it more closely but I would have literally been in their way. Lol!
I realize it did take some time to get the old system out. Apart from cutting it out, they had to do some rocking and shaking. I guess that’s understandable since it had been in place for…who knows how many years. The new system stood vertically but the old one was horizontal.
They had a slight issue with sizing. I think the covering for the new unit was slightly smaller. They had to use a piece of wood to fill the space. Though that didn’t seem to be a big problem, I realize they had to call someone in (another member of staff) to view and verify the solution. Even with that adjustment, the process took exactly two hours as they had said.

Exactly. Alterations due to differences in dimensions would sometimes hamper these kinds of jobs. Yet, with the work precision and meticulous care the Japanese are well-known for, that project would easily flow until completion. Thank you for showing us an interesting piece of your life in Japan! Cheers! 😊

😃Thanks too. I’m sometimes amazed by their work precision and etiquette. It was interesting to see the set up.
Have a great week. 🎶

 last year  

Congratulations @fruityfruitz! We are delighted to inform you that your outstanding publication was specially selected to be part of our Curated Content Catalog and was awarded RUNNER-UP in Architecture Anthology™ 6. More power!

AA CURATION BANNER - RUNNER-UP.jpg

Thank you for subscribing to Architecture+Design, an OCD incubated community on the Hive Blockchain.

😃I’m happy to hear this. Thank you.🎶
untitled.gif

 last year  

Always a huge delight to host your amazing publications dear @fruityfruitz. Have fun! 😀

😃Thanks, it my pleasure and a great opportunity for me to learn more about architecture and design. Have a wonderful day.🎶

Ho Ho Ho! @fruityfruitz, one of your Hive friends wishes you a Merry Christmas and asked us to give you a new badge!

The HiveBuzz team wish you a Merry Christmas!
May you have good health, abundance and everlasting joy in your life.

To find out who wanted you to receive this special gift, click here!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Christmas Challenge - Offer a gift to your friends
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Sponsor Feedback and Feedback Request
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Prizes from our sponsors
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal

😃Thank you @hivebuzz. Wishing you a Merry Christmas as well. 🎶🎄

You're welcome. Merry Christmas to you and your family 🎅

Thank you. Same to you. 🥰🎄😃