Homemade orichiette and rapini

DSC_8543.jpg

The time has come, that I must take a trip to Italy. I can only travel through food these days.

I am making a particular pasta shape for the first time. This is called Orecchiette. It took this dough brain of mine a while to figure out why it has this name.

In Italian the word for ear is orecchio. In French it's l' oreille. In German it's Ohr. In Spanish it's oreja. There are four examples of the word ear in different languages that sound similar.

Why am I harping on about the word ear? Because these pasta shapes look like ears!

I've been noticing this pasta shape more and more. I wanted to make them myself. These shapes are commonly egg free, not that it matters to me. I would do egg free anyway, since I don't eat eggs.

The first part of this is easy peasy, as they say.



Orecchiette

300g Semolina flour (durum wheat)
175g warm water

1.jpg
I decided to make it even easier by mixing the dough in the food processor. I usually do it all by hand for good therapy. Since I was doing this shape for the first time, I cut fast to the part of shaping.

2.jpg
The water should be hot, but not so hot that you burn your mouth if you drink it. Add it into the machine with the flour and mix it on lowest until it comes away from the sides.

3.jpg

Take it out, form a ball and start kneading.

4.jpg
When kneading fold and push, then turn to the side and keep repeating.

5.jpg
I just keep kneading until it feels nice and smooth.

6.jpg

Cover and rest for 20 minutes or so.

7.jpg

I just used a bowl to cover it.

8.jpg

After it's rested take it and cut a piece off, then cover the rest.

9.jpg

Roll it out long and cut it into little squares.

10.jpg
Take a serrated table knife, and press the piece rolling it towards you.

ezgif.com-optimize (6).gif
Turn it inside out and make a little cap with it. I made the pieces far bigger then I intended so next time, I'll cut the squares smaller.

ezgif.com-video-to-gif (5).gif



When the pasta is complete, set aside on a tray and start the rapini. I chose rapini also known as broccoli rabe.

As much as it looks like broccolini, broccoli, and Chinese broccoli, it is more related to the turnip. It has a slight bitter taste. It's not that bitter. I find the bitterness appealing but there would be some that wouldn't ever eat it.

I know people that will not, and have not, eaten any vegetables at all. If they were to eat this bitter leafy green, we would have to call an exorcist. It would be like throwing garlic juice on a vampire. They would melt like the wicked witch of the west. You get what I'm trying to say right? Do you know one of those people?

DSC_8094.jpg

I chopped the ends in smaller pieces then the softer leafy parts.

DSC_8086.jpg

I wanted to cook the stems a little bit longer then leaves, to keep the green colour.

DSC_8104.jpg

I separated the stems and the leaves so I could blanch them starting with the stems.

DSC_8103.jpg

After bringing a large pot of water to a rolling boil, I first added the stems. After around 10 seconds, I added the leaves and stirred for another 20 seconds or so. They were removed and cooled in cold water then drained.

I would be adding them to the other ingredients, after when the pasta was nearly cooked.

DSC_8183.jpg

Rapini for pasta

500g rapini
180g onion
20g garlic
25g vegan butter or oil
150g plant milk (I use soy)
200g vegetable broth
30g flour
Juice of half lemon
zest of 1 lemon
2g fresh dill
1 tsp thyme
1 tsp black pepper
1 tsp chili flakes
1/4 cup wine (optional)
Salt to taste

DSC_8109.jpg

I started the first part of the sauce in a sauce pan. I only did this because my big burners don't work and I don't want to complain to the caretaker.

DSC_8299.jpg

After melting the butter in the pot on medium, I added the onions, then the garlic and some white wine.

Then I added the flour by sprinkling it evenly to not create lumps.

DSC_8300.jpg

After mixing the flour in, I added the milk little by little while stirring and letting it thicken.

DSC_8310.jpg

I added the broth afterwards, not for any reason in this order. I just did it that way. I suppose I could have mixed the liquids together and it would have been the same.

DSC_8318.jpg
After the sauce was complete, I boiled the pasta. I added a very generous amount of salt.

These were larger than I wanted so I wasn't sure how long to keep them in. I just tested them after every few minutes until they were to my liking.

DSC_8482.jpg

At the end of cooking the pasta, I add the blanched rapini and heat everything.

DSC_8484.jpg
After draining the pasta I added it to the rapini mixture and gently mixed together.

DSC_8488.jpg

I made a vegan parmesan to sprinkle on. It was a quick mix of ground almonds, nutritional yeast, a small pinch of citric acid and salt.

