The winners of Books and Life contest

in Hive Book Club4 months ago

So I decided that I will announce the winners of Books and Life competition earlier, as I have found the processing of the entries of medium difficulty. I expected more entries yet I am very happy with those that decided to join. I want to thank all of you who took the time to read, share and participate.

The total budget that I decided to give to this competition is quite significant. I had 600 in HBD and a secret prize for the longest post consisting in …..500 HIVE. I have kept this as a little secret.

100 HBD went to a charity of my choice and 500 HBD were split between the 5 best comments I have received. The longer post would receive the special prize of 500 HIVE and the special mentioning at the beginning of this post. Please do take a look at the users that have won, give them a follow and share their posts, they are good writers and readers:)

I have read all of the comments and I have found out about some books which I already added to my To Be Read List. Thank you all for enriching that list!

741.jpg

First things first. The special long post prize is won by @jemima1996. I absolutely loved the way you described your journey towards discovering the book of Susan Cain: Quiet. The power of introverts in a world that can’t stop talking. You are authentic, vulnerable and made a beautiful post about the book.

The quote she selected from this book:
"Introverts have been given the keys that give access to inner orchards, full of wonders. Possessing it is like stumbling like Alice down the rabbit hole: she didn't choose to go to wonderland, but she knew how to make it a new, fantastic adventure with a personality of its own."

You can read the long winning post here:
https://hive.blog/hive-180164/@jemima1996/books-and-life-competitivo-empowering-me-with-knowledge-esp-eng

And now the winners for the comment section. Each of them are awarded with 100 HBD. I hope that you will pamper yourself and your loved ones as this amount can bring a bit of joy in anyone’s pocket. When you share a gift with someone that you love the spending is always sweeter and more fun lol.

booksandlifeawards.jpg

  1. @filotasriza3

The book of choice:Arthur Schopenhauer ,The Art of Always Being Right

Favourite quote:“there are very few who can think, but every man wants to have an opinion; and what remains but to take it ready-made from others, instead of forming opinions for himself?"

We need to know how to develop critical thinking and deal with people. The book is written in 1891 but its principles are very useful in 2023 and in the years to come.

“When we are younger we tend to act mostly based on our emotions, can be manipulated way easier by others and in general can be here and there regarding our friends and family. This book helped me in so many different aspects that defined my life and keep doing so. Except for the fact that as i mentioned a while ago, i can win some debates a bit more easily and in general argue better than others i can also understand when others are trying to use these methods on me or us (as people). “

2.@henrietta27

The book of choice:Immaculee Ilibagiza, Left to tell (discovering God amidst the Rwanda Holocaust)

Favourite quote:"I realized that my battle to survive this war would have to be fought inside of me"

The book is about the genocide in Rwanda and the struggle of a young woman caught in the midst of it. For @henrietta27 “This is so relatable because one thing I dread the most is inter tribal wars. Currently I live in a community different from my tribe in the same country. A place where segregation and nepotism takes place even if I have lived almost all my life here. One time I applied for a job I needed so badly considering the economic and financial situations were so poor. Can you imagine that all the indigenes were selected but I was left out. It was so painful because I thought since I was born her and have lived over 25 years they would take me as their own but reverse was the Case as I knew, I was left alone to face my fears. “

3.@anttn

The book of choice:Gabriel Garcia Marquez's , One Hundred Years of Solitude

Favourite quote:"Thus they continued to live in an elusive reality, momentarily held captive by words, but which would inevitably escape them without return once they forgot the very meaning of writing."

The story is about the Buendia family in an unnamed country in South America . In the comment @anttn said : “what struck me most was the way time is stretched out, like concentric loops or circles on the water of time, intersecting at pivotal moments. Gabriel Garcia Marquez is also known as one of the leading authors of magic realism, a movement that brings magic into fiction. Strange and fantastic things happen over and over again, but we are still in a realistic setting and not in a fantasy or a fairytale. The story is so full and so full of events that I couldn't really tell you more here... or I'd go over the 800-word limit “

  1. @fermentedphil
    The book(s) of choice: Sextus Empiricus, Pyrrhonian Outlines and Albert Camus, The Outsider/Stranger .I really appreciated that you picked two and told me why!

