Poetry and Romance Favorites

in Hive Book Club3 years ago (edited)

20210326_055555_0-01.jpeg

Hello, Hivers!


As a bibliophile, it would be a sin if I will not join the fun. The community for the week is the Hive Book Club, where I get to answer any of the three questions:

      (1) If you were making a movie based on a book, what book would you choose and why?
      (2) Has a book ever transformed yourself and your life?
      (3) What is your most favorite book and why?

At a first read, I know that number 1 is not my cup of tea. I will always choose books over movies. As for number two, the first book that ever crossed my mind is the Bible and the next one is The Five People You Meet in Heaven by Mitch Albom. Funny when it crossed my mind, yet I forgot the five people the main character met. I have read this book ages ago, and I think I need to read it again before I could answer question number two. Some recap is necessary.

Therewith, I ended up question number three. Frankly speaking, this one is quite difficult. It is harder than Advanced Mathematics. Exaggerated, yes, but I hope you can feel the level of difficulty I experienced. As a bookworm, I have a list of favorites in a different genre. I read whatever I like as long as the synopsis intrigues me. Now, the question doesn't ask "What are your favorite books?" or "What are your top five favorite books?" and I had to squeeze my brain and think carefully about my most favorite book. It took me two days to start writing.

I checked my Favorites Shelf on my Goodreads account, and it didn't help me to choose one. However, it helped me come up with an idea to choose my favorite book per genre. Initially, I decided to have six genres that I typically read: Poetry, Romance, Mystery, Fantasy, Autobiography, and Science Fiction. Even when I have this idea, it is still hard to choose who excels the most. From six genres, it is now down to two: Poetry and Romance.


POETRY

The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo


IMG_20210326_183051_331-01.jpeg

When it comes to poetry, it will always be the classics. However, I can't choose one especially since classic poets are legends and irreplaceable. So I decided to choose a modern poetry book instead. I have two in my mind: milk and honey by Rupi Kaur and The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo. But my recent read, The Poet X, left a huge mark on me. It was such a great read with excellent audio by the author herself.

“I only know that learning to believe in the power of my own words has been the most freeing experience of my life. It has brought me the most light. And isn't that what a poem is? A lantern glowing in the dark.”
― Elizabeth Acevedo, The Poet X

The book talks about Xiomara who pours all her emotions through poetry. All her thoughts and frustrations are written in a notebook gifted by her twin brother. She has a love and hate relationship with her mother, who demands her to obey the church, but more of a hate relationship. She's suffocated, and her only breather is her poems. She thinks that obeying the church means that she needs to shut down her voice. Xiomara doesn't want to be seen but wants to be heard. Ironic

“I will never let anyone see my full heart and destroy it.”
― Elizabeth Acevedo, The Poet X

As a lover of poetry, The Poet X is a powerful and heart-wrenching story in a free-verse, non-rhyming poetry style. What makes this story intense is the role of the religion and her devoted mother who wants to fully control Xiomara's thoughts, actions, and words. Even when it's how nature works, it will end up to Xiomara's fault. It is relatable since all of us experience a teenager stage where emotions are heightened and the need for love, attention, and understanding is what we mostly seek; hence, to be heard and loved.

The unjust treatment of her mother and society makes Xiomara a warrior. This book shows that words can both destroy and heal you. It also tackles different kinds of love, forgiveness, courage, beliefs, and feminism.

I highly recommend this book and after reading it, go for the audiobook. It is more powerful and intense as the author reads her book. I must say poetry slam is her boxing arena.

Goodreads Synopsis



ROMANCE

Every Day by David Levithan


1998CAM_2021_03_26_18_56_47_FN-01.jpeg

“There will always be more questions. Every answer leads to more questions. The only way to survive is to let some of them go.”
― David Levithan, Every Day

Shutting off your feelings and emotions is one of the hardest things to do. But A managed somehow to do it since every day, A wakes up in a different body. Every day is a different life. There's no constant for A. As much as A doesn't want to cross paths with love, A wakes up to a body of a boy who has a girlfriend. Unexpectedly, A has grown an attachment to the girl and keeps coming every day to meet the girl in a different body.

