PLAYING WITH A BROKEN MIRROR for the Reflection Hunters Contest ~ Round 100 Anniversary

in Shadow Hunterslast year

A couple of weeks ago, on the 12th of January, I spent the morning aimlessly driving around the area around Rovinj. I was always about ten to twelve kilometers from that small seaside city. At one point, I came across a broken mirror that someone threw away. In this post, for the anniversary contest, I'll show you what I saw reflected in that piece of garbage. Have a good viewing.

(Enlargeable)

The mirror was laying on the carpet made of a mix of foliage. Green leaves were provided by the ivy and brown ones fell from the nearby oak trees.

One of the modern buildings across the road from the small oak grove was reflected on its surface.

(Enlargeable)

On the same side of the road, only about ten meters or so from the mirror was an old church that was too close to be properly reflected. The Chapel of the Immaculate Conception shown in this photograph was built in the 15th century.

(Enlargeable)

For this photograph, I positioned the mirror to reflect one of the very few daisies that grew on the lawn in front of the church. A minute or two later ...

(Enlargeable)

... I moved the mirror again. This time I used only the shoe on my left foot to get the job done. Here you can see the mirror reflecting the barren branches of the surrounding trees.

(Enlargeable)

A friend was also there with me. I gave her the mirror and then I took this photograph. Which became the entry for the Reflection Hunters Contest ~ Round 100 Anniversary. 100 and Anniversary sound cool and important. The contest feels more exciting than usual because of this combination of a word and a number. I thought to skip the Reflection Hunt this week since I did the Shadow Hunt two days ago, but after seeing the title, just had to participate.

(Enlargeable)

When I mounted the mirror on the ancient drystone wall not far from the church, the reflected illusion merged beautifully with the surrounding reality.

Here you can see a close-up reflection of the fruits and leaves of the ivy that was partially covering the wall.

In this photograph, the mirror is reflecting another plant. Can't tell you which plant exactly. I mean, I don't know the name of the species.

Here I zoomed a bit out, and in the following photograph ...

... I zoomed more in.

(Enlargeable)

In the end, I also took the opportunity to get a self-portrait out of the situation. Part of me ended up trapped in the world on the other side of the mirror so I came back home slightly less burdened by myself.

AND THAT'S IT. THE MIRROR IS A MAGIC THING THAT CAN PROVIDE PLENTY OF FUN. ESPECIALLY IF YOU HAVE A DECENTRALIZED SOCIAL NETWORK AND A COMMUNITY WHERE YOU CAN SHOW THIS STUFF.
AS ALWAYS IN THESE POSTS ON HIVE, THE PHOTOGRAPHS ARE MY WORK. HAVE A GREAT DAY AND HAPPY ANNIVERSARY TO ALL.

THE END

Sort:  

!discovery 30


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

This post was upvoted by the Nature Lovers Community

Upon reflection, I must express my doubt that you have ever wandered aimlessly, for your entire life appears to be a photo op. I am also unconvinced that A friend is not a mannequin you carry around with you and place in various poses throughout your shoots.

😆😂heheeh I won't confirm nor deny these legitimate thoughts. The meaning of aimlessly definitely changed for me since I started blogging about a wide array of stuff every day. Everything looks worth photographing. Every place looks worth a visit.

Beautiful idea, I had never thought of photographing the world through broken glass. You have obtained very particular and unique images, in an artistic and visionary style. I love when someone is versatile and takes advantage of the world around, I've seen you go from micro nature photos to this artistic version, beautiful work.

Thank you. 🙂

🤗 @borjan lo del espejo fue magnífico 👌, mira tu creatividad no tiene limites 🙈

Gracias 🙂

The one that blends with the surroundings makes it feel like one is walking into the rock (photo 7). I also really like the way 4 and 5 have a blury reflection. The flower in photo 4 is bright and happy, reflecting dull and sad in the mirror. Sometimes people are happy on the outside but we reflect sad and dull to ourselves. 🍀

True 😀that effect of a portal into the rock surprised me very much in that shot. Hope I'll come across another broken mirror soon.

Cool reflection bro. That was a created reflex ?

What do you mean by created reflex? I mean, I was just photographing the mirror in various positions and whatever was reflected in that piece of mirror.

Clever use of the mirror and neat idea. That's very creative. 👍

Thanks. 🙂

You are so creative and smart my friend for you were able to capture extraordinary snaps through the mirror you found outside. It is placing a high value on the least noticed but has a greater impact when used with a purpose just like things in a real life. I commend you for the excellent photography as always. Have a nice time.

Thank you. Have a great day. 🙂 Glad you like the post.

You are most welcome, my friend. The pleasure is mine. Thanks for the well wishes and I wish you the same. Blessings to you.

Damn, man, you're so creative. I never saw this coming, pictures from just the reflection on a broken mirror. I like that twist. Also nice to see a photo of you and renew the face I had placed to your profile 😎👌

You have captured some reflection view by using broken mirror. Those are really amazing. Nice reflection view

Looking at the size of the chapel, it's obviously very very small.... And back in those days people took religion seriously... I mean they started wars because of it... They still do... But it just shows you how little people were back i n those days compared to now...

Its quite scary actually... And the fact that it's still standing is even more so... Leave a modern building for twenty years and there will be nothing left but the foundation

That's really amazing photography, You @borjan have used mirror in the best way possible, though it was broken was left by someone on the garbage, but Still it helped you create this beautiful photographs and today's post, I love the small church, Looks like an old Church. How old is this Church ?

This is fun, maybe I'll also show you some shadow images later here. Sometimes shadows are more fun than anything else. The reflection of the twig is pretty cool

This is an artistic eay of taling pictures using mirrors