Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover | READING A BOOK EVERYDAY FOR 7 DAYS Day 7

in Hive Book Club2 years ago

20220414_143648_0000.jpg

Hello everybody. Hello @HiveBookClub and welcome to the last day of my mini series entitled Reading a Book Everyday for 7 Days. We are now finally at the end of this series. I am planning to do another one but it will more likely not focus on one author but maybe it would be somehow anchors in a theme such as feminism or self- help books. To be honest, I am torn between making another edition of this challenge or posting my reading journey of a single book in a month in this community. Nevertheless, these are just the thoughts that I am considering. I will schedule a post for tomorrow about this mini- series. It would be mainly about my experience as I go through this challenge so that it will formally seal this challenge. Anyway, if you are curious to the last book then, dive in and I'll show you.

dividers-04.png

This post contains some spoilers. READ AT YOUR OWN RISK.

Before anything else if you are curious and interested to my other entries of my mini series then you can check it out in my blog too.

20220414_1439051.gif

SEVENTH BOOK

Tate Collins doesn't think it's love at first sight when she met airline pilot Miles Archer. They wouldn't even call each other friends. The only thing that connects Tate and Miles is their strong attraction to each other. They recognize they have the best set up to suffice their wants. He doesn't desire love, and she doesn't have time for love, so sex is the only option. In short, they are FuBu (f*ck buddies). As long as Tate follows Miles' just two restrictions, their arrangement may be remarkably seamless. (1) Never ask anything about the past and (2) dont expect a future. As they go through to their agreement they realize that they can no longer abide the rules.

The 'little bit more' from Colleen is weaved within the chapters told from Miles' perspective in Ugly Love. The narrative is both high and low, cuttingly obvious, and the text appears strange, purposely and tellingly so. But, if we've been paying close enough attention, we won't fully 'understand' Colleen's goal until the very end of the novel. It's one of those instances when you catch yourself gasping, hands going to your mouth in an attempt to contain your surprise: the image is finally complete, with every dreadful piece in its proper position, and you didn't see it coming. If I am going to pick my favorite points in the story it would be the following:

20220414_1440202.gif

"Ugly love becomes you, consumes you"

Ugly love, is defined by "love which is ugly and this implies that lust goes beyond bliss and it is more present and active," is a story about love with no strings attached, more akin to being friends with benefits, and how they become brave in loving someone again. As I go through the story, there are a lot of moments where in I keep on kicking, screaming and yelling because their actions infuriates me. But I do love and agree to CoHo because it is true that lust in a relationship is harmful and destructive. It is a self-indulgent, self-centered, self- gratifying extreme sexual desire or appetite. It eats you slowly until you've realize that it already consumed you.

There set up maybe unconventional but still realistic. There are some people who are in that kind of relationship, they seem to be happy and contented to such agreement but mostly ending it and few put it on another level and found their genuine happiness with each other. They are seeking for fun and pleasure but with this story they are the two people who were able to give their relationship a shot and decided to be true to their feelings.

Finding courage to loving again

You know what they say, it isn't brave to love, it is brave to love again. It is true because it takes a lot of courage, bravery and trust someone new to not put you through the same circumstance before. Good news is that our heart heals. And what is more amazing is that love is also the cure from the pain and sufferings which were cause by love itself. It is just difficult to love again after having a failed relationship because loving again is a different thing. To once more let go, let someone explore the lengths and depths of your being and to allow someone the power to break you but still cling on the fact that you trust them to not to. It's like gambling but this time it would cost yourself.

I am happy that Miles was able to forgive himself from his past issues. Miles, I believe, had a stronger affection for Tate. Yes, it is true that his first love was Rachel. First loves have a distinct, passionate place in everyone's heart. Tate demonstrated that she was not going anywhere, no matter what Miles hurled at her or how cold he might be with her. This makes Miles trust to love again. She taught him that he should forgive himself and is worth it to love and be loved once more.

20220414_1441473.gif

FINAL THOUGHTS

As I stated above the things that greatly captures my heart sadly, there are also things that don't work for me. The moment I knew that there are going to be FuBu is also the time that I got discourage to finish the book. It's like the sparkle and fire which drives me from the start dimmed and darkened. Its like the only thing that made me finish the book is just to know the back story of the character and that's it. Its not the kind of reading journey where in I don't want to put my book down.

Maybe because when I was still a teenager I read a small handful with this kind of story line. The plot where they've met, become FuBu or friends with benefits, one of them fall in love, break the rules, moving character's back story is revealed and then they end up together. I ended up being so fed up with this flow consequently, I considered this as part of my story cliche's list.

Again, this only applies to me. I genuinely love CoHo and her works. I appreciates how she writes the characters and plot. I do hate to be part of the minority for this book but I need to be upfront for this post. If you are going to ask me if it's worth it then, I would still say yes because you are going to learn a lesson or two. But if you want to know if I classify it as the best book which I've read from CoHo then maybe not but I do recommend this to you guys and read it. Honestly, I told my friend to read this because I know that she'll like it and she loved and obssessed with it. This book might be your vibe. If I am going to rate this then, I'll probably going to give this a 2/5. I would also like to apologize if this offends to CoHo fanatics out there and for being disappointed about the rate. I guess this book isn't just my style. For those people who are curious about the detailed story, please do the read novel because it might be 5/5 to you. Ciao, book lovers!

Note: Every part of this mini series will be about on different novels by Colleen Hoover

dividers-04.png

MILLION THANKS FOR REACHING THIS FAR

dividers-04.png
Hello once again! Heads up hivers! Jenny Mauring here who lives in Mandaue, Cebu City Philippines, I am a self taught artist. I am a friend to some and strangers to many. I am a lady with light in her eyes, love in her bones and a sucker of artsy and creatives. Come and visit my blog @jmauring to check out my content. You can also connect with me through my Instagram account, that's @jmauring, Jenny Mauring in Facebook and YouTube Channel as well. Stay happy, healthy and crazy.

Sort:  

Congratulations @jmauring! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 600 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 700 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Interesting. I haven't read Colleen Hoover yet. I !LUV the raw and realistic book review. Being able to connect it to your personal views and situation is relatable. I agree that cliche stories similar to this plot line have populated novelettes and short stories for a long time already. Glad to see more young people who are into reading. Thanks for sharing. !PIZZA

I totally understand that some peoplee are into this kind of plot but I am just so exposed to it that I am looking for something more. But, it is still worth a try. Thank you so much for dropping by.

Yes, I agree. I personally have days when I favor reading action versus romance and vice-versa, but still open to anything actually. 😁

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@juanvegetarian(1/5) tipped @jmauring (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.