Favourite quote:And I, too, felt ready to start life all over again. It was as if that great rush of anger had washed me clean, emptied me of hope, and, gazing up at the dark sky spangled with its signs and stars, for the first time, the first, I laid my heart open to the benign indifference of the universe. To feel it so like myself, indeed, so brotherly, made me realize that I’d been happy, and that I was happy still. (The Outsider/Stranger)

Camus explored what he termed -the nakedness of man faced with the absurd. “Our very disposition in life should be one of always seeking, always looking, never holding opinions in such a rigid way as to never change them. Going even further, we should “return” to everyday life without holding extra beliefs about everyday life. “

5.@cyclopshive

The book of choice: Cal Newport , Deep Work: Rules for Focused Success in a Distracted World

Favourite quote:To learn hard things quickly, you must focus intensely without distraction. To learn, in other words, is an act of deep work.

“Basically, this book will change the reader's perspective on work productivity. By reading this book a reader is able to get ahead in the workplace by improving his efficiency and punctuality. Which helps to increase a person's confidence and prowess “

Congratulations to everybody , Happy Holidays and a blessed 2024 next to the people that love you truly!

Sort:  

OMG ! Many thanks @creativemary for choosing my comment and kind of review of « One hundred Years of Solitude » ! I’m really honored and I really want to thank you for this opportunity of talking about readings, books, literature and of course the impacts and effects on our lives !

I’ve read your previous post, and I would prefer to answer you there but I find too that a video call would be a great great idea ! One my side, I don’t know the good medium (discord ?) for that exchange, but we’ll manage anyway and I will be super happy to have some time to discuss together !
Thanks you again to you and congratulations to all participants, I’ll visit a bit the different comments and articles :)

Have a lovely day and take care 💚

You're welcome I really liked the book that you picked and the way you wrote your thoughts about it!

I would have loved to be able to have a video call with all the winners, maybe in the future this will be a possibility on Hive.

Thank you for participating 🤗

Oh, if you want to, we can still have a exchange on an other platform, even if I definitely agree with you.. it would be more pleasant and efficient to just go through HIVE !!

Feel free to add my on Discord, I've the same name there, plus I would be very happy to thank you in a direct conversation :))

😘

Wow, a big congratulations to the winners. This is a nice way of giving in this season. There'll be lots of happiness in their hearts, and I pray more comes to yours, too, as the giver.

Thanks for giving back to them.

It was my joy!

And it shall last. Hoping to see you on Pypt today.

A big congratulations to the winner. How possible I really missed out on this contest

There is always a next time in 2024🙂

Awesome writers. Congrats everyone! Makes me ashamed that I don't read as much as I should 😬 (trying to fix that)

Oh don't you worry I am sure that you will catch up as life happens we can all have short or long breaks from stuff we really like:)

Oh my God... I am so elated right now, I didn't expect it. Thank you so so much @creativemary for finding my story worthy, I do not take it for granted at all. Thank you

Congratulations! I hope that your choice of book will inspire others to read it!

Oh my! I really did not expect this. Thank you so so much! When I saw the transaction, I thought it was something completely different, and then I saw what it was. What a Christmas surprise, thank you so much again. Congrats also to the others.

I just want to say thank you also, again, for the opportunity that you gave us to think back about the impact of books on our lives. Some people will never read a book, and that is fine for them. Some might enjoy a casual read. But then there are us book addicts whose lives are fundamentally changed by books. What a time to be alive in.

I actually wanted my girlfriend, @urban.scout, to write something, I did not plan on writing something. But then as the week went on, I “fermented” some thoughts in my mind and I made the comment. So be sure that I will use some of the HBD to buy her some books, as she was pressing me to write something as she knows the impact books had on my life.

