Homade pasta with bolognese sauce - Plant based

DSC_4513.jpg

As someone who grew up in Canada, I have discovered foods of the world. Much of the world lives here and gives us an introduction to many different cuisines. I tend to put Asian dishes at the top of my list because of the spice combinations and the aromatics that are often used, which are exciting to me. After a spree of these foods I need a rest to go into another direction. Sometimes I take it down for some good old fashion comfort food.

Growing up in a town with a large Italian community, exposed me to Italian food. After becoming a wedding singer in an Italian wedding band, I was often gorging on 8 course dinners at the weddings we performed at. Dinner and drinks were always included in the contract.

Though I consumed delicious Italian dishes, I did not ever learn to make pasta. We just thought pasta grew on trees.

In the past year or so, I've taken an interest in making my own pasta. I started with ravioli which was easy. Last year I decided to splurge on a pasta rolling device thingy. It was an impulse buy. I had a job at that time. After that I purchased a pasta hanger. Was it necessary? Probably not, but now I have it as a luxury, for the few times I make pasta.

Dough and I, don't get along very well. I like to have occasional wrestling matches with it. It usually ends up that I win, but it comes with a price. Injuries to the moral.

When I tell my partner I'm making pasta, his first words are always, "oh no!" He knows he'll hear me yelling things that wouldn't fly if I were around children.

Pasta Dough

1 cup all purpose flour
1 cup semolina flour
1 3/4 cups water or more
1 tsp salt
2 Tablespoons oil

DSC_4412.jpg

Because I started experimenting with pasta after I stopped consuming eggs, I don't really know what it's like to make an egg pasta. I would imagine it would be easier to mix. My go to recipe has simple ingredients. I have recently learned of semolina and prefer to add this to the mix.

DSC_4416.jpg

After mixing the flours and salt together, I place it on a mat, and make a well. I've seen tutorials on this. It seems to be the best way. Then slowly bring the flour into the centre gently combining everything.

I confess, after adding the water and the oil, it started to spill out over the edge. I poured too fast! This is when Marc knows things will be getting tense. I managed to save it from getting too far. No harm done. Phew!

DSC_4418.jpg

Most recipes call for much less water then flour, but after starting with the amount listed above, I end up sprinkling in more until I can form a smooth dough. This requires quite a bit of elbow grease and patience. If you can keep your cool, it's rewarding. Well perhaps it's just me that needs to keep my cool.

@fionasfavourites says it gets easier after a while. I may have to get a tutor by my side, and a referee on the other side.

DSC_4457.jpg

After it becomes smooth, cover and let it sit for a half hour or so. Cut into pieces. I randomly chose four. Roll each out as flat as possible. If I didn't have a pasta roller I would keep rolling until it was thinner.

DSC_4461.jpg

With the roller set on the widest setting, I feed it through making sure it's floured or it can get caught. Then I make the setting smaller and feed it through until I get the thinnest possible. I have 3 settings.

The roller part is when I escalate more so, into a hot head. The struggle as I crank this thing makes me want to throw something but don't worry, I don't.

DSC_4463.jpg

I have a fettucini and spaghetti cutter but it was time to try a wider pasta.

Name that pasta!

I cut it into wide strips trying to keep it around an inch wide but I'll just say it's rustic because of the imperfection. I'm not sure if this could have an official name. Could it be classified as tagliatelli or perhaps paperadelle or Carolyn's weird pasta shape?

DSC_4468.jpg

I don't think small amounts of pasta require a hanger, but since it's there I can pretend I am one of those real pasta makers.

DSC_4477.jpg

I could easily just coat them with flour to keep it from sticking.

DSC_4479.jpg

Now for the sauce.

I was given a large package of vegan mince from Marc's mother at Christmas time. She thinks that if you don't eat meat, you eat nothing but fake meat. We do sometimes, but not all the time. She had purchased lots of different kinds and gave it to us to take home.

I put it in the freezer for a while. I thought I should finally use the mince for making the pasta sauce. It's been a while since I've made a plant based version of Bolognese. I usually use lentils and walnuts, which works very well. The mince helped it though. It was pretty close to the real deal, from what I recall. It's been a long time since I had real meat.

