November 9 by Colleen Hoover | READING A BOOK EVERYDAY FOR 7 DAYS Day 2

in Hive Book Club2 years ago (edited)

png_20220406_193930_0000.png

Hello everybody. Welcome back to my mini series of Reading a Book Everyday for 7 Days. I literally made a mistake not posting my first entry in this community @HiveBookClub and this time of course I already learned my lesson so without a further ado dive in and I'll show you.

dividers-04.png

This post might contain some spoilers. READ AT YOUR OWN RISK.

Before anything else if you are curious and interested to my first entry of my mini series then you can check it out through this link https://hive.blog/book/@jmauring/confess-by-colleen-hoover-or-reading-a-book-everyday-for-7-days-part-1

20220406_1941562.gif

SECOND BOOK

In my previous post it was all about the book "Confess" and for the second day it will be about November 9. It has a pretty high rating in Goodreads, Target and Audible which is 4.3, 4.7 and 4.7 respectively. It is a stand alone contemporary novel of Colleen Hoover which two of the characters (Ben and Fallon) met in one day and continue to see each other every year on November 9. I picked this because just like the previous book I am intrigued by the title and the significance that the date holds for the rest of the story and the writing style of the author is pretty easy to understand. If ever I would picked favorite points in the story it would be the following:

The idea of Ben and Fallon meeting every November 9

They first met in a restaurant when Ben overheard the conversation between Fallon and her dad. Her dad said a lot of hurtful and mean words to her and this is where Ben decided to intervene and pretended to be her boyfriend. From there, they decided to meet each other every November 9. I just like the catch thou it might not be applicable in real life or it might be way over the top but still I am buying it. I feel like every book of Colleen has a catch and I am loving it.

We are more than just our bodies

Fallon has been badly scarred due to a house fire when she was still teenager and her acting career just started to bloom. Over the years, she have been dealing with his father sentiments and doubts on getting back on track in entertainment industry and becoming a broadway artist. She have been talking and explaining to him but of course he is immensely close minded. At this part, Fallon desires to be seen and starred by people like the kind of attention she got before the incident. She wanted people to look at her without a hint of disappointment and pity. For me, I realize that we people should see others more than just their bodies and physical apperance should not be the first thing we should seek whenever we are building relationship with others. Moreover, I know what happened to her is terrible but we should not say or act that will let them feel bad or worst of themselves.

Interesting Characters

Fallon is like the rest of us who is into books and drama like those book- worthy moments, alpha males and such which makes her a little relatable. As for Fallon, he is a writer and has a dark past which will be unfolded in the last pages of the book. I kinda love how the author relates these two characters including their families not just in the present times but also in their past lives. But never have I ever thought that the twist would also make me hate book.

Before you continue, there is is a massive spoiler ahead so please read at your own risk.

20220406_1940151.gif

FINAL THOUGHTS

As I pointed out the things that I love, I never thought that it would be also the reasons that I dislike this book. Because Fallon is into romance book so the book worthy moments, alpha males and such elements were clearly injected into into the books and for me it is way over the top. Some might consider it cute but I can't help but cringe sometimes. Again, this is just my personal opinion and this might not the same to your sentiments.

Moreover, as I almost reach the end of the book is also the moment that I wish I just stopped because it was then revealed that Ben was the one who caused fire in Fallon's house. He was so angry because he thought that Fallon's father is the reason why his mother committed suicide but later on it was found out that she had cancer and doesn't want to put her sons in too much burden. When Fallon new the details of the story of course she forgave Ben. I don't know if it just me but I despise this part a lot. My favorites just crumbled and I tried to think and use my logic over my emotions at this point. This book have some red flags like it all makes sense why Ben likes Fallon's scars so much to the point that his a little obssesed with it especially when he knew it was his fault. Plus, Ben already new Fallon the whole time because of course he is the culprit of the fire incident and knows exactly who the victim was because it was all over the news.

Maybe the author wanted me to realized that we should forgive the people who have sinned against us but being in a romantic relationship with them, it's just another story for me. I feel like if this happens to me I take this as a form of manipulation and guilt tripping but maybe I got lost in translation and the message which the author wanted to convey. Nevertheless, I am not saying that I hate the entirety of the book to be honest you will fall inlove within the 1- 80% of the book but when you read the remaining part, it will surely break or make the book. If ever I rate it I'll probably settle with 2 out 5 but it might be a 5 to you, we don't know. Ciao, book lovers!

Note: Every part of this mini series will be about on different novels by Colleen Hoover

dividers-04.png

MILLION THANKS FOR REACHING THIS FAR

dividers-04.png
Hello once again! Heads up hivers! Jenny Mauring here who lives in Mandaue, Cebu City Philippines, I am a self taught artist. I am a friend to some and strangers to many. I am a lady with light in her eyes, love in her bones and a sucker of artsy and creatives. Come and visit my blog @jmauring to check out my content. You can also connect with me through my Instagram account, that's @jmauring, Jenny Mauring in Facebook and YouTube Channel as well. Stay happy, healthy and crazy.

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Holleen Coover is a great writer, the first book I read by this author was Confess, I didn't expect much from it but the story caught me, shortly after I read Verity: the shadow of a deception, by Holleen, which I also got to review, I highly recommend it if you like this author and if you like to play with your mind!

Hello hello @nicxi CoHo is indeed an amazing author just like you Confess was the first book I read and it was my first book review in my mini series. I am currently reading Layla and planning to read Verity tomorrow. Thank you for the book reco. 💙