You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Reading in 2020: My Book Review

in Hive Book Club3 years ago

I really liked On Writing - there's some great tips in there. I loved Brave New World - always relevant! I couldn't get into the Gaiman one, though I found it in a free book library earlier in the year. I love his American Gods.

Sort:  

There's a lot of interesting information in those books about writing. At the moment, I'm on a dystopic/apocalyptic sci-fi book marathon and I always have a laugh at things these writers for to predict so accurately. Mythology is interesting, but not for everyone, however getting the references is nice. American Gods is awesome. I read that one last year too and Anasi's Boys as well.

What are your favourite dystopic/apocalyptic books? I'm a massive fan of them - there's nothing more engrossing for me! I think that's Mum's fault - she was always a fan too, and got me hooked as a young adult. I loved Anansi's Boys! I actually am not sure which one I liked best - probably American Gods was better realised. I don't like ALL Gaiman, but these two were great. I think I was just a bit tired of Norse gods - they've appeared in all kinds of ways in mythologies and fictions that I've read and I was finding anything particularly new or intriguing.

I'm not sure if I have a favorite book regarding that kind of subgenre. There's a lot of good and gruesome and thoughtful choices. When I finish with my list, I might be able to pick one, but I'm still halfway through. Gaiman has some cool books. The Graveyard Book was awesome. But I like more his work as a comic book writer. The Sandman is spectacular in that regard. And about gods, I think marvel has help Norse gods get a grasp on mainstream pop culture. However, I wanted to learn a bit more about them.