You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Books I Bought Online Because These were on Sale

in Hive Book Club • 2 years ago

The Intelligent Investor by Benjamin Graham is a book I wanna buy; It's quite pricey and still waiting for that miracle discount 😂. 12 rules of life should be an easy read for you and pretty interesting too, I had them as E-book but keep wanting to get the paperback version. My only problem when buying book is that though I have a list, sometimes I am tempted to get another one and going way over my book budget. Also is there a chance you'd ever review the one from Marshall Goldsmith I've seen it at the bookstore but not sure if that's worth it.

Sort:  

The Intelligent Investor by Benjamin Graham is a book I wanna buy; It's quite pricey and still waiting for that miracle discount

There's always the yarrggg~ way if you're not bothered with reading on screen too long. I have its soft copy but had a difficult time absorbing the concepts because it wasn't reader friendly for someone less familiar with stocks.

12 rules took some adjustment as I initially thought Jordan would write it in a matter of how he talks during his classes but this one had a lot of layers. I have the soft copies on some titles mentioned above and only read chapters 1-3 most of them until I decided to consider just buying a hard copy.

I am tempted to get another one and going way over my book budget.

Nice to know I'm not the only one having these types of problems. I sometimes make up excuses to overbuy books like if I buy this now, I'm buying time it takes to source the book at a later date which may or may no longer be available physically. If I buy this now, the money and time spent to read will prevent me from spending the same resources for other things that may just be depreciating assets like gadgets or excursions. There's always a mini economics behind every purchase I make.

Also is there a chance you'd ever review the one from Marshall Goldsmith I've seen it at the bookstore but not sure if that's worth it.

I finished the first two chapters of that one, it's the first book I read from the list above and so far it looks promising. It's a bit of self reflection (for the current chapters I read).

Thanks for stopping by~ :>

 2 years ago  

I definitely hate reading something that I take very seriously on screen. Like for example, I used to have the habit of printing whitepaper just to understand the projects and what they're all about. But now, to supplement my screen reading, I have a small notebook filled with summaries and important notes; I am pretty old school when it comes to that.

There's actually another good thing about overbuying. Apart from knowledge value, since book can be resold, it's actually a good investment. I did this in the past 😂. Although profit isn't really there but for old books I don't read anymore and those I don't really like {textbooks, some novels}, they gave me extra money to buy newer ones.

Looking forward to you making more book post!

I definitely hate reading something that I take very seriously on screen. Like for example, I used to have the habit of printing whitepaper just to understand the projects and what they're all about.

I wish I started a habit of printing instead of being happy with just screen reading. It's those papers used that gets me environmentally conscious then toss the papers aside once content is consumed.

There's actually another good thing about overbuying. Apart from knowledge value, since book can be resold, it's actually a good investment.

I have never sold my old books nor have I ever considered them as an investment. I'd probably slash down the price more than half if I did try it as that's the usual practice when I buy anything secondhand from peers.

I got side track with another book so finishing one from the list above will take a while. OwO