Herbal Cat Care By Randy Kidd ~ A Concise Gem for All Cat Lovers ~ Non Fiction Book Review

Have you ever wished for a complete guide to herbal remedies for house cats?

Personally I have been searching the internet for years for this exact book ~ full of reliable information about taking care of my three cats in the most natural ways.

photo1710765961.jpeg

In general there is a shortage of experienced herbalists discussing natural remedies for pets. And for those of us who lives far away from the city going first to the plants that surround us for health care is our best option. After reading this book I was inspired to create a resource based on my experiences. Over the past month or so my partner and I have been working on a short video about three herbs that have been essential in taking care of our cats. Finally after weeks of filming and editing the video is done and can be seen here on 3speak!

▶️ Watch on 3Speak

Today I wanted to take a moment to spread the word about a book that was fundamental in the making of that video and has totally changed my approach to taking care of my cats at home, Dr. Kidd's Guide to Herbal Cat Care. Even though I have been studying herbalism for about 7 years and have experimented with using safe herbs on my cats for little things like cuts but was a bit timid to try anything more serious.

photo1710760360.jpeg

It is hard to know what herbs are alright to use with pets and which to avoid without a definitive guide. Yes, there are websites and blogs that give advice but, it never seemed super trustworthy. So, when I saw this book online I was overjoyed and ordered it at once!

photo1710760327.jpeg

To my delight it has proved to be an ever more in depth guide than I expected and I recommend it to anyone who is interested in learning more about herbalism and taking care of cats in a natural way guided by a veterinarian and experienced herbalist, the author Dr. Kidd.

photo1710760360(1).jpeg

This book goes far beyond simply listing herbs and what they are used for. After the introductory chapter each section is about a specific system in the feline body, what illness can arise and a variety of methods and herbs to aid them. For certain illnesses or procedures going to the veterinarian is recommended like when sterilization or more in depth diagnosis is needed. But, overall many common illnesses can be addressed and cured by the pet owner themself and with the help of herbal medicine.

photo1710760360(2).jpeg

Though this aspect of the book can seem a bit daunting the language is easy to understand. Intermittent between herbal profiles and anatomical drawings are anecdotes from the author's personal experiences using these remedies and a bit of cat humor too. English is my first language but, I think someone who is familiar with herbs and cats and reads English as a second language wouldn't have much trouble following along.

photo1710765923.jpeg

There are a couple of ways of finding this book.

I bought my copy of Dr. Kidd's Guide to Herbal Cat Care from Mountain Rose's Online Book Store but it is also available internationally on Amazon. And if you are interested in natural medicine for dogs, your in luck! Dr. Kidd also has a book called Herbal Dog Care!

Sort:  

I think I know someone who'd need this. And I'll be reblogging so I can easily get back to it when I need it too as right now I don't have a cat.
I'll pick herbal medicines over any other anytime, anywhere. Thank you for sharing this.

Yay!! So glad this can maybe help your friend. I also made a video about the herbs I have used for cats that may be useful too. Thanks so much for reading & your comment!!

I didn't get to watch the video that day because I got rudely interrupted but I'm glad your comment just reminded me of it. Thank you so much.💜