The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky | Book review

in Hive Book Club3 years ago

image.png

image.png

When I was 14 I read this book and cried a lot, when I was 16 I read it again and cried again, when I was 19 I read it and cried again, when I am 22 I read it again and I still cry as if it was the first time. It doesn't matter how many times I read it, that I know by memory all the things that are going to happen, I suffer as if it were the first time all the time I read the book or watch the movie.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower was, is and will remain one of my favorite books of a lifetime, it meant a lot to me at the time and still does. Adolescence is one of the worst stages for many, many human beings and for me it was very horrible, but not as horrible as it was for Charlie in the book.

image.png

A los 14 años leí este libro y lloré mucho, a los 16 años lo volví a leer y lloré otra vez, a los 19 años lo leí y volví a llorar, lo vuelvo a leer en este momento a los 22 años y sigo llorando como si fuera la primera vez. No importa que cuántas veces lo haya leído, que sepa de memoria todas las cosas que van a suceder, sufro como si fuera la primera vez todo el tiempo que leo el libro o que veo la película.

Las ventajas de ser invisible o Las ventajas de ser un marginado fue, es y seguirá siendo uno de mis libros favoritos de toda la vida, significó mucho para mí en esos momentos y sigue siendo así. La adolescencia es una de las peores etapas para muchísimos seres humanos y para mí fue muy horrible, pero no tanto como lo fue para Charlie en el libro.

image.png

I think if I ever have kids, and they're disappointed, I won't tell them that people are starving in China or anything like that because that won't change the fact that they're disappointed. And that even if somebody else has it much worse, that doesn't change the fact that you have what you have.

image.png

Creo que si alguna vez tengo hijos, y están decepcionados, no les diré que la gente está hambrienta en China ni nada como eso porque eso no cambiará el hecho de que estén decepcionados. Y que aunque alguien lo tenga mucho peor, eso no cambia el hecho de que tú tengas lo que tienes.

image.png

One of the many things I love about this book is that we only have the certainty that we are reading the letters that Charlie began to write to someone on his first day of high school, to protect the identity of his friends and family he invents his own last name and changes the name of the rest of the people, we do not know exactly where he lives or studies, but none of that is necessary to understand and come to feel identified with all the things he tells us.

The feeling of not belonging, feeling that we are only spectators of the events that happen around us and that we are not really living, an overwhelming sexual awakening and starting to use drugs and alcohol recreationally seeing that your friends do it, and if they do it you have to do it too, right? Those are just some of the little things we are going to find in this book, I can't mention others because it would be spoiler and would ruin the surprise effect.

image.png

Una de las muchísimas cosas que me encantan de este libro es que solo tenemos la certeza de que estamos leyendo las cartas que Charlie comenzó a escribirle a alguien en su primer día de secundaria, para proteger la identidad de sus amigos y su familia se inventa un apellido propio y le cambia el nombre al resto de las personas, tampoco sabemos exactamente donde vive o estudia, pero nada de eso es necesario para entenderlo y llegar a sentirnos identificados con todas las cosas que nos cuenta.

La sensación de no pertenecer, sentir que solo somos espectadores de los hechos que ocurren a nuestro alrededor y que no estamos viviendo de verdad, un despertar sexual abrumador y el comenzar a consumir drogas y el alcohol de manera recreacional al ver que tus amigos lo hacen, y si ellos lo hacen tú también tienes que hacerlo, ¿verdad? Esas son apenas unas de las pequeñas cosas que nos vamos a encontrar en este libro, no puedo mencionar otras porque sería spoiler y arruinaría el efecto sorpresa.

image.png

So this is my life. And I want you to know that I'm as happy as I am sad and I'm still trying to figure out how that can be.

image.png

Así que esta es mi vida. Y quiero que sepas que estoy tan feliz como triste y aún intento averiguar cómo puede ser eso.

image.png

I love the movie, every time I want to cry I watch it, it's been about thirty times, I think, since it starts I'm already sighing and holding back tears, but I can't hold them for long and I end up crying and laughing the whole movie, besides singing all the songs, I love them, it's one of the best things about the movie, because even though it's very good, it doesn't have everything that is in the book and there are many things that were changed, but it's ok, at least you can enjoy it and I know I'm not the only one who loves the movie almost as much as the book.

image.png

Amo la película, cada vez que quiero llorar la veo, ya van como unas treinta veces, creo, desde que comienza ya estoy suspirando y aguantando las lágrimas, pero no las puedo retener por mucho tiempo y termino llorando y riéndome toda la película, ademas de cantar todas las canciones, las amo, es de las mejores cosas que tiene la película, porque a pesar de que es muy buena, no tiene todo lo que sale en el libro y hay muchas cosas que cambiaron, pero está bien, al menos se puede disfrutar y sé que no soy el único que ama casi tanto a la película como ama al libro.

