Book review. Seth Godin : The Dip

in Hive Book Club8 months ago

I have chosen another very quick and easy read that will challenge the way you think about quitting.

Seth Godin wrote *** The Dip. The extraordinary benefits of knowing when to quit (and when to stick)***. I definetely wanted to know why quitting can become a good strategy as it kind of demolishes the myth of "Quitters never win and winners never quit".

DSCF6957.jpg

I admit that I was guilty of thinking that the best way is to never quit on anything. Winning has become so praised that the slightest thought of abandoning something feels like failing.

The book starts with an interesting theory: if you do not plan to become the best in the world at something then you are doing it all wrong and you should quit whatever you are doing and set yourself to start something worthy, that will put you on the top. Scarcity creates value. Someone who specializes in something will be much more sought after than a person who is a Jack of all trades, doing all and excelling at nothing. Ouch. This statement might have hurt a lot of egos, including mine. But it is true. We do not have the energy and time to pursue 10 things at a time. We need to focus.

DSCF6958.jpg

From school we are being taught that we need to excel at so many things. It is profusely wrong , said Godin. I agree. We need to specialize much faster and cut the energy loss on learning miscellaneous blabber.

Seth introduces the concept of Dip and Cul-de-Sac. In the video I explain both of them. Long story short you have to think about quitting when there is no light at the end of the tunnel for you. No chance to advance. No promotion. No growth. No worthy achievement. You are plateauing. It is not good or bad. It is just. The Cul-de-Sac is the dead end. You have to exit.

We have to learn when to quit in our relationships, marriages, jobs, quests. We also need to learn when to stay in the Dip and power through and overcome adversity because it is worth it on the long run. If you quit too soon you might blow your change at a good lovestory, career, friendship . If you do not quit then you lose so much more. The art consists in knowing When to quit and How to prepare a strategy in advance.

DSCF6960.jpg

Do not wait for the discomfort to set in before you decide to quit your job. The best moment to quit is when it feels comfy and boring. Make a strategy, an exit plan.

In relationships it pays off to quit when all of your efforts are in vain. If you did your best to try and tell your partner the hurdles that both of you have to overcome and they refuse to change , to grow, to mature...it is time to let the relationship go. If instead you see effort, you see that it is worth pushing through the hard moments because the end reward of being together is worth it, then stay. Push through the dip. Commit to doing the not so comfortable things. Have the difficult conversations and actions. Because it is worth it.

The Dip that is meant for you is a place where you see the light at the end of the tunnel. Ok, maybe I have a dull boring job. And I do not like it. But if with those money I can fund a course, an action that will guide me towards what I really want to do, then it is worth to suck it up a little more and strategize for my exit.

I am a bit torn about the plan B and plan C strategy as I sometimes believe that it is better to burn all bridges in order to make sure you truly succeed. For example when I left for Denmark I had no plan B. I did not consider that the job will be too hard or that I will not fit in. I left determined to build a tattoo portfolio and experience no matter what. Back in Romania I had to plan B in regards to a job in case I failed in Denmark. So in this matter I think a bit different than Godin. In the end you must pick the mental strategies that work the best for you.

43131.jpg

Sort:  

That is exactly how I do it and very well written!
3 years ago, almost exactly I quit my job with $80 and no options.
I discovered that "having to do", (no plan B) will make things more successful.
And 3 years a later, it turns out it was the best decision I ever made, and should have done it 30 years sooner!

Great post and have a great day!

Hey! I congratulate you for your courage, it takes a lot of mental strenght and faith in order to choose the path of no return. Playing it safe can be good for some people yet I also discovered that when I burned all of the bridges and went full throttle on my choice I have found divine help and success. So I agree with you.

Agreed in that schools try putting people into boxes which individuals come in different shapes and sizes


In the realm of learning, different things stick in different ways in the same way certain ingredients work better in specific recipes


Some might say there are around twelve types of intelligence (quota) which many of the IQ and EQ tests are probably not measuring adequately. Yeah, sometimes in life you gotta quit and move on. Sometimes, you may not want to rush these types of decisions


But over the course of months or longer, conviction can grow to the point where it becomes almost unbearable to not take action one way or another assuming said conviction is based in long-term strategy


Meaning something that will better your life and those around you better towards the alleged greater good or whatever as in eternal principles and patterns which the universe is full of

I think that schools have still a lot of improving to do worldwide. I think that they should strive to adapt themselves to the children and not the other way around. We should celebrate the fact that each child is unique instead of trying to make them fit in order to conform. Schools prioritize developing the kind of intelligence that can be measured. Yet in life most of the successful people had a whole range of intelligence which can't be measured. Emotional intelligence is really something we need more of and it is not important in all schools. Thank you for your feedback Joey, I like how you articulate your ideas!

I agree with you Mary, amazing

I have to be honest you have something that I cannot explain.
love your vibe so much

Yes I have been told there is something mysterious about me one can't ever grasp, I take it as a compliment thank you🤗

We should always strive to be at the top no matter what
And we should never have a doubt that we cannot achieve what we want

Hey! It is good to strive to be at the top. What matters the most is to conquer that top which is meant for you
Thank you for reading😁

Thanks for sharing!
!LADY😍

View or trade LOH tokens.


@hive-124452, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @creativemary and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (17/30 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

My pleasure!

Amazing review as always Mary. I felt attacked too at some point, haha.
Currently, I could count on both hands all the skills and career I have been chasing, but recently I decided it might be time to focus and stick to one.

This book sounds like an ideal read. Thanks for sharing

Thank you very much! Do not worry I felt attacked too by some of the things said in the book. And that happened because, to be honest, they were true . I also struggled to focus my attention instead of starting 10 things and never finishing one. So I understand your trigger.
It was a pleasure to share😁

if you do not plan to become the best in the world at something then you are doing it all wrong and you should quit whatever you are doing and set yourself to start something worthy, that will put you on the top.<

I like this opinion. According to me, it is okay give up of something and do anything else. It is not about worthy or not (the thing that make you give up), but sometimes, there is fate.

I agree, sometimes quitting is the only option to succed in something else and channel that energy right

Thank you for reading😁

View or trade LOH tokens.


@creativemary, You have received 1.0000 LOH for posting in Ladies of Hive. We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hodl LOH tokens over a long period of time.

!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@pepetoken, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @creativemary and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (3/4 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.