You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Little Blue Book: The Story of Friedrich Nietzsche's Philosophy, by Will Durant

in Hive Book Club11 months ago

I appreciate your thoughtful feedback. As I stated in my essay:

are we not to read a man's word and use it as his truth?

I spent years studying literature. I have read countless 'interpretations' of literary pieces. These interpretations are more about the critic than they are about the pieces. I turn to the text and let that speak. Interpretation is subjective.

If Nietzsche wanted to say something, if he wanted to value women and the feminine as highly as he valued men and the masculine, then he was perfectly capable of saying that. If he valued kindness, compassion and pity (yes pity--there is a place for pity) then he was perfectly capable of saying that. Please, find for me where he does. Find for me where he repudiates his harsh statements. Then I will place some weight on that.

Otherwise, his words speak for themselves--especially the words written in his later works, which would reflect a more mature, settled judgement