image.png

I don't know if you've ever felt like this. As if you wanted to sleep for thousands of years. Or just not to exist. Or just not being aware that you exist. Or something like that. I think wanting this is very unhealthy, but it's what I want when I get like this. That's why I'm trying not to think.

image.png

No sé si alguna vez te has sentido así. Como si quisiera dormir durante miles de años. O simplemente no existir. O simplemente no ser consciente de que existes. O algo así. Creo que querer esto es muy insano, pero es lo que quiero cuando me pongo así. Por eso estoy intentando no pensar.

image.png

There are many people who say that it is a book exclusively for teenagers because of all the topics it deals with, the way it is written and how innocent or naive Charlie's character can be, but it is not so, anyone of any age can read the book and if they do it without any prejudice they will like it or even understand and identify with some of the situations that Charlie is going to tell us about.

I love the fact that it is written in the form of letters, because it not only gives us a timeline that allows us to know the order in which everything is happening, it also allows us to bring out that melancholic and romantic side that one has inside and be happy while reading it, I always take more time than necessary to read his farewells in each letter, it is like a whisper that I don't want to disappear.

image.png

Hay muchas personas que dicen que es un libro exclusivamente para adolescentes por todos los temas que trata, la manera en que está escrito y lo inocente o crédulo que puede llegar a ser el personaje de Charlie, pero no es así, cualquier persona de la edad que sea puede leer el libro y si lo hace sin ningún tipo de prejuicio le va a gustar o aunque sea va entender y llegar a sentirse identificado con alguna de las situaciones sobre las que Charlie nos va a relatar.

El hecho de que esté escrito en formas de cartas me encanta, porque no solo nos da una linea de tiempo que nos permite saber el orden en el que está sucediendo todo, también nos permite sacar ese lado melancólico y romántico que uno tiene por dentro y ser feliz mientras lo leemos, yo siempre me tomo más tiempo del necesario en leer sus despedidas en cada carta, es como un susurro que no quiero que desaparezca.

image.png

I don't want to be someone's crush. If someone likes me, I want them to like the real me, not what they think I am. And I don't want them to keep it inside. I want them to show it to me, so I can feel it, too.

image.png

No quiero ser el flechazo de alguien. Si le gusto a alguien, quiero que le guste mi yo real, no lo que cree que soy. Y no quiero que se lo guarde dentro. Quiero que me lo enseñe, para que pueda sentirlo, también.

image.png

Why read this book? Because it is never too late to reconnect with our adolescent self and make the passes with all the things you lived or didn't live during those years, you have to give yourself the opportunity to understand and analyze your own life no matter how painful it can be, and this book gives us that opportunity as we read how Charlie tells us about his life and all the good and bad that happens to him, as it happened to all of us.

You can watch the movie and then decide if you want to read the book or not, it's totally valid and personally I'm not against watching a movie before reading the book it was based on. Both are perfect in their own formats and perhaps you might enjoy the movie more than the book.

image.png

¿Por qué leer este libro? Porque nunca es tarde para reencontrarnos con nuestro yo adolescente y hacer las pases con todas las cosas que uno vivió o que no vivió durante esos años, hay que darse la oportunidad entender y analizar nuestra propia vida sin importar que tan doloroso pueda llegar a ser, y este libro nos da esa oportunidad mientras leemos como Charlie nos habla de su vida y de todo lo bueno y malo qu ele sucede, así como nos sucedió a todos.

Pueden ver la película y después decidir si quieren leer el libro o no, es algo totalmente válido y personalmente no estoy en contra de ver una película antes de leer el libro en el cual fue basada. Ambos son perfectos en sus propios formatos y quizás puedan llegar a disfrutar más la película que el libro.

image.png

We accept the love we think we deserve.

image.png

Aceptamos el amor que creemos merecer.

image.png

See you next time! Never stop reading or writing, never walk away from art, it's what keeps us sane in this crazy world.

image.png

¡Hasta la próxima! Nunca dejen de leer o de escribir, nunca se alejen del arte, es lo que nos mantiene cuerdos en este mundo de locos.

image.png

Sort:  

Yo también leí este libro a los 14 años, y me gusto mucho. No lo he vuelto a leer, pero si he visto muchas veces la película para recordarlo. Hiciste una buena elección de frases, buena reseña ¡saludos!

¡Gracias! Este es uno de esos libros que se quedan contigo si los lees en el momento correcto. La película es muy buena, pero siempre termino volviendo a leer el libro.

Congratulations @jauregui98! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 450 posts.
Your next target is to reach 500 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Communities
Hive Tour Update - Advanced posting

You cry every single time?
Not that I want to cry but the title has been added to my got to-read list

There's so many things I identify with in this book, situacions that I've been through too and I didn't realize they were bad, this book allow me to see it. Alsa I'm a crybaby, I cry a lot for almost everything.