Community Contest #10 : What Would You Do if You Met Your Favorite Fictional Character?

There is a character named 'Alyosha Karamazov' in 'Brother Karamazov', a classic work written by Fyodor Dostoevsky. When this fictional character meets me, we will both go on a religious journey. While reading the novel, I found myself like Alyosha. We both are very thinkers and religious minded people.

“Alyosha, now that you have come out of the novel into real life, let us go on a journey. I remember you have done many religious pilgrimages in your life. When asked by Alyosha, where are we going to go?, I answer by saying 'Badrinath'.

 "normal_lit_001.jpg"Photo Source

We both catch the bus from Delhi to Haridwar. Haridwar is a religious place from where the holy river Ganga flows. When both of us reach the banks of the river Ganges, we both look into each other's eyes and revive the idea that was growing in both of us since childhood. We take out all the money, IDs from our pockets and throw them in the river, before bathing in the Ganges we also offer our clothes to the river. Now only the langot (nappy) is left on our body.

After taking a bath, we start the journey on foot from Haridwar, which passes through the famous Panch Prayags of Uttarakhand and reaches Badrinath, the abode of Lord Vishnu. It takes us 45 days to reach here. Alyosha's feet are covered with blisters... from which blood and pus are coming out. While washing his feet with the water of the river flowing nearby, I say that a few steps and then we will be in the shelter of God.

Alyosha's eyes are so pure that they say everything without uttering a single word. He rubs his hand over my head and says that this stain on this leg cannot contaminate my soul. Both of us are sitting on the bank of Alaknanda river and watching the setting sun. Prayers dedicated to Lord Shiva are being played in the nearby temple. The sound of the ringing bells of the temple has made the atmosphere devotional.

After walking for the whole 50 days, we finally reach the Badrinath temple where we first take a bath in a hot water spring. Standing on the steps of the temple, Alyosha's face looks like the rising sun. Even though he talks less, his elusive face makes up for the lack of all words. We are standing in front of the idol of Lord Badrinath with folded hands...don't know why tears are falling from my eyes, which Alyosha is wiping with his soft hands.

From here we go to Vasudhara waterfall where we meditate in the cave. Alyosha tells me not to worry, I am going to meditate for a few days and if you feel hungry, go to Badrinath temple. He has gone into meditation... In the dark cave, his body used to shine like a lamp and I used to watch him blindly. I was not even conscious of hunger, of myself... I was just lost in Alyosha's energy.

After 7 days, when Alyosha comes out of meditation, he puts his hand on my head….by doing this, electricity runs through my whole body. I almost faint and when I regain consciousness, I see Alyosha has brought me food from Badrinath temple. Alyosha says eat food, we have to go on a very long journey now. Are you ready to go, to which I respond by saying "with you anywhere".

I tag @saranegi and @surabhi for this amazing contest.
Contest link

Sort:  

Not sure what a 19th century Russian would think of modern India. Great choice

I also have a little doubt but I will definitely do the convention

Ooh. I still have yet to read this one but your choice got me interested. I've only read Crime and Punishment and I don't think Raskolnikov would be my first choice if given a chance to meet a fictional character. Anne of Green Gables would be it. Hehe.

I have also read the book Crime and Punishment, it is a master piece. Raskolnikov is not my favorite, of course, but I would still like to sit down and have a conversation with him.
Anne's character is independent and strong, which fits perfectly with today's modern society. The journey from poverty to flying in the sky..... Good choice Annie

You are weirdo... Has anyone told you that before? How on earth would you want to go through pains for the sake of religion?

But I admire your courage to join Alyosha Karamazov on this pilgrimages. You should become a martyr 🥺

Even if I would be given the title of weirdo and martyr for walking away from the crime that exists in the world, I would still like to do it.
What's wrong with knowing yourself?

Lol. Nothing is wrong with that.

I must confess there was a time in my life when I felt this way. I guess I was startled by the fact that someone out there still has this yearnings.

I understand your meaning, someone's thirst is quenched and someone's is not.
India is a religious country, we are brought up in a spiritual way. After traveling in the Himalayas for many years, now I want to dedicate my life to a little meditation and mountains.

Spirituality is something that could take us to a different realm if we allow ourselves to get soaked in the dynamic of how much life is spiritual. A little mountain and mediation is a good thing for the soul and I am glad your favorite character would have given you the chance to experience it with him.

I am glad to know that even today there are people in the world who understand the value of spirituality. I feel connected to spirituality, so in my imagination I have taken a religious person like Alyosha to the Himalayas so that we can attain salvation by meditating in caves. Thanks for understanding spirituality.