Please Help Me Pick the Topic for My Next Book

in Hive Book Club8 months ago (edited)

Last night, @unklebonehead and I dropped the latest episode of the Defluenced podcast titled "The Curator". We discuss what it's like being an @ecency curator. I got to find out by being a guest curator in August. Be sure to check it out and leave us a comment.

Beyond @ecency, @hiveio, and podcasting, I've been thinking about what my next book will be about. I have two ideas that are of equal merit and would like to get your feedback.

Book Idea No. 1: Web3 Publishing

The first book idea is a straightforward follow-up to Web3 Social. Building on the foundation laid in my two previous books (the first was Cryptosocial), Web3 Publishing will explore the emerging opportunities for creators in the world of publishing. While some of the material may crossover into territory already covered in the first two books, there is much more to explore in the space of Web3 Publishing. Here are a few topical ideas that come to mind:

  • Web3 platforms specifically designed for publishing - These includes platforms that have launched since the release of Web3 Social, such as Paragraph. It also includes platforms that have been around a while but that have transitioned or improved in some way since the publication of Web3 Social. Mirror comes to mind in that regard. And, of course, I'd be remiss if I left out Hive.
  • Web3 book publishing - A bevy of book publishing platforms have sprung up specifically targeting authors and their fans. These include Readl, Book.io, Creatokia, PageDAO, and more.
  • Collaborative publishing - Web3 is also facilitating a movement toward collaborative publishing models, which include organizations like Adimverse, StoryDAO, and similar efforts.
  • Literary NFTs - Book NFTs are a big thing now and promise to take publishing to places it's never been before. Pioneers such as Write3 guru Greg Younger, Cryptoversal Books, and traditionally published authors such as Joseph Nassise and Tom Leveen are exploring exciting new opportunities with literary NFTs.
  • Film3 and Music NFTs - Beyond book publishing, musicians and film artists also have emerging opportunities in Web3.
  • How L2 solutions are changing the publishing landscape - Layer-2 blockchains like Polygon and Optimism are creating new opportunities in Web3 publishing. What these blockchains means for authors, publishers, and their fans.

This is just the tip of the iceberg. There is much more to explore in the world of Web3 publishing.

Book Idea No. 2: Cryptocurrencies and the End Times

This idea is a little more niche. Whenever I discuss my Web3 books with fellow Christians, I often get a little pushback based on a fear that cryptocurrencies are akin to the Mark of the Beast mentioned in the book of Revelation. The issue is, many of these Christians don't really understand the technology.

This book idea would explore the nature of decentralization and the differences between cryptocurrencies like bitcoin and central bank digital currencies that could be used for tracking individuals and criminalizing ordinary citizens for spending their money in ways the government should not be in a position to either affirm or condemn. The book would also include explore the major theological perspectives regarding the end of days. The popular perspective, based on a Dispensational reading of scripture, may not be the accurate one. Nevertheless, every Christian, regardless of their eschatological views, could benefit from knowing the difference between a decentralized protocol and a centralized tracking technology.

Instead of fearing cryptocurrencies due to potential abuse of the technology, Christians would be better equipped to handle a move toward a cashless society if they understood how to harvest decentralized technology to survive in a world that may not be friendly toward their sentiments.

While the target market for this book would be Christians, I believe anyone could benefit from reading this book because

  1. They'd have a better understand of why their Christian friends are often disheartened by new technology that could empower governments to be more coercive;
  2. And they could learn how decentralized technology can be harvested to enhance their own freedoms.

Which Idea Tickles Your Fancy?

I'm not going to mess around with surveys. I'm just going to ask you forthrightly. Which of these ideas would you rather see me pursue? To answer this question, please do the following:

  • Leave a comment wherever you are reading this and let me know which idea appeals to you. Also, tell me why.
  • In your comment, tell me something you'd like to know about the topic that I haven't already addressed above.
  • Share this post with your friends and ask them to weigh in.
  • Join my Discord channel and let's discuss Web3 publishing and the future of money in a more intimate setting.
  • Also, be one of only 3 people who collect this post on Paragraph where it was first publsihed.
Sort:  

Definitely Book 2.

I'm not a religious person but I am aware of the legitimate concerns of many about The Mark and while I personally see crypto as a tool for our potential liberation I acknowledge it could also be used as a tool for enslavement. I think it's important for Christians to realise that there is a battle INSIDE the crypto space that they need to be part of. Too many seem to just write off the whole technology as evil and that will just mean the bad guys win.

Good point. I can use that as a talking point in the book. If Christians were more involved in the space, they could help drive cryptocurrencies toward greater decentralization and away from centralized control in the hands of those who would use it for nefarious purposes.

Im gonna vote for number 2. I would love to hear your thoughts on that.
I'm not a full on bible thumper by any stretch. But I have been a Christian in my younger years and both the beginning and ending books, Genesis & Revelations, have fascinated me my entire life.

Thanks @unklebonehead. Great feedback. You would actually be one of my cohorts. Besides teaching Christians about cryptocurrencies and the benefits of decentralization, there would also be some discussion on theology and different takes on the end times. I think you'd benefit a lot.

Awesome! I'm hoping thats the direction you end up. I'll enjoy which every way you go. But Im not gonna lie. This would be way more interesting to me personally, lol.

Book 2 would be my choice, too. Thanks so much for being part of the Ecency curation team during August!

Wave Media

Thank you for having me! And thanks for your input. I really appreciate it.

I am going to choose Book 2, being a Christian myself, my husband and I truly believe cryptocurrencies will be our future. Of course, some have the beliefs that we shouldn't go for prosperity or being a prosperity preacher, those 'money is the root of all evil' matter. However, our belief is cryptocurrencies, if understand from the correct viewpoint is going to bring a better future. We pray that the world will transit properly, cryptocurrencies and without corruption. Thank you for writing these out for us.

Awesome thoughts @iamjadeline. For me, it's not necessarily about crypto as money. That's just one aspect of crypto. It's also about identity security, data security, intellectual property protection, censorship-resistance, and more individual freedom and autonomy. All of those are things everyone, including Christians should be in favor of. The really important part for Christians to understand are the benefits of decentralization versus the downsides to centralization.

Thanks for your input.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @allentaylor.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Congratulations @allentaylor! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 9000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 10000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the August PUM Winners
Feedback from the September Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - August 2023 Winners List