A BOOK REVIEW: TOMORROW I BECOME A WOMAN

in Hive Book Clublast year (edited)

Hello guys. I'm back with another post. This time it's a book review of my latest read. Before I go on, I'd love to appreciate everyone here that has been supporting me. It makes me feel good and I'm deeply grateful. I was notified of a statement by @event-horizon which I find very encouraging. It also reminded me that it's been days since I shared my last book review.

IMG-20221108-WA0004.jpg


Tomorrow I become a woman is one book that has been on my tbr since September. It's been quite popular on Nigerian bookstagram so I had to cop a copy and understand the hype for myself. I got it last week and within two days I finished. Yes, it's good like that. There are two easy ways to get me to read a book fast: first, if it's written by a Nigerian woman, and second, if it's a feminist book and this book met these criteria.

Uju meets Gozie, the perfect man. He's handsome, the most eligible bachelor in church, and a good Christian. He reminds her of her first love, Uncle Ikenna. There's Akin who makes her feel heard but when Gozie asks her to marry him within a few months of meeting, she agrees to marry him. After all, he's loved by her mother, and adored by her friends as well as her father and brothers. Unfortunately, the marriage that she imagined to be perfect, turns out to be a nightmare.

IMG-20221108-WA0000.jpg

IMG-20221108-WA0003.jpg

This book triggered me, made me angry and frustrated. I felt so much pain because of the horrendous things I read as I kept flipping the pages. But I couldn't put it down because of the seamless flow of storytelling and gripping plot. With poignant narration, the author explores the societal and religious expectations placed on women from the moment they were born. Nigeria is a highly patriarchal society and this book is a perfect illustration.

This novel discusses how women have been brought up to always think about marriage as the ultimate goal and how they are forced to believe that the idea of womanhood is based on how much she can endure and manage no matter how difficult it is. It shows the pressure mounted on women to get married early, bear children, and the preference for a male child over a girl.
"Na her first pikin and she no even born boy"
If a woman doesn't have sons, she's not woman enough. If she can't bear children, she's called a man. If she suffers a miscarriage, she's tagged as a weakling. This novel goes further to depict how women are used only as vessels for childbirth without taking into consideration whether she is ready or not.

IMG-20221108-WA0006.jpg

Uju's husband, Gozie beats her till she's a bloodied mess and ends up in the hospital. But when she tells her mother, she never takes her daughter's side. Always blaming her, encouraging her to go back to her husband despite the obvious bruises all over her body. I really despise her mother. She lacks common empathy and compassion. I tend to give grace to patriarchal princesses because society made them that way. In Uju's mother's case, I think she didn't have her daughter's best interest at heart.

IMG-20221108-WA0005.jpg
Aiwanose with her brilliant storytelling explores the religious contribution to the topic of misogyny. Two people take the vow but the whole bulk of making the marriage work is placed solely on the wife's shoulder. It is women that are encouraged to join prayer meetings to keep their homes. When a man cheats, she's advised to pray against the leeches that want to destroy her home. When a man hits his wife, it's the devil at work. They're never held accountable. When a woman decides to leave, she's a failure and a disgrace to womanhood.
"My dear it is okay for a man to have a bad character as long as he is a man"
IMG-20221108-WA0001.jpg

This book broke my heart into a thousand tiny pieces. I couldn't say to myself "it's just fiction" because in this case, everything that was written down in this book isn't far-fetched from reality. It's deeply heart-wrenching.
.
I enjoyed the inclusion of the Nigerian civil war and the tales and sufferings of the Igbo people during and after the war. There are several Igbo words and phrases and I loved how authentic it made the story, together with the nigerianness in the conversations.

IMG-20221108-WA0002.jpg

Cover photo source


Some of the themes it covers are domestic violence, verbal abuse, financial control, tribalism, societal pressure, discrimination against female children, miscarriage, female friendship, war, death, and grief.

My favorite character is Uju. I admire how she brought up her daughters, teaching them to be independent and giving them all the support her mother deprived her of. There was great character development for everyone ln the book.

The narration was from a first-person POV, using Uju's voice. The writing is simple with vivid descriptions trapping you in the story. Despite enjoying this so much, I rate it a 4 out of 5 stars. The ending was unsatisfactory so minus one star for that. If you've read Ogadinma and enjoyed it, you'll love this even more. For a debut, this is amazing work and I'm looking forward to reading more from the author.

Thank You For Reading!

20221016_081803_0000.png

Sort:  

Images and writings designed using canva

Sounds like a powerful book.
I love the cover of the book, it can attract the reader more.

Yes it is. The topic is very attractive! Sometimes I don't even buy books if the title doesn't convince me.

I do the same, sometimes :)

Congratulations @glitterbird! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 10 posts.
Your next target is to reach 20 posts.
You made more than 50 comments.
Your next target is to reach 100 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

CBRS Hive Infographic Contest - Get your badge and win 1000 HIVE
Our Hive Power Delegations to the October PUM Winners
Feedback from the November 1st Hive Power Up Day - New Turnout Record
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I’m moved by this story and I would love to read it.
Do you know where I can get a soft copy?

And before I forget, I love your writing skills.🙂

You can check goodreads for one. I'd try and get a free site for you. I dont have for this one because I bought the book.

Oh okay.
I’ll check it out. Thank you.

That's one thing I love reading too about books, when they are what I can relate to reality because then I get to get more idea of how the world thinks about some certain things.

Reading through this review it reminded me of a movie I saw some years back and it helped me relate well with the story.

Thank you so much for this beautiful review Glitterbird 🥰.

Thanks for stopping by again @hopestylist. I appreciate seeing you around and I love that you relate with the story.

Thanks so much.

You're welcome, it's my pleasure to be here 😊

Me encanta, excelente contenido. Me gusta tu creatividad, y como estructuraste todo. Sigues así amiga!!

Hi @glitterbird, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @rem-steem!


Support us by voting as a Hive Witness and/or by delegating HIVE POWER.

JOIN US ON

High expectations placed on women are just too much and this book confirms it.

Added to my must read!

Please feel free to let me know what you think about the book when you finally read it.

Thanks for stopping by.

Sure I will do that.

Your post is now featured on Tomorrow I Become a Woman the book page!

Thanks again.