A Typical Day in Shadows | Urbanist's Edition | Contest Entry

in Shadow Hunters3 years ago

My Connection to Light & Shadow

As an architect, we've been trained from the very first of university to pay attention to light and shadow. Using construction to create light and shadow has been the signature of many architects - famous and otherwise. Louis Khan, often considered the master of light, designed around light and shadow and sought ways to enhance it.

“Even a room which must be dark needs at least a crack of light to know how dark it is.” (Louis Kahn).

Early Morning

Because of my background, I've always loved the play of light and shadow and my phone's filled with shadow-focussed pictures. My day usually starts with checking on my plants. The morning light falls on them creating the most beautiful dancing shadows. I spend some time just sitting with them and planning my day to come.

1.morning.jpg
My pothos plant reflecting a beautiful shadow

Still Morning

After a short workout, I run into the shower. I like to take hot showers and the bathroom soon becomes a steam room. To prevent mold from forming, I open all of the windows and the steam escapes. The morning light also comes in through this window which creates a really nice image when the hot steam escapes from it.

2.Bath_edit.jpg
Steam escapes the bathroom

Afternoon

After getting dressed, I head to work. As an architect, my work includes a lot of site visits. This day, I'm visiting the Seoul Upcycling Plaza for a case study. Located on an old dumping ground, the SUP is a cultural space to highlight the whole upcycyling process - from material collection to processing to output. A gigantic complex, it also consists of exhibition spaces, studios for businesses who're upcycling products and even a farmer's market on certain days.
sitevisit_edit.jpg
Seoul Upcycling Plaza, Main Building

In architecture, using latticework in the roof, walls, windows all help create shadows. The beauty is that a space never looks the same at two different times of the day. As the sun moves, so do the shadows, changing how the space looks as well.

Evening

After work, I usually head home , slip into my running shoes and go out for a run. I have the fortune of living exceptionally close to the Namsan Park and Tower. While I usually go for a run around the park, the tower is just a short 30 minute hike. Namsan tower is one of Seoul's iconic landmarks and is a 'must-visit' on every tourist's list. While there is a cable car that takes you to the top, many locals like to hike the small hill as a daily activity. At the top, the Namsan tower complex offers incredible views at sunset over Seoul.
run_edit.jpg
Namsan Tower Plaza

It's easier to run back home from here and that's usually the end of me being outdoors for the day.


This post is an entry to @ocd 's contest highlighting the @shadowhunters community. The contest requires the contestant to post a minimum of 3 shadow-focused images that explain their daily lives in atleast 250 words.

Sort:  

Neat shadow photos, very well presented.

Thanks! For the contest, tip and encouragement. I really did have fun going through my pictures and putting it together :)

I love the shadows Namsan Tower Plaza especially that of Seoul Upcycling Plaza!
Great job on shadow hunting,@manouche!

Thanks @silversaver888! I think I've been unconsciously shadow hunting since my university days that now I just have to look through my day's photos to find these pictures!

It would be interesting! Go find them!!

Congratulations @manouche! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Governance
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Excellent and very artistic shadow photos! This is a beautiful entry for the OCD Contest. I hope we see more from you in the Shadow Hunters Community!

Thanks @melinda010100! I had fun putting these photos together! Love what the community is doing and hope to contribute more!

Wow! That steam escaping from the window seems like a ghost :p
Shadows do play a good part in enhancing the experience. It's nice to meet so many people of same profession on this platform. You can join Architecture +Design community as I am part of it as well, there's some nice content which I find to be interesting.
The pictures are amazing, I shall join the contest as well.

Haha, it seemed very ghost-like to me too! I've joined the A+D community already and see a lot of pictures of buildings on there :) I've been holding off because I write more about architecture and use pictures only to support my writing. Will contribute soon!

I love all the photos, truly every one of your photos are stunning, you have achieved a very nice symmetry. They are very pleasing to the eye. The penultimate one stands out because of the different shapes and lights, it's an interesting mix.

Thank you so much @miguelmederico! Yes the penultimate one is an example of how architecture uses light and shadow to create a different feel for spaces throughout the day. There's always an extra dimension of excitement with light and shadow in architecture because it makes for such great photographs!

Wonderful photos, I've enjoyed them all. I like how you transition from very organic curving shadow shapes to linear ones. The steam in the bathroom is quite striking and unusual. I agree with @sahiba-rana, it looks ghost like.

The architectural ones are incredible. I like the diamond patterns on the columns in particular. Excellent repetition of form and dramatic views in both of these.

“Even a room which must be dark needs at least a crack of light to know how dark it is.” (Louis Kahn).

Very profound quote you've included, thank you for that. There is no knowing darkness without the light and no knowing light without the darkness.

Hi @nineclaws! You're so kind! The nathroom steam is one of my favourites. It's even ugly in part because of the washing machine in the background but that morning light which filters in and the steam escaping makes a very pretty sight - the photo doesn't quite do it any justice!

The architecture ones are my default favourite because I have a soft corner for any architecture that plays with light and shadow. Louis Kahn knew what he was talking about. And your observation also adds to that depth! I love what you said.

There is no knowing darkness without the light and no knowing light without the darkness.

You should frame it!

Hi @manouche! I like the ugly part of the washing machine in the background also. What is ugly is also beautiful, at least from my perspective. I would love to see you do more with this.

You've nailed down the architecture in a way that appeals to me. I can see why it's your favourite. Most of my work isn't linear, but I appreciate seeing linear elements worked with in a manner such as what you have done.

Yes, I agree, Louis Kahn knew what he was talking about. Thank you, so glad you liked my attempt at being poetic. Maybe frame it with a black and white photo that fits? 😉😄

I agree that there is beauty in the 'ugly' as well but that washing machine s truly just ugly haha. I love linear forms, straigght lines and sharp angles! Haha, please put up a picture if you do frame it with a black and white photo 😉

I have the feeling that if I saw that washing machine, I might fall in love with it's ugliness 😉

I love the way you capture those linear forms 😀

I most certainly will, if I can get the right photos to match! 😜

Those are really beautiful shots! It's just so amazing to look at the different photos while reading your article. I'm amused at the shadows of that latticework roof. It must be fun observing the shadow all throughout the day. And that steam shot really looks epic!

Anyway, may you stay safe always and have a great day!

Thanks, @sgbonus! I think a lot of architecture that uses latticework is to primarily serve the purpose of ventilation but also, as an added bonus, the pretty patterns that they create throughout the day. The steam shot was nice to capture - it doesn't last long like that!

nice to hear from an architect with training on the effects of light and shadow