DSC_8495.jpg

I don't always consume heavily spiced food but for me, a pasta dish is incomplete without chili flakes added to the top.

DSC_8546.jpg

DSC_8519.jpg

This was a fun thing to make and I didn't even get out my pasta machine. I really enjoyed eating pasta ears.

DSC_8544.jpg

Thanks for stopping by and have a great day.

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters

Sort:  


~~~ embed:1632877571980292097 twitter metadata:MTU4OTY2MTE4NjAzMDgxMzE4NXx8aHR0cHM6Ly90d2l0dGVyLmNvbS8xNTg5NjYxMTg2MDMwODEzMTg1L3N0YXR1cy8xNjMyODc3NTcxOTgwMjkyMDk3fA== ~~~
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @belkyscabrera, @hive-173296 ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Thank you very much!

ohh i'm glad you are showing your face more haha that way we can know you better! that looks really yummuy!

Thank you so much. I don't like to show my face at my age, but I think it makes things more personal and it's a good idea to do this sometimes for the reason you said.
To get to know one another better. 😊

That way you also work on self acceptance, i did a couple of self portrait series to get to know me myself better, i had some insecurities i didnt liked but we learn to accept it as we are

Wow it's really a long process but I might try it out one day,I love to try different foods too,I hope you will teach us more🥰🥰🥰,food is life🥰

It may seem long but in reality, it's super easy. I hope you try and thanks so much!!!!

Homemade orichiette and rapini is very healthy and nutritious food. Your recipe is very delicious. I hope it will be so tasty definitely. I love this dish. You have made perfectly. Thanks a lot friend.

Oh thank you very much my friend! Your comment is very nice and appreciated.

Hi, @carolynstahl 💕 They do look like ears! I love making pasta, but I've never made--or eaten--orichiette; they look perfect for scooping up a lot of sauce in a bite. What a delight! Thanks for your recipe of Parmesan, too; useful tip. Buon apetito!

I have never made these before this. I'm seeing them in stores more and more. It's pretty easy and yes the scooping is perfect with these. grazie mille!

The pasta ears made my mouth water, this dish looks exquisite and with a perfect balance! Your comment about vampires made me laugh, haha, thanks for making me smile. It hadn't occurred to me to make vegan Parmesan cheese with almonds, it must have a very tasty and delicate flavor.
I say goodbye leaving you a big hug, I hope you have a beautiful Sunday. @carolynstahl

You are very kind and much appreciated. I'm happy that I made you laugh. The vegan cheese is a good substitute but if you eat real cheese you would probably like that better haha.

Have a superb day and hugs to you to.

You look awesome with cooking knife in your hand! Very yummy recipe but I would never be able to cook like this! 🙀😂🐈🐈

This was much easier than it looks. I just made it more step by step for someone who wants to try. If I'm not doing a post I can go three times faster and not write down measurements.

Thank you so much for your nice comment!

Wow! Three times faster! That’s too fast for me! 🙀😂

Oot, you look happy and content while cooking! seeing your way of making good dough and plating. I really admire you in this regard :)

Aww thank you for your nice comment. I'm just a joker haha.

Pictures look so perfect! That meal woukd fit with my gym diet

Oh thank you for the compliment. Yes it's full of carbs and veggies, so you could get a good workout after this.

You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

Thank you very much for your support!

Hi @carolystah ma'am .❤

This recipe is also looks very tasty. . And I can learn a lot from your posting . I am learning from you how to serve food beautifully. I will try for that. thank you very much . have a good day.

Hello @nishani9 dear. I thank you much for your compliment. I learn from you as well!😊

Hello @carolynstahl let me start by saying a great recipe since I am still making up my mind that should thank you first for the great recipe, sharing your cooking tips or refreshing my Italian , French, Spanish & German all at once or taking me step by step through making such a mouth watering dish.
Though I am quite sure that your post can reach a lot more people if you were to use Leo threads.

Do you know that by posting the link of this recipe on Leo threads here https://alpha.leofinance.io/threads
you can reach out to so many more people who would surely appreciate your wonderful recipe and benefit from it too.
In case you need help in creating a thread then I have a handy guide for you here
I continue to discover so many interesting people on leo threads you too can find like minded people interested in Plant Power Vegan food if you were to include tags like #vegan #food #foodie while creating a thread.
Do let me know if I can be of any assistance in helping you create your first thread and reach out to many more new friends.

Oh wow, check this out @carolynstahl :D

You should definitely try out Threads!