Thou Read And Love It (Contest #3 All About Readers)

in Hive Book Club2 years ago (edited)

How are you Hive Book Club?
Thanks for this contest.

I came across with @CoquiCoin's article I'm A Reader. And You? on another platform where she mentioned about this contest. And it inspired me to write this content and opted to make this my entry to Hive Book Club's contest entitled All About Readers.

Back to the question of @CoquiCoin, am I a reader? Of course, YES! And it is an undeniable fact that you're a reader as well. We all are readers. However, not all are book lovers and it is another undeniable fact. Not all are bibliophiles or bookworms.

Taking down the memory lane. I loved to read fantasy stories when I was a kid. And of course, the most famous books way back were about the Disney Princesses stories - Cinderella, Sleeping Beauty, Beauty and the Beast, Snow White and 7 Dwarfs, Rapunzel, and whatever Disney Princess story you have in mind.

As I grew up, I liked reading nonfiction/fiction, as well as suspense, thriller, adventure, horror, mysteries, and who doesn't like reading Romance novel series? It was my hobby when I was in secondary school, especially when my teachers were out. I was actually influenced by my classmates as they love reading novels as well. We even rented some novels just to have something to read during break time. And once we're done reading our novel, we would exchange it with our classmate's novel.

IMG_20211124_155327.jpg

When I started working. My reading hobby declined as I became busier at work and had less spare time to read books. But I do read random ebooks and articles if I have time. And there's a popular app called Wattpad in our country where we can read different stories wherever we go using our phone. I became addicted to it way back in 2017 until I flew abroad and stopped reading stories on Wattpad.

IMG_20211124_155118.jpg
(just cover the Chinese posters 😅)

But when I stepped into my boss's house here abroad, one of the things that caught my attention was the bookshelf. It's full of books, both Chinese and English. And that's how my hobby in reading came back. It became my hobby every time I'm taking a breather. And even though I have watched the movies of those English books, I still read them, especially when I'm bored staying online and have no Kdramas to watch.

And one of the novel series I liked is Alex Rider written by a British writer named Anthony Horowitz. I like spy stories and Alex Rider is a teen spy which I admired the most. At a young age, he became part of MI6 or Special Intelligence Service in the United Kingdom. And his curiosity towards his uncle's death made him turn himself into doing spy things even it's against his will, and more stories started to unfold, including the case of his own father's death.

IMG_20211124_155544.jpg

I was like watching a real movie while reading the book series. Alex's cleverness and natural spy skills are truly commendable. And I finished the 13 book series within a week.


Back on track..

What is your favorite time or place to read?

Reading in a silent place is what I prefer, as I am easily distracted by noises, and I like indoors, not outdoors. I can't enjoy the story if it's noisy around me. So if I want to read a book, I would stay in the corner of my room, put on my headset, and play soft instrumental music while reading. But I do want to experience reading in a cafe while sipping a hot tea or coffee. I especially want to try sitting in a famous Starbucks coffee shop while reading a book. I might do that one of these days.

IMG_20211124_154940.jpg

What makes you enjoy a book?

The soft music and the story of the book are what make my reading moment enjoyable. The ambiance of the place is what makes me divert into the setting of the story and feel like I am part of it.

I like reading a story that makes me think of what would happen next. It makes me excited to read and wanted to jump into the climax and learn the ending.

Do you like to read outdoors, before bed, or on the bus on your way to work?

As I mentioned above, I love reading at the corner of my room and I prefer a silent place. But if I would read outdoor, it would be in a tranquil place such as calming park, or café. I don't like reading on the bus as it makes my eyes hurting. When I was in college though, I usually study on the bus while on my way home.

Do you focus on character development, thoughtful messages, or the level of intrigue a plot generates in you?

I am more excited if the characters are intriguing and the story has unexpected twist in the plot. And have you ever felt like you want to change the plot to make the story better and for you to be satisfied with it? Or go into the story and pull the hair of the antagonist? 😅 I felt that many times, lol.

At the end of the reading, what we can get are lessons and thoughtful messages. That's the most important part of it. Because reading without a purpose is useless. And the story would eventually fade in your memory once you just take reading for granted, and do not absorb the lessons learned in the story.

After learning this contest, I feel like I want to go back reading books. And here's a book of my Chinese friend that she wants me to read, the Shakespeare stories by Leon Garfield.

IMG_20211124_174038.jpg

I like Shakespeare as an author. His words are romantic, yet, so complicated to fathom, lol.

"Death, that hath sucked the honey of thy breath, Hath had no power yet upon thy beauty."

It's from Romeo.

"My bounty is as boundless as the sea, My love as deep. The more I give to thee, The more I have, for both are infinite."

And of course, from Juliet.

His words are wondrous. Thou who is reading. Oh, tissue, please! 🤣

That's all folks. What about you? Do you like reading?

Thanks foe your time.

@EyByoung @Ruffa wanna try?

Sort:  

Hi @jane1289 what a surprise to see you on Hive, you have several months but had not coincided with any publication of yours, I did not know you were here, welcome and much success where you are.

I agree with you that we are all readers, some do it with more regularity and passion. Your images very nice, I would like to see the Chinese posters 😂 do not hide 😁.

Hello there.. I never been active here before and I seldom visited my acct now 😅. Nice to see you here 🙂

hahahaha but you opened your account in March, it happens to you like me in the other network that I have almost no activity. 😘

This is a nice entry, you explained so well how much you love reading even with the obstacles to stop you from reading.

Meeting those books at your boss's place abroad is just so amazing, you got back to reading and have a lot to cover.

I have had that thought numerous times as well, wanting to change a character's play in a book to end in my own way.

All the best in the contest

Thanks for the mention and I'm glad that finding out about the contest leave you wanting to go back to reading books;)

I finally met you on Hive 😁😁 you have really explained about being a reader and its benefits. I wish you the best ate

Hello there Princess. You must join too hehe

I would try if time hasn't gone for it.

Congratulations @jane1289! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 100 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 21

We will see each other again dear Jane.

Sis, Alex Rider which you mentioned intrigued me!

And it's great that you read a variety of genres on your spare time. Cheers to reading sis!

Peeekaaabooo!

For some reason fiction books are not usually of interest to me, but I can't deny that I am struck by the fact that so many people enjoy them, and also by the fact that their covers are usually very pretty.

Luckily, books are always there for us. And even if we go months without reading, when we resume this activity it is as satisfying as the first time.

I enjoyed reading you! I send you good vibes.

Hi jane1289,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Hehehehe.... Here have some tissue 🤧 😅

You are really funny, I guess that's how you are.

Shakespeare should be proud of you... Lol.

I took a lesson from this and I agree, if we do not take lessons from our readings, there's a tendency it will fade off our memory

I like that reading is a whole experience from the soft music playing in the background to the ambiance of the environment which makes you feel like you are truly immersed in the story.
I am also a lover of Shakespeare's works. He is indeed one of the greatest authors ever.

I look forward to your experience reading in the famous Starbucks coffee shop 😃Let me know when you do.
Nice writeup @jane1289.

Tener una biblioteca en casa es extraordinario, este contacto con los libros es una buena alternativa para el entretenimiento y aprendizaje de todos en la familia. Por otra parte, leer con música instrumental es muy buena idea, en algún momento lo intentaré. También me gustan los giros inesperados, nos mantienen atentos con ganas de saber más. Fue un gusto saludarte.

Having a library at home is extraordinary, this contact with books is a good alternative for entertainment and learning for everyone in the family. On the other hand, reading with instrumental music is a very good idea, at some point I will try. I also like unexpected twists, they keep us attentive wanting to know more. Was a pleasure to see you again.