THE BEDPOST^^^^^SHADOW HUNTERS CONTEST ROUND 183

in Shadow Hunters3 years ago

It was after 3 o'clock in the afternoon on this beautiful sunny day in July. I had spent most of the day in the gardens, weeding and watering all the veggies and flowers. I clipped some flowers to make a bouquet for my kitchen table, bringing the beauty into my home. As the day wore on the temperature rose to close to 90 degrees, so a dip in the pond was in order.

A quick change into my bathing suit would take just a few minutes, then I would be diving into that cool fresh water, oh boy, I couldn't wait. But as I entered my bedroom I was struck by this shadow that had me searching for my camera in quick order.

IMG_9106 (2).JPG

With the use of a filter, I thought I would try my hand at this shadow in black and white. I thought it added some depth and character to the shadow.

IMG_9107 (2).JPG

This shot looked like a slice of pizza, but it definitely needed some mozzarella cheese.

IMG_9110.JPG

Using the same filter, that slice of pie took on a whole new look. A little mysterious, as if something or someone was lurking in the shadows.

IMG_9110 (3).JPG

Stepping back, I was able to elongate the bedpost.

IMG_9111.JPG

I think I like it better in monochromes, adds to the detail of the bed quilt as well as the shape of the bedpost shadow.

IMG_9111 (2).JPG

My morning bouquet. #alwaysaflower to brighten the day.

IMG_1852 (2).JPG

This morning glory had shadows of it's own, just beautiful. I know @dswigle will like this one, shadows and all.

IMG_2257.JPG

Have a wonderful day!

Sort:  

Great shadow shots and I love your edits! And going for a dip in the pond sounds heavenly. Thanks for entering the Shadow Contest again!

Good morning. Thanks for your nice comment. Oh let me tell you our pond got a work out this past week. My son and his family spent the week with us and the weather was perfect for swimming. My grand daughters were so entertaining to watch. Kids sure do love water.
Always a pleasure to enter the #shadow hunters contest.
Be well and have a wonderful day.

Oh, PS Happy belated birthday, looks like you had a grand time with the family.
Your grand daughter playing her new guitar is adorable.

Thanks so much! I'm glad you got a weekend with your kids, too. It seems like just the other day that my grandkids were little like yours. They have grown up far too quickly.

Good morning. Just yesterday my oldest grand child, Ava turned 13, I am just blown away by how fast she has grown up.
This weekend is the Bluesfest, an annual outdoor, all day music event. My entire family is making it up this year for it. I will have eight adults and six grandkids for a long weekend. It will be happy mayhem for sure.

I know you love having them around as much as I do! Have a wonderful time!

Good morning my friend. I have to apologize for not mentioning you in my last post for the reflection hunters contest. I know you are the force behind all the "hunters" contests. So now I say 'Thank You' for all you do for this community that I love so much.

We will have another houseful of family this weekend. It's the annual "Bluesfest" that we go to every year, always such a wonderful day. Now I have to run, today is food prep day, I will be in the kitchen all day getting meals done so I won't have to be in the kitchen when the kids are here. I am such a FOMO, as my daughter says, and she's right, I don't want to miss a thing.😁

Thanks, but I didn't notice that you didn't mention me! It is certainly not necessary oh, but it does give me notice that you have posted! I always go in and check out all the community posts, but sometimes I see the 'mentions' first.

I do try to get some of the cooking done before the kids arrive, too, but I am lucky that my son and daughter in law take over the kitchen while they are here and they insist that I spend time with the kids. Or Ella will say 'Mom I will do this, go be with Jeff'. They are so considerate and I'm sure your kids are, too. Fomo. yes, I think we all have a bit of that!

@farm-mom wow nice shadow photography.👌

Good morning. Thank you for the nice comment.
Enjoy the day.

Oh, yes! You know me so well! I like the interesting bedpost/pizza pie! No mozzarella is a showstopper for me though!

Good luck with your entry!

Thank you for starting the morning with a beautiful selection from your gardens. I do that too! It really adds a touch of pretty to my house. Yours too. I do like the shadow of the morning glory! It looks huge! :)

Have a wonderful week ahead!

Good morning my friend. I so enjoy taking my morning walk and picking some flowers for the house. Peaceful.
Big weekend here at the farm. My whole family will be here for the annual Bluesfest. An all day affair, with non-stop music, lots of food venders, crafts, psychics 😉, face painting, and even pony rides for the kids. Always so much fun.
Doing some meal planning ahead so I can stay out of the kitchen and share time with all my peeps. Really looking forward to it. We also will be celebrating my first grandchild, Ava's ,13th Birthday. Boy they grow up fast.
Needless to say, by the time they all go back to reality, grammy here will be exhausted with a big smile on my face and a jar full of happy memories.

IMG_2281.JPG

Geez, sorry to bend your ear eyes, hehe but I am just excited. I know you get it.
Have a wonderful day!!

How fun!!!! I love when my siblings and all our kids get together for fun times! The bluefest sounds perfect for a get together that doesn't make you do all the entertaining! I like to cook ahead of time myself, it makes it much easier to not have to be in the kitchen and miss out on things! I am so nosy interested in what is going on!

I just did a post/musing piece on a box of memories. LOL Great minds and all that.

Happy Birthday to AVA! That was a milestone for me! I'm always glad to hear from you! I get excited too. Life is good!! #alwaysaflower for you! XO

4od4FA9FGiMvFQSyyWGJrhZechDX2Kjzd5PYt6PT1jztCFzBjKh3zr4vLfrhCGX8ftvM9hkRtJ5VaLg1XrC3GoyKGw3Vf8Wo6R5RggDD645aZbZRe2ffFMZsadiEjjNbWXLs5QmxJoPMztYvXwdJBuce4JZfoLKdYRJQ957wjR6encpzVf4phNQipmdGa71NMRDafS1HmWrQchrQSmVVj.jpg

ohhhh, thanks for the flower. So pretty.
There's no doubt we have similar mindset. I always enjoy your posts, your poetry inspires me.
Thanks for taking the time to reply, I know you are a busy lady.
Enjoy the day my friend.

BLUES FESTIVAL 👍
img_2048.heic

I am so pumped for the weekend. We are going to celebrate Ava's 13th Birthday too! How the heck did that happen? 13? WOW!
Seeing ya soon! 😀😁😙🎈❤