I already had a tomato sauce that had been made and put in the freezer. I like to have in on hand. It's just a blend of tomatoes, carrot, celery, onion and garlic cooked seasoned with salt then blended. I add other seasonings, later depending on what I use it for.

DSC_4424.jpg

Bolognese Sauce

300 grams vegan mince
200 grams chopped onion
50 grams chopped celery
50 grams chopped carrot
90 grams garlic
500 grams chopped tomatoes, or sauce (I used a homemade sauce)
1 cup plant milk or cream
1 teaspoon black pepper
1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1 teaspoon oregano
1/8 teaspoon nutmeg
Salt to taste

DSC_4433.jpg

After cooking the onions in the pot, add the celery, carrots, garlic.seasonings and the vegan mince. Cook for a while stirring until browned.

DSC_4440.jpg

Add the tomato sauce and simmer until thicker.

DSC_4448.jpg

Stir in milk or cream. I decided to use milk although the thickness of the non vegan sauce would come from the cheese I would imagine. This sauce was still thick.

DSC_4454.jpg

There are many different variations of this sauce. They don't vary that much though. Most of them call for Pancetta or Italian sausage, wine and different seasonings. I chose to put nutmeg in this. I am usually not a huge fan of nutmeg unless it's put where it belongs. It is something that I used to put in Alfredo sauce which to me is appropriate.

My partner's mother made a bean salad with nutmeg in it. We had to force ourselves to eat it, and say, "hmmmmm it's good. She puts it everywhere and it's the only spice she uses other than pepper and occasionally paprika. She has a weird obsession with nutmeg

After the sauce was cooked, I boiled the water for the pasta which was well salted. After it boiled I added it and turned it down a bit to cook for another 10 minutes. I didn't really time it. I just started checking it after 5 minutes and kept cooking it until it was tender but not mushy. It took longer then fresh spaghetti because of the width.

DSC_4492.jpg

I plated it by putting a ladle of sauce on the bottom, adding the noodles on top then adding more sauce on top.

DSC_4508.jpg

A vegan Ceasar salad would have to accompany.

DSC_4514.jpg

My old Italian friends would be appalled that this didn't have cheese on it.

DSC_4520.jpg

I could have used vegan parmesan which I often do but I really didn't feel like it. The sauce was tasty enough as is.

DSC_4521.jpg

If I would have had fresh basil I would have added that, but I didn't want to run to the store. It's ugly out there. I used what I had in the fridge and cupboards.

A little fresh parsley and some crushed chilies, sealed the deal for me.

DSC_4522.jpg

Thanks for stopping by and have a great day.

Photos taken with Nikon D7500 and edited in Photoshop

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters

Sort:  

I love this, but first:

a pasta hanger. Was it necessary? Probably not

The Husband laboriously made me a wooden one: it's now a dust trap. I never use it!

I do make an egg pasta, but I'm not sure it's necessarily easier because either way, the secret is to get the gluten working - much like for bread. I admit, though, that I start my process mechanically, not by hand which is how I finish it off. I also admit to being a bit of a cheapskate and only using an all purpose flour.

My pasta machine has 5 settings and I used to run my pasta through the 5th, twice. I don't do that now. Like the hanger, the cutter attachment is left in the cupboard and after the sheets have dried a bit, I flour them, roll them and then cut by hand.... and then leave the pasta pile to its own devices until I'm ready to cook it.

I'm interested that your pasta took 10 minutes to boil. Perhaps that's without the egg. Mine, I add to the salted water at a rolling boil and when it returns to the boil, it's ready. I might have to try egg free to see how that works.

Your bolognese sauce looks divine. Another interesting thing for me: the addition of cream (or cheese). I've never done that and actually, don't remember seeing that in a recipe. Now I'm on the look out. Also, I tend to keep my other additions simple: garlic and oreganum.

Thank you for tagging me - now I'll be on another mission! lol

PS - how was the frustration level?

Haha the frustration level was 6 out of 10 because of spillage at the beginning. Cutting by hand helped bring it down because that darn spaghetti cutter is a pain you know where. I do like the results though.

Also the bolognese I used to make in the past didn't have milk but I've noticed quite a few recipes that called for it and as crazy as it sounds, I found it somewhat familiar along with the addition of nutmeg. I have had all kinds of sauces made by Italians claiming that their's is the one.

