Book contest. 500 HBD prizes!

in Hive Book Club5 months ago

I felt that I needed to reach out to the book community in Hive to spread the word about the first Book and Life contest that I just launched. I feel that the word is not getting out there enough and I feel that I want to discover more talent.

Here you find the link to the contest rules and prizes and deadline.

https://hive.blog/hive-148441/@creativemary/books-and-life-annual-competition-win-100-hbd-and-a-secret-surprise

DSCF7945.jpg

I have received beautiful entries until now, I hope there are many more out there who had their lives changed by reading the right book at the right time!

Sort:  

Very cool! I haven't stopped in for a while. Glad to see you are doing this.

Hey! I was actually trying to catch up and see what my old friends from here are doing as I was quite on and off this year. Great news: all of them are alive😅😅
How it's going? You can easily drop into the competition if you feel there is a book that you really want to share, thank you for stopping by🤗

Great contest!

I recently stumbled onto this boy's story, Don't Tell Me I Can't.

https://peakd.com/hive-180164/@jingo-submo/dont-tell-me-i-cant-by-cole-summers

I wrote this post about it soon after reading the book and my perspective on schooling and unschooling has changed some more since that post. I have a daughter who has recently been struggling with school. Her teacher routinely sends home feedback with the school work that she didn't finish in class with brief comments about how she doesn't stay focused during her assignments. I've also been told by my wife that she is made to sit and work on her assignments while the other children have recess and/or snack time. My wife is sick of it and finally decided that we should take her out of school for homeschooling. I still hold negative biases towards homeschooling and homeschooled kids, but I also have negative views on the way that most formal education is conducted. The big idea behind unschooling is to let kids decide what they want to learn about and I know that there's power in letting people choose their own destiny.
This book is full of great quotes "Sometimes bad luck is really consequences of bad choices"
I don't know how homeschooling will go for my daughter, but I think there may be great things that come out of it. I guess time will tell.
Kudos to you for engaging with your audience. I love to see lots of comments on people's posts.

What an interesting autobiography! Boy that kid achieved more things at his age than adults! It proves how much self education can shape a child.
Homeschooling is a new approach and it is definetely a subject for debate. I can see why someone would choose it for their kids as the quality of the pedagogical skills of some teachers can be quite disappointing.

How is your daughter doing now that she is homeschooled?

You asked me about the format of your post. I liked it and I appreciate your honesty , you said you love reading more than writing so I get that in your post
I look for a personal touch, not for academic language or professional book reviews. I want to see that the book touched the soul of the person who has read it. This matters the most for me.
Thank you for your entry🤗

This whole transition is still super new. We just bought a bunch of curriculum materials online based on her age and signed up for an umbrella school. The umbrella school works as sort of a mediator between us and the state. My daughter still has 3 days in public school this week which will finish out the semester. We'll take a break for the holidays and then officially start homeschooling in the first week of January which should be a good transition point since that's when the next semester would start at school.

She is super excited!

Keep up the good work my friend and I hope you have a wonderful week ahead 👍🏾 @tipu curate 2

Thank you, you too🤗

Wow, you got it here, too. That's brilliant 👏. My entry came in last yesterday, and I dont know if you missed it or not.. here's it.

https://ecency.com/hive-180164/@balikis95/faceless-a-ghetto-life-inspired?referral=balikis95

Happy New Day. 😊

Oh life is tough where you live, it must be definetely a challenge to be a woman in such an environment. Good choice of the book!Thank you for your entry but please leave in the comment section of the contest post, not here, so I could have it there.

Yes, it is, and I know it is tough for others out there, too. Thank you for sharing yours, too. Oh, I am sorry, and I understand.

You are a gem! I'm going to write my comment tomorrow, it's too late now :)
Keep spreading the love...

Hey! Thank you🤗, there is still time until the competition ends so draft your personal review carefully, I will enjoy reading it!