I can only say thank you again.

I knew that it would be you! Congratulations, my dear <3

You have so much faith in my abilities, thank you so much!

I really enjoyed your "fermented" thoughts hahaha, you have a knack for writing I could tell.

then there are us book addicts whose lives are fundamentally changed by books. What a time to be alive in
Amen to that, there are so many ways in which someone could read today...it is incredible, information is everywhere we are blessed really!

It is very sweet that you want to buy your girlfriend some books, a man is always happier when he makes his woman happy!

Thank you so much! I have always been writing, my whole life. I started with English, then I moved to my home language (Afrikaans) and now with Hive and my PhD, I am back to English.

So true, it is sometimes bewildering just how much there is out there. Doing my PhD, I am reading 2-4 articles per day, and this is not even touching the vast amount of literature there is on my topic. So much goes unread in life, which is sad because spend so much time producing those works.

For sure, I know this to be true! I will make a post about the books we bought, they will arrive in a couple of weeks time, I think. Thank you so much again, you really gave us the best Christmas present, as books are really expensive and we used most of our expendable income on gifts for family and not on ourselves.

And you dont even speak french 😛 ahahahah
Congrats and enjoy your holidays 🎄🌺🎄

Thank you so much, to you too! And may 2024 hold only positive things for you!

That’s a lot of money
I can imagine how happy the winner will be right now
Congratulations to the winner

I am sure that they are all happy I wanted to make the prizes big enough so that they would make a small difference in someone's pocket for the Holidays.

Congrats to the winners and thank you again for hosting such a generous giveaway 🙏🥰

It was my pleasure to be able to give back to the community!

When I read this my morning changed completely, it makes me very happy for such a spectacular award, but few things feel as good as to be appreciated and to be valued something that came from your heart, you have done it and I will not forget it.

Thank you so much for giving me the honor and for allowing me to participate in something so big and full of heartfelt sincerity. I hope one day I can do something like you have done 😘, I send you a giant hug and again thank you very much for the award and for dedicating part of your time to read and value me.

I feel gratitude for being able to hold this contest and discover new talents. I appreciated your post and the fact that you showed who you are. I hope that you will also inspire many more to read through your writing!
Giant hugs for you too🤗

damnnn i didn't expect this at all! Thank you so much for this and congrats to all the other winners as well! Initiatives like this are really impactful both in terms of other people as well as Hive and the ecosystem as well!

Hahaha gotcha! Haha I love it when I take someone by surprise, in the good sense . You have a talent in both reading and writing, it was worth appreciating🤗

Wow, congratulations to all the winners, you did well.

Wish you all the best for Christmas

Congratulations to all winners... You guys deserved it. @creativemary thank you for deeming it fit to give back to the society. May God continue to bless you more and more

!LADY !ALIVE

View or trade LOH tokens.


@pepetoken, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @creativemary and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/2 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

@creativemary! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ pepetoken. (1/20)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

A big congratulations to the winner. The winner deserve it

View or trade LOH tokens.


@creativemary, You have received 1.0000 LOH for posting in Ladies of Hive. We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hodl LOH tokens over a long period of time.

Congratulations to them all

Congrats to all the winners , it was fantastic to participate ❤️
Have beautiful holidays 🎄🌺🎄

Hello creativemary!

It's nice to let you know that your article won 🥇 place.
Your post is among the best articles voted 7 days ago by the @hive-lu | King Lucoin Curator by nuthman

You and your curator receive 0.5492 Lu (Lucoin) investment token and a 11.53% share of the reward from Daily Report 153. Additionally, you can also receive a unique LUGOLD token for taking 1st place. All you need to do is reblog this report of the day with your winnings.

2.png


Invest in the Lu token (Lucoin) and get paid. With 50 Lu in your wallet, you also become the curator of the @hive-lu which follows your upvote.
Buy Lu on the Hive-Engine exchange | World of Lu created by @szejq

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP or to resume write a word START