Layla by Colleen Hoover | READING A BOOK EVERYDAY FOR 7 DAYS Day 3

in Hive Book Club2 years ago (edited)

png_20220408_183427_0000.png

Hello everybody, hello @HiveBookClub and welcome back to my mini series of Reading a Book Everyday for 7 Days. I am now in my third book and I am very excited to share this with you so without a further ado dive in and I'll show you.

dividers-04.png

This post might contain some spoilers. READ AT YOUR OWN RISK.

Before anything else if you are curious and interested to my first and second entry of my mini series then you can check it out in my blog too.

20220408_1844162.gif

THIRD BOOK

The third book is different from the first and second books that I've read. "Layla" is another stand alone paranormal romance novel of Colleen Hoover. Yes, you've read it right paranormal and with a thriller element of course. CoHo really tried a different genre and I loved it so much, the bravery in going out from your comfort zone is just amazing and commendable. The protagonists of the story are Leeds, a bass player who desires to be a vocalist but lacks ambition, and Layla, a lady who believes in enjoying life to the fullest. The chemistry between them is evident from the onset, and he considers Layla to be the woman of his dreams. After their initial meeting, they immediately move in together and life seems beautiful, but their happy world is broken when Leed's jealous ex- girlfriend shows up. Layla barely makes it out alive and now suffers from panic attacks and memory lapses. He compensates excessively as a result of his guilt, and so their relationship suffers. He takes Layla back to Bed & Breakfast where they originally met, hoping to reignite and set their relationship back on track. But with her changes and the numerous inexplicable paranormal events in the house, he's at a loss for words. If ever I would picked my favorite points in the story it would be the following:

The idea of paranormal love story

As I've mentioned that it is a paranormal romance book and that had me hooked because CoHo's books are more into contemporary romance and having this kind of book excites me as to how she plays with story. I am fully aware that some scenes of the movie is purely fiction and will never happen in real life but I think that what makes it worthy to read. But as I go through with this post, I think this would be also the reason why the sparkle which I've felt in the start will soon get lost.

The beginning of their love story

Have you heard what other people say when someone just found herself/himself a girl/boyfriend? Those statements saying that it would just be amazing, book worthy, perfect and romantic in the first part, well their story fits with that idea. Leeds and Layla's first love story is amusing and sweet since they click immediately. When they first see one other, they try to know each other and the feelings that lie behind the surface. As what I've stated Leeds is very sure to be with Layla with the rest of his life and this is why he wants everything to workout amidst her indifferences along the story.

The bravery to know the truth

I am honestly hesitant if I like the lengths that Leeds (male lead) go through to know the truth about what happen to Willow (a soul but later found out it is Layla) and Layla (possessed by Sable, ex girlfriend of Leeds) but I admire his bravery to really know the truth even how scary and unreal the situation is. I only like that he has the courage to know what and why is this happening not the way he deals the situation most specially with the ending part. For real, if this happen to me I don't I'll be able to process all these events and if I am willing to kinda put my love one at risk.

Before you continue, there is is a massive spoiler ahead so please read at your own risk.

20220408_1843061.gif

FINAL THOUGHTS

I totally understand why some people are not into paranormal love story since it might showcase unethical and disturbing scenes and this book is no excuse. Leeds try to manipulate and gas light Layla. When Layla is asleep he would let Willow take over her body for them to have a proper conversation and to know what's happening. This did not only happen once but multiple times. Plus, to the point that Leeds is so invested to Willow that he has been thinking of her while they are having sex with Layla. That dude really fell hard for Willow so its like he has been emotionally cheating to Layla at this moment. In the last part, he found out that Willow is the real Layla and the physical existing Layla is Sable and so he needs to kill Layla's body for a couple of minutes by drowning so that she could go back to her body. None will argue that this is really unethical and inhumane but I guess that's what you get from reading fiction.
Second, I expected a lot jumpscares but it doesn't have much but it does give me shivers to my spine specially when he found out the truth. The thing that drives me to finish this book is I am obviously curious as to the relationship of the four characters Leeds, Layla, Sable and Willow especially after the incident and how this story ends. There are a lot of things that happened in the story so if you decided to read it please make sure to always bear in mind that its fiction because you might get really angry and agitated. Finally, if I am going to rate this book I'll probably give this 3.8- 4/ 5 so I'll just settle on 3.9/5 because story wise with regards of the genre is really interesting and gave me roller coaster ride kind of experience. If you are a fan of paranormal love story then this might be a great book for you. Thank you and ciao, book lovers!

Note: Every part of this mini series will be about on different novels by Colleen Hoover

dividers-04.png

MILLION THANKS FOR REACHING THIS FAR

dividers-04.png
Hello once again! Heads up hivers! Jenny Mauring here who lives in Mandaue, Cebu City Philippines, I am a self taught artist. I am a friend to some and strangers to many. I am a lady with light in her eyes, love in her bones and a sucker of artsy and creatives. Come and visit my blog @jmauring to check out my content. You can also connect with me through my Instagram account, that's @jmauring, Jenny Mauring in Facebook and YouTube Channel as well. Stay happy, healthy and crazy.

Sort:  

This is an interesting challenge and maybe someone would also join this challenge.

Yes, it is very challenging specially finishing the book within the day but thankfully these books are not too long or else this would be impossible.

Interesting, good story and detailed story line. Thank you.

Thank you too.

Thank you are welcome,