“When first love ends, most people eventually know there will be more to come. They are not through with love. Love is not through with them. It will never be the same as the first, but it will be better in different ways.”
― David Levithan, Every Day

This book tells you that when you truly and deeply love a person, it is not because of her/his physical appearance or the material things that someone possessed. But rather, it is the soul of that person that makes you fall for it. The intention and the goodness he/she offers are what we should seek the most. After all, love is kind and unselfish.

If you have noticed, I didn't use a pronoun. I just use 'A' instead. The book didn't reveal the gender or sex of A. It's up to the reader what sex or gender you want for A, regardless, it does highlight freedom, trust, love, and acceptance.

Goodreads Synopsis


I hope I make it on time. I have read this four days ago, and it took me some time to start writing.

Hats off to the great minds behind this initiative.

That would be all guys! Thank you for reading. And if you have read any of these two books, let me know your thoughts.

All image are mine. I don't have a physical copy of The Poet X, so I used the e-book instead. As for Every Day, I left my book at home. And again, I used the e-book cover.



K N E E L Y R A C
InstagramTwitterGoodreads

Sort:  

@kneelyrac Hey, how's it going?

(1) If you were making a movie based on a book, what book would you choose and why?

Maybe Malazan book of the fallen. Because they didn't want to make it into films. It was too ambitious they said.

(2) Has a book ever transformed yourself and your life?

Yes, The Stranger by Albert Camus. :)

(3) What is your most favorite book and why?

Alos The Stranger by Camus. I was lost in existential crisis and Camus picked me up with his absurdist philosophy.

By the way, are you aware of the cine tribe yet?

Hello @notacinephile! It's been a while. I'm fine and busy. That's why I'm not that active here on Hive, although, I'm active in a microblogging platform since it doesn't require many brain cells. 😂 And you?

I haven't heard those three books you mentioned. Will check them on Goodreads. Your reading list intrigues me a lot. 😊

The same with the cine tribe, I haven't heard of it. What's that?

Your reading lists intrigues me a lot.

Thanks! I'm honored.

I've been writing regularly again. And about the same things I always did.

Cine tribe is for movies and tv shows. They have their own coin too, cine coin. So you earn both hive and cine coin from a post that is published with cine tag.

Check the official post here - https://www.cinetv.io/cine/@brofund/announcing-the-launch-of-cinetv

You've been inactive too? I haven't read your book reviews for a couple of months already. I'm trying to give Hive two-three hours of my time. I've been trying/starting to write for the past few weeks, but most of my write-ups are left hanging. Hmmm...

Ooohh, it sounds great! THere's a lot going on here on Hive and I've been missing out. Like really! Thank you for informing me. :) I will read the official post. This Cine Coin is like using palnet, neoxian, and creativecoin tags where you can earn their tokens on your Hive.Engine.

No no, I'm actually quite active. But I was inactive about 1.5 months ago. I'm writing more about films these days.

Yes, cine coin is available on Hive-engine and it is similar to those coins. I've invited you to their discord, do check when you're on there. :)

I heard that David Levithan books are good, but I was not able to read one. I am not really into romance genre that is why I did not care to read. Thank you for sharing, @kneelyrac! !wine


Congratulations, @juecoree You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINE With @kneelyrac.
You Earned 0.100 WINE As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 1/1 Successful Calls.

wine-greeting
Total Purchase : 24809.918 WINE & Last Price : 0.290 HIVE
HURRY UP & GET YOUR SPOT IN WINE INITIAL TOKEN OFFERING -ITO-


WINE Current Market Price : 0.273 HIVE

Oh... But if you decide to read a romance genre, try Every Day or A Lover's Dictionary. I only read a few, but I can say he writes really well.

When I can find some time, I try to check out the romance genre. Thanks for the suggestion.

Magsakit ako ulo ana basa2 ending ako basahin dayon.

!BEER

Mura ka ug akong amiga auntie. hehehe unahon niya basa ang ending. If ganahan siya, iya sugdan ug basa lang nuon. If dili, dili na daun niya ipadaun.

Oo ngana ko, kasamok samok haha

Posted using Dapplr


Hey @kneelyrac, here is a little bit of BEER from @olivia08 for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Congratulations @kneelyrac! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 27000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 28000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!