The Rómulo Gallegos Center for Latin American Studies.

The building that owns this long name is located in Urb. Altamira, Luis Roche Avenue, Caracas, Venezuela, its objective is to promote culture and fine arts.

6ccebd46-f376-4be5-b211-a9137cf91c71.jpg

Its name was given in honor of Rómulo Gallegos, Venezuelan writer known for novels such as "Doña Bárbara", a book that I had to read as part of the subject Spanish in high school. I remember that I had an immediate aversion to the protagonist, how was it possible that such an evil woman could exist, although at the end of the novel this woman redeemed herself.

1db3c66f-3bb7-42d5-8319-d583168d6e8f.jpg

But back to the building. Its main glass door is not attractive, but once inside we find a spacious open area used as a waiting room for events. The walls are made of untroweled concrete and brown ceramic, the marble floor has lost its shine due to the constant traffic of people and the ceiling has a very interesting metal trellis decoration. I know that in the world of construction and design it has a name but I have forgotten it.

2af1e6aa-044e-4495-915b-9ce7f08b49e8.jpg

In this place there is a café, quite simple but comfortable and a bookstore, places that I have always found closed, could it be that every time I go there it is Sunday and their staff does not work on weekends?

7ec1ab73-04d3-4752-beb2-acdb7e96c1af.jpg

Towards the north side there is an exhibition hall with the title "What glass", you can imagine. The entire exhibition are pieces whose main material is glass. I could not access the area because it was closed to the public, what a joke right?

61b48fae-8fb5-447b-bcb3-7798340bf5a6.jpg

Towards the south side of the building there is a small exhibition room with some photos and copies of the diary of Frida Khalo (not originals of course), the Mexican artist whose life was very painful according to my perception. Here thinking in letters, would I ever like to see an exhibition of her works in my country or is the best I can do is to plan a trip to Mexico?

23997e8e-42bf-45ef-87b2-3b37b22026c9.jpg

The building has more than 4 floors. I understand that on the upper floors there are classrooms, but I don't know, it's just a guess. What I do find interesting is its construction, in a sort of cube shape, some higher than others, but that cannot be seen in the pictures I took, or is it an optical game achieved by the architect who designed the place?

232ee390-1840-4ea1-a30f-537bd770070f.jpg

As I climbed the stairs leading to the second floor, where the theater is located, I could not help remembering those times when I was a member of an Arabian dance school and that theater was witness to my nerves before the presentations. I am going to leave here a picture, let's see if you can guess which one of them is me.

1480550383277.jpg

I finally entered the theater, its walls covered with wood and black cloth, gave a certain spectral air to the place. In past times I remembered it bigger, maybe in the last 10 years I have grown up a bit. Hahaha, what is certain is that its capacity of about 200 people remains intact.

1480550384396.jpg

I hope you liked the tour of this place. If you made it this far, thank you very much for reading me.

Follow me on my social networks:
Tibaire_Valero
Only_Amigurumis

My own photos taken with my Tecno Spark cell phone //
I used the free version of Deepl.com as a translator.

1.jpg



AHORA EN ESPAÑOL
La edificación propietaria de ese nombre tan largo está ubicada en la Urb. Altamira, Av. Luis Roche, Caracas, Venezuela, su objetivo es promover la cultura y bellas artes.

6ccebd46-f376-4be5-b211-a9137cf91c71.jpg

Su nombre fue dado en honor a Rómulo Gallegos, escritor venezolano conocido por novelas como “Doña Bárbara”, libro que tuve que leer como parte de la materia Castellano en bachillerato. Recuerdo que tuve aversión inmediata a la protagonista, ¿cómo era posible que existiera una mujer tan malvada?, aunque al final de la novela esta mujer se redimió.

1db3c66f-3bb7-42d5-8319-d583168d6e8f.jpg

Pero volvamos a la edificación. Su puerta principal de vidrio no es atractiva, pero una vez adentro encontramos una espaciosa área abierta utilizada como sala de espera a los eventos. Las paredes son de concreto sin frisar y de cerámica color marrón, el piso de mármol ha perdido su brillo consecuencia del constante tráfico de personas y el techo presenta una decoración de enrejado metálico muy interesante. Sé que en el mundo de la construcción y diseño tiene un nombre pero se me ha olvidado.

2af1e6aa-044e-4495-915b-9ce7f08b49e8.jpg

En este lugar se encuentra un café, bastante sencillo pero cómodo y una librería, sitios que siempre he encontrado cerrados, ¿será que siempre que voy es domingo y su personal no labora los fines de semana?

7ec1ab73-04d3-4752-beb2-acdb7e96c1af.jpg

Hacia el lado norte hay una sala de exhibición con el título “Qué vidrio”, ya te imaginarás. Toda la exhibición son piezas cuyo principal material es el vidrio. No pude acceder al área pues estaba cerrada al público, ¿qué broma verdad?

