Guitar cover of 'Always with me, Always with you' - Joe Satriani.

in World of Music4 years ago

surf.jpg

Joe Satriani's influence on modern guitar music is undeniable, however I have to admit I've never been a massive fan. 'Not of this earth'... meh... just a bit odd. The 2 of his albums I did get into were 'Surfing with the alien' and 'Flying in a blue dream'. Maybe it's just that he has been so prolific and I haven't listened enough that to me it's all a bit samey.

Wondering what do do as a song I found 'Always with me, Always with you'. I thought everyone knew this song, but after showing my wife she thought it was from the movie Top Gun... I think she was confusing it with Steve Stevenson's 'Top Gun Anthem'.

This is taken from the 1987 album 'Surfing with the alien'. It's kinda funny how the cover of this had changed. It was a picture of the marvel character the silver surfer, however this had to be changed because of copy-write issues and re-released.

A lot of this song is quite melodic and easy(ish) to play, but there are a couple of pretty tricky bits that meant that I struggled to get it all down in one take. There is a very (not very) subtle video cut in the middle of the clip.

Stay safe and enjoy.

Sort:  

Congratulations @gtown! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 300 comments. Your next target is to reach 400 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the October 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Day - Introducing the Power Up Helper!

Well played. There are some tricky bits in there. I would struggle with the tapping for a start, although it looks easier than some pieces. Was it in standard tuning? I some video lessons with Joe and it was frustrating that he was tuned a half step down, so everyone else has to tune to him.

!BEER

No, it's just in standard tuning. Not as much of an issue now that we have programs to transpose on the fly, but I remember going back 20 years with only one guitar swearing at SRV, Van Halen, Green Day... etc. for tuning down.

The tapping isn't too bad. Right hand just stays on the 12th and left moves around. Transitioning into and out of the tapping was a pain.

I did notice the subtle edit there. A lot of people seem to tune down. I guess I could keep one guitar in that state for playing along. I'm not really into alternative tunings apart from drop D on some stuff. I did try playing along with one song that used drop B!


Hey @gtown, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

I had issues posting my comment and now it comes through multiple times! So you get extra beer. Enjoy.

Fewww! Got a hang over this morning!


Hey @gtown, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @gtown, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @gtown, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

The world needs more Satch covers for sure. Especially on telecaster :-)

I've never owned a shreddy type of guitar. No Jacksons, Ibanez or Charvel. Mentioned to @steevc that I have a hankering for a strandberg. Just need to win lotto and I'm set.

Kiesel might be a cheaper more quality option vs a strandberg if you want a headless guitar. But one of my favorite guitarists from Scar Symmetry shreds the heck out of a strandberg, perhaps the function over form might be the trick with that guitar.

Excellent work man.
Great sound and picking!

What setup are you running through?
My direct sound sounds like craaap!

Thanks mate! Same as the other post... I just saw this, sorry 😁. BIAS FX is the software that has all the effects. I'm pretty new to this as well but give me a yell if you want to know about the setup I use.

I Saw this yesterday.
10/10