You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend Staycation : Contemporary Meets Traditional Decor Tigalima Homestay

in Architecture+Design3 years ago

A warm welcome @macchiata to the Architecture+Design Community. Yes, you're right. What's the use of checking-in luxurious hotels if your primary reason for booking it is just to sleep there, isn't it? Unless, of course, if you're a business traveler who holds events, meetings, or conventions in the same establishment, then that would be more appropriate.

On the other hand, if you're a serious traveler whose purpose is solely for tourism, then staycation places, holistay (a wordplay of holiday and stay) accommodations, or other budget-friendly hotels would be enough. In fact, some of these landmarks possess architectural designs that are equally comparable to their more sophisticated counterparts. It merely depends on the Architects and Designers to come up with expensive-looking aesthetics yet are actually cheap materials that improve the building's face value.

As always, the choice of these hotels is subjective. And although you had mixed reactions to this post's featured built environment, we try to aim for essential practicality. As long as the hospitality architecture has executed its job in offering you a comfortable experience and ROI for your money, that's what matters.

Sort:  

I have been meaning to write a post in this community for a while. About a week ago, I stayed at a mezzanine room which is getting more and more popular in Indonesia. I personally wanted to design my house like that which is the reason I try to stay in some of them. This was my article on Mezzanine room. I am quite fascinated by it because it seems like that arrangement is best to create more space and gives a spacious feeling in a small room.

I find some expensive hotels here are quite dull and without a characteristic. So, I am always on the lookout of a hotel/homestays/hostels with a cool concept because these places often gives me inspiration to be more creative while also learning what people like/dislike when it comes to this industry. And I suppose, you are right, some people design their place for essential practically instead of its the aesthetic ones.

I can't wait to learn more about genius loci and also share my experience whilst visiting the hindu and buddhist ancient temple around the city. Happy weekend!

It's always beneficial to be aware of first-hand experiences of such places, as they become stepping stones or learning curves towards a much better architecture. I'm also excited to immerse myself in your story about Genius Loci and its profound effects on your city temples. Have a relaxing weekend!