Nasu dengaku: the ninja way to elevate an eggplant to the next level

miso glazed eggplant 1.jpg

Those who follow me here at Hive know that I am an eggplant enthusiast. To be honest, I can't understand how some people don't like this vegetable! Ok, I know that eggplant does have its share of bitterness. But this doesn't mean that it can't become a joker ingredient that brings a lot of flavor to dishes.

As an eggplant fan, I use eggplant in many different preparations. However, I must say that among all the recipes I have tried, nothing compares to miso-glazed eggplant, or simply nasu dengaku, as they say in Japan. Very common in some Japanese restaurants, this eggplant is so delicious and fantastic that I am sure even those who don't like it will be surprised. So my friend, give eggplant a second chance and try this recipe. I bet you will repeat the dish and completely change your opinion about its bitterness.

Let's get to the kitchen?

Ingredients (2 persons)

miso glazed eggplant 2.jpg

Like most oriental dishes, this eggplant is very easy to make and does not require much cooking time. Therefore, it's ideal for that dinner that needs to be done quickly, or even for lunch when you're running late.

To make your miso-glazed eggplant you will need

2 eggplants
4 tablespoons of toasted sesame oil
scallion
1 tbsp. miso paste
1 Tbsp soy sauce
1/2 Tbsp rice vinegar
2 tablespoons sugar

If you want, you can replace the rice vinegar with sake, but since I didn't have sake at home, I went with vinegar which also imparts acidity. But don't worry, it's delicious just the same.

In oriental cooking, they don't use olive oil, but if you don't have toasted sesame oil, you can substitute it for olive oil when frying the eggplant.

Directions

Preparing this eggplant is very, very easy! Start by heating up a frying pan. We will need it very hot so that the eggplant cooks and at the same time gets that smoked flavor.

While the skillet is heating up, cut the eggplants in half and then make diagonal cuts. These cuts serve so that the sauce we are going to prepare is completely absorbed by the eggplant, giving it an incredible flavor.

miso glazed eggplant 3.jpg

If I were to prepare this eggplant only fried in the frying pan, at this stage I would add salt to remove some of its bitterness. However, here, since the soy sauce already has a lot of salt in it, we are just going to pass on toasted sesame oil.

After properly cutting the eggplants, it's time to prepare a little sauce. Combine in a pan the soy sauce, miso, sugar, and vinegar and mix it on lower heat. The idea here is to get a very thick sauce to spread over the eggplant.

miso glazed eggplant 5.jpg

Now it's time to fry the eggplant. Put a little more sesame oil in the frying pan and put the eggplant upside down. After 3 minutes turn them upside down. Turn them in again and brush them with the sauce. Cover the pan with a lid.

miso glazed eggplant 6.jpg

You will see that the sauce will caramelize quite a bit forming a sort of glazed film.

miso glazed eggplant 7.jpg

Some people do this final step in the oven, i.e. take the pan out and put it back in the preheated oven. I don't have an oven, and I think that the pan, as long as it is very hot, does the same job.

To serve, sprinkle with lots of chives! Wow, it's mouth-watering! You can serve this eggplant with rice and it's a super meal, it doesn't even look like it was made that fast!

miso glazed eggplant 8.jpg

This eggplant is simply sensational and this recipe is worth trying!

Hope you enjoyed it and see you next time!

chef's tips (2).jpg

Sort:  

Your recipe is very yummy. Your eggplant recipe will be so alluring and delicious. Many thanks for sharing.friend.

thank you for your comment @simaroy! try