We exchanged a few words the other day, but I didn't mention the book I'd write about (since you mentioned Shackleton's book I decided to bring something else.) Let me start with a quote that inspired me to be who I am today.

"A man needs to travel. By his own means, not by stories, images, books or TV. By his own, with his eyes and feet, to understand what he is. To some day plant his own trees and give them some value. To know the cold to enjoy the heat. To feel the distance and lack of shelter to be well under his own ceiling. A man needs to travel to places he doesn't know to break this arrogance that makes us see the world as we imagine it, and not simply as it is or may be. That makes us teachers and doctors of what we have never seen, when we should just be learners, and simply go see it." — Amyr Klink

This quote is from Amyr Klink's first book, 100 days between sea and sky. This mad lad crosed the Atlantic on a rowing boat in 1987. Then, a series of other epic adventures followed (though he hates the word adventure).

I wrote a more in-depth post, if you don't mind me sharing it here.

https://peakd.com/hive-180164/@mrprofessor/a-lazy-goat-reader-or-adventures-or-book-and-life

I am happy to see that you did not stop at 800 words.

The book sounds really interesting! I like the quote because it shows how important it is to just go out of the comfort zone and learn new things about other people and oneself while travelling.
I can see that not having your butt touching a desk office had a great impact on your life as you travelled a lot! Your post was a very pleasant reading, thank you for your entry🤗

Thank you! Exactly, it goes beyond travelling if you think about it. If you ever find a copy of that book in English don't hesitate (or if I find one i'll aend it to you). The guy just keep on going with his project despite all the negative comments and mishapsz just like shakleton.

I could write a little bit about dialectic materialism by Marx and Engels

Which they invented as philosophical basis for their communism

But became the basis of our modern materialistic science..

With all problems included

Also very funny how people denying alive spirit and mind, just need and use exactly that to deny it..

These "smart" scientist also enjoy their subjective free time

I could write about such a book and how we indeed already have 'you own nothing and will be happy'
Since decades..

But Noone truly cares.

Just wriwrirwriwrirowriwrirwriwrirong (fuck mymy broken phon phone, I don't knowknow why it does this) this comcommcomcommecomcommencomcommcomcommecomcommenr -_-

Just writing this little comment on my phone already took me over 10 minutes, i w rite a Letter andandmym phone jumsp in front fo it
And nonoonenonoone cares anyways

Congratulations @creativemary! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 9750 replies.
Your next target is to reach 10000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - December 15, 2023

Rich dad poor dad, this is a very popular book. How did it help you in your clothing business?

By the way there is another Hive member who loves this book it is @henry-glowz who also wrote to me about it

I was able to learn to take risks and learn from my mistakes, I noted it in my writeup. In my early days, I made lots of mistakes but I didn't give up on the business, I learned from it, and it paved the way for me.

That's nice, it's a very popular book

More beautiful entries because it's a captivating topic

Thank you, ma'am, for the opportunity to do this. I will drop the link to my entry on the original post.

Wow, I just saw this and I am. glad I did. I will be right back with my entry.

I would love to participate in this contest, please can someone explain the entry rules to me?

Aww
Thank you so much for sharing this with us
I’d check the contest rules

You have done really well by sharing with others what you have, may God almighty bless you 🙏

Hello creativemary!

It's nice to let you know that your article will take 6th place.
Your post is among 15 Best articles voted 7 days ago by the @hive-lu | King Lucoin Curator by nuthman

You receive 🎖 2.2 unique LUBEST tokens as a reward. You can support Lu world and your curator, then he and you will receive 10x more of the winning token. There is a buyout offer waiting for him on the stock exchange. All you need to do is reblog Daily Report 144 with your winnings.

2.png


Invest in the Lu token (Lucoin) and get paid. With 50 Lu in your wallet, you also become the curator of the @hive-lu which follows your upvote.
Buy Lu on the Hive-Engine exchange | World of Lu created by szejq

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP or to resume write a word START