61b48fae-8fb5-447b-bcb3-7798340bf5a6.jpg

Hacia el lado sur de la edificación hay una pequeña sala de exhibición con algunas fotos y copias del diario de Frida Khalo (no son originales por supuesto), la artista plástica mexicana cuya vida fue muy dolorosa según mi percepción. Aquí pensando en letras, me gustaría ver alguna vez una exposición de sus obras en mi país o ¿lo mejor que puedo hacer es planificar un viaje para México?

23997e8e-42bf-45ef-87b2-3b37b22026c9.jpg

El edificio tiene más de 4 pisos. Entiendo que en los pisos superiores hay salones de clases, pero no lo sé, solo es una suposición. Lo que sí me parece interesante es su construcción, en una especie forma de cubos, algunos más altos que otros, pero eso no se puede apreciar en las fotos que tomé o ¿será un juego óptico logrado por el arquitecto que diseñó el lugar?

232ee390-1840-4ea1-a30f-537bd770070f.jpg

Mientras subía las escaleras que conducen al primer piso, donde se encuentra el teatro, no pude evitar rememorar aquellos tiempos en los que era integrante de una escuela de danza árabe y ese teatro fue testigo de mis nervios antes de las presentaciones. Voy a dejarles por acá una foto, a ver si adivinan cuál de ellas soy yo.

1480550383277.jpg

Por fin entré al teatro, sus paredes recubiertas de madera y tela color negro, daban cierto aire espectral al lugar. En tiempos pasados lo recordaba más grande, quizá en los últimos 10 años algo he crecido. Jajaja, lo que si es cierto es que su capacidad de unas 200 personas se mantiene intacta.

1480550384396.jpg

Espero que te haya gustado el recorrido por este lugar. Si llegaste hasta aquí muchas gracias por leerme.

Sígueme en mis redes sociales:
Tibaire_Valero
Only_Amigurumis

Fotos propias tomadas con mi celular Tecno Spark //
Utilicé la versión gratuita de Deepl.com como traductor.

1.jpg

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @storiesoferne ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

It would be wonderful to be able to travel to Mexico and see how different its structures are from those of Venezuela and its culture; Even so, I am pleased to see that there are works inspired by Frida Khalo and that it was a shame not to be able to fully appreciate part of the glass section of the museum. Even so, what is presented is great to see as well as appreciate, a wonderful outlet to clear the mind.

You are absolutely right it is a wonderful outlet to clear the mind. Too bad I couldn't have access to the glass exhibit. It will be another time.

It is unfortunate when there are closed areas and one is left wanting to discover more interesting things, lately it happens to me often. As for the building, it looks very big and I like that it has so many areas dedicated to art and culture. The design of the staircase catches my attention. Thanks for sharing with us a little more of Caracas.

I agree with you. I have visited some sites lately and their rooms are closed. It is time to appreciate from a distance and enjoy what we have within reach. As for the stairs I think it is an effect of the camera, they seem to follow a slope, but they only reach the second floor and then there is an open area - corridor.

Congratulations @tibaire! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 7000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 7250 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - January 15, 2023
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal

the ceiling has a very interesting metal trellis decoration. I know that in the world of construction and design it has a name but I have forgotten it.

Generally speaking @tibaire, those structural components are called "Trusses" but to be more specific, they are referred to as "Space Frames", a technical phrase indeed, haha 😆 Anyway, your featured architecture is simply fantastic and has plenty of interesting design features that has certainly kept you questioning the mind of its Architect. Above all, I take this opportunity as well to congratulate you for the wonderful legacy you've left with this emblematic building - your glorious days of being a theater celebrity! Well done! 👍 😊

Trusses, that's the word hahaha I had it on the tip of my tongue and it just wouldn't come out. Now I know that its technical name is space frames, thanks, I hope I don't forget it.

Hahaha yes I was once somewhat given to dance, but those days of experimentation are behind me and gave way to hikes to the mountains.

 last year (edited) 

Yes, now you know, haha 😁. I'm glad to have revived your memory. And as for your theater performance, I'm pretty sure you were one of the lead stars but I still can't figure out where you are in the photo. Can you give me a hint? 😊

Of course, yes. I'm one of those who wears yellow, with short hair

Gotcha! 😎 Thanks for the tip. What an awesome performance! I think you should dance more, aside from your hiking trips to the mountains. It's excellent anti-aging therapy, haha. 🤣

 last year  

Congratulations @tibaire! We are delighted to inform you that your outstanding publication was specially selected to be part of our Curated Content Catalog and was awarded BRONZE MARK in Architecture Anthology™ 12. More power!

AA CURATION BANNER - BRONZE MARK.jpg

Thank you for subscribing to Architecture+Design, an OCD incubated community on the Hive Blockchain.

Thank you. In the next hours i am going to visit the other post. for now my internet is terrible. awful, dont work and so on.

 last year  

That is alright dear @tibaire, it happens. Take it easy and all the best to your upcoming architecture and design content. Enjoy! 😀