Verity by Colleen Hoover | READING A BOOK EVERYDAY FOR 7 DAYS Day 4

in Hive Book Club2 years ago

png_20220409_201515_0000.png

Hello everybody. Hello @HiveBookClub and welcome back to my mini series of Reading a Book Everyday for 7 Days. This post will be about on the 4th book and I am very excited to share this with you so without a further ado dive in and I'll show you.

dividers-04.png

This post might contain some spoilers. READ AT YOUR OWN RISK.

Before anything else if you are curious and interested to my other entries of my mini series then you can check it out in my blog too.

20220409_2017292.gif

FORTH BOOK

If you've read my previous post about this mini- series it was all about "Layla" by Colleen Hoover which is a paranormal romance novel. Todays book is comparable to preceding one in a sense that it will give chills and shiver to your body. "Verity" is a standalone romantic thriller novel. It is about when Lowen Ashleigh accepts the job opportunity of a lifetime because she is a struggling writer on the verge of bankruptcy. Lowen has been hired by bestselling novelist Verity Crawford's husband, Jeremy Crawford, to finish the remaining volumes in a lucrative series that his injured wife is unable to finish. Lowen comes at the Crawfords' house, ready to sift through years of Verity's notes and outlines in the hopes of finding enough to get her started. Lowen isn't expecting to find an unfinished autobiography in the tumultuous office, which Verity never intended for anybody to read. Page after page of horrific revelations, including Verity's narration of what happened the day her daughter died.

20220409_2019013.gif

If ever I would picked my favorite points in the story it would be the following:

Lowen is the reflection of us readers in knowing the truth

The moment you start reading this book, trust me you'll never want to put it down. You just wanted to finish and to know the truth and reasons behind all of the things that are happening. Similarly, Lowen is as curious as us towards the life of Verity, her life before the incident as a mother and wife. This makes it more interesting because its like the only tool that we have in unfolding the whole story is her plus, the whole story is told in her point of view.

The idea of book within a book

The way Lowen knew what happen to Verity's life is through reading an autobiographical manuscript that Verity kept from others. So, its like the character from the book is reading another book for us readers, because of this you'll also feel the same (some) emotions of Lowen. There are a lot of mind boogling revelations, triggering and disturbing scenes so please read this at your own risk.

Before you continue, there is is a massive spoiler ahead so please read at your own risk.

The twist

So when Lowen notices Verity moving on the webcam, he informs Jeremy. As Lowen enters, Jeremy races to face Verity, and Verity shifts and responds. Verity had been lying about her injuries, and Jeremy, in a fit of wrath, kills Verity with Lowen's approval. Then, she discovers a letter from Verity in the room, indicating that the autobiography was merely a writing exercise and should not be taken seriously. It then goes on to describe how Jeremy discovered the autobiography and attempted to murder her. She then tells about how he failed, but she fabricated her injuries to prevent him from trying again. She wanted to leave with her child and soon tell Jeremy where the letter is so that he will understand everything. This part totally spooked and made me question if the truth that I know in the first part is the absolute truth at all. It made me also doubt the character of Lowen and most specially when she agreed to kill Verity. It was so easy for her to get her moral thinking clouded and so it made me rethink, doubt everything and hope that there's another character who can give me another perspective since the whole story is presented in her POV. CoHo really made this book so messed up that you tend to become uncertain about what and who to believe. Nevertheless, I like the twist because it gives the whole story another flavor and it made me play with my mind

20220409_2023014.gif

FINAL THOUGHTS

The moment I started reading this, I never put the book not even once. I still read when I eat, drink or while using the toilet. I was just so invested and curious about what is going on and how is it going to end. I do not recommend reading this while you are eating since there might be scenes that would make you lose your apetite. Moreover, there are sensitive topics that may be triggering to some readers which includes child abuse, murder, graphic sex. If ever you are going to read it please bear in my mind that this is just fiction, and the elements of the story are just a product of imagination. Some might consider it as a terrible book but for me I do love it so much. I even consider it as my most favorite CoHo book so far. If I am going to rate it, then a 4.5/5 would be the mark. Again, this might be a 1 or 5 to you and to some. Happy reading. Ciao, book lovers!

Note: Every part of this mini series will be about on different novels by Colleen Hoover

dividers-04.png

MILLION THANKS FOR REACHING THIS FAR

dividers-04.png
Hello once again! Heads up hivers! Jenny Mauring here who lives in Mandaue, Cebu City Philippines, I am a self taught artist. I am a friend to some and strangers to many. I am a lady with light in her eyes, love in her bones and a sucker of artsy and creatives. Come and visit my blog @jmauring to check out my content. You can also connect with me through my Instagram account, that's @jmauring, Jenny Mauring in Facebook and YouTube Channel as well. Stay happy, healthy and crazy.