Cathedral in Frankfurt

Hello, everyone, friends.
I haven't posted anything in this community for quite some time. And that's because I write posts based on my own impressions of visiting some interesting places. Before the holidays, I had a lot of work to do and didn't really have time to go anywhere. But I finally broke out of my routine.
I spent Christmas Eve in the German city of Frankfurt. I'm not going to describe my personal impressions of the city today. That's a separate topic, because my perception of Frankfurt is rather ambiguous. I will say that daytime walks are much safer and more enjoyable than evening walks.
So, the purpose of the visit was to visit the so-called old town. I know that the most interesting objects for tourists are located there. Among them is the Imperial Cathedral of St Bartholomew. And when I got to the neighbourhood of the "old town" in Frankfurt, I immediately noticed it. The tall central tower can be seen proudly from a distance. This is not surprising, as it is 95 metres high.

I was fortunate enough to attend the daytime pre-Christmas service. The divine sounds of the organ were heard, accompanied by the sacrament of communion. I stood there for a long time and watched this action attentively. Although I am not a Catholic, I was very interested to see the traditions of this faith. Unfortunately, photos and video were not allowed.
At the entrance to the central hall, there was a composition depicting the biblical story of the birth of Jesus Christ. There is a large crucifix right next to it. This is so symbolic, in my opinion, because in essence it is the life cycle of Jesus and all of humanity: the birth of a "miracle" and hope for the best, for salvation. Because the crucifixion was followed by the Resurrection.

There is a kind of altar at the entrance. It depicts God and Jesus Christ on the upper level, as if in heaven. Below, with her head up, is the Virgin Mary. In this place, you can also light a candle for a very symbolic cost of 50 cents.
Inside, the cathedral seems very small. But this feeling arises because there is more than one hall. From the outside, the building looks majestic. The windows are high above ground level. All of them are decorated with stained glass. By the way, the foundation has quite a few layers and levels. This is due to the fact that the cathedral has been rebuilt and restored many times. The building was particularly damaged during the Second World War.

The central gate of Frankfurt Cathedral is made of massive black metal. Above it is a stained-glass window in the shape of a flower or a multi-faceted star. Above it is an arch with small statues of kings and emperors.
You know, after visiting such a majestic place, an unusual lightness and calmness settles in your soul. Therefore, I recommend that you visit it if possible.

Sort:  

Like this angle. Those space kinda will attracted peoples to visited the building.

interesting post, thank you

Thank you. I'm glad you liked my story

It is such an impressive cathedral, full of character and interesting. Excellent, thanks for sharing

Thank you for your comment. It was a pleasure to share the experience

Hi @juliaskor, the cathedral has a great design, I liked the crib looks very nice, the tower is impressive .

Merry christmas!

I'm glad you enjoyed the cathedral.
Merry Christmas

I want more photos here, this church has a design that my country doesn't have. At first glance I reminded this building of the Harry Potter films @juliaskor

I also love the Harry Potter films. Indeed, the building looks like something out of a film 🙂

 5 months ago  

Congratulations dear @juliaskor! We are delighted to inform you that your outstanding publication was specially selected to be part of our Curated Content Catalog and was awarded RUNNER-UP in Architecture Anthology™ 54. More power!

AA CURATION BANNER - RUNNER-UP.jpg

Thank you for subscribing to Architecture+Design, an OCD incubated community on the Hive Blockchain.