I usually cook the thin pasta for only a few minutes or so but these were taking longer and they were still al dente. I think it's the egg free thing.

I'll experiment with only flour and see how that goes. Thanks for the support!

I love homemade pasta! It is a much more filling pasta than any store-bought in the world. :) I have a rack too and rarely use it, but both of my daughters use it. I use cream in the bolognaise and have never done it without. It does make a rich, delicious suace.

It is my favorite.

Yours looks delicious and it would be interesting to try the vegan version of it. I do find that many dishes I really like in vegan mode. :)

I do love your food posts!

Hello there seafarer! I put milk in this for the first time and really feel that it's familiar to me. I was just told by @hotspotitaly that it's best with bechamal so I'll try that next time for even more authenticity.

The vegan version didn't seem vegan to me, but I haven't had real meat in a very long time. I guess it doesn't have as much meat fat in it which I suppose would add to the appeal but I loved it.

Hope your having the best time ever enjoying the sun and the waves...if you're still on the large luxury vessel!!!!

I am! I will be home at the end of February, By then, I'll be done with traveling forca moment orvtwo.! Not. I love the vibe and all seems well with the world.

Bechamel! Yes!! You will never do without it! ❤️

Great work! That looks very tasty. I made a Bolognese last week although didn't do any home made pasta. I am thinking to try to do a lasagne though as I haven't done it before.

I make pasta for therapy haha. It is also rewarding. Will you give it a try?

Im not sure yet, but might do.

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you very much!!!

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Thank you very much!!!!

You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

Thank you for your support!

image.png


Has sido curado por @visualblock / You've been curated by @visualblock
Bienvenidas delegaciones / Delegations welcome
Encuentra nuestra comunidad aquí / Find our community here
Trail de Curación / Curation Trail

Thank you!

This a perfectly done recipe I never made Bolognese sauce but one day I will try it, after reading and seeing your photos of the recipe. well done friend a hug💓😊

Thank you my friend. I think you would make a wonderful sauce.😊❤️

I really love pasta,but I've never tried to make it myself,I really like your recipe so perfect and clear,thank you so much for sharing

I really appreciate your comment. I make pasta for therapy haha. I like packaged pasta as well. Thank you so much!

As the one who only makes pasta that sells at the market so I just bought it or sometime my family members make it, so well I never try making it before, I am so excited this pasta is great! Having an Italian friends would be a bless!

Yes it's very rewarding to make it. You should try. It's different then the one from the store, but I like that too. Thank you so much!

That looks so delicious I could definitely eat that right now thanks for sharing 👍🏾

I wish I could share some with you. Thank you too!

I wish you could to 🤝🏾

A funny thing, I added a hanger pasta into my online shopping basket,but still not yet do payment 🤣🤭

You Made beautiful pasta from Semolina flour. For the sauce, I prefer to use spicy Chili sauce, because me and my family hate bolognase sauce which is dominated with tomato sauce taste

Yes I guess you get used to certain foods. I really love anything tomato. I actually like almost everything haha.

Honestly I wish I didn't bother with the hanger. It's kind of more work in a way but it's nice to have for fun.

Thank you so much.😊

I recently cooked some pasta but never tried preparing the pasta itself. I should try it one day!

The ingredients are so easy to gather and at the end it feels like a real accomplishment. I hope you try it. Store bought pasta is good too in my opinion.😊

Homemade pasta is just delicious and you surely rock at making it!
Beautiful as always... :)

You're too kind. I really need tons more practice before I can do it without losing my head haha. Thank you !

I can feel you... I've rarely made pasta and lost my mind too, haha. I admire your patience!

Nice pictures and post! My grandma was Italian and I remember that when I was a kid there was pasta drying everywhere in her house. But I always think that making pasta from scratch is so much work!! Congrats! The result looks amazing and delicious!

Yes it's quite a bit of work but if you do a small amount it's worth it and is rewarding. I can imagine the image of pasta drying everywhere. It makes me want to do that now haha.

Thank you so much.

hahahahah that was funny! My grandma put some old bed sheets with flour on tables, on the washing machine, everywhere she could and then put the pasta to rest and dry! I guess your pasta drier hanger is more practical haha

it didn't come bad but you have to use the béchamel not the cream, anyway you managed well!!🙃

Okay I appreciate your tip! Thank you!