You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Northern Gem

in Architecture+Design2 years ago

Great post. I've never been to Dewsbury before but it looks lovely, and the architecture looks great ! The market in particular looks fantastic. And I had to laugh - would you buy anything made by shoddy manufacturers ? I wonder if the saying/use of the word is related to them at all ?
!CTP

Sort:  

It really is a great place for diving into the Victorian/Italianate/Georgian era. I think Bradford would be good as well. And I think these two being so close to York, perhaps have some connection. Architecturally though, Dewsbury feels like it had a European influx. Maybe someone came from Europe and tried to make it look like home or something.

I wonder if the saying/use of the word is related to them at all ?

Ermm, good point. Although it sits on the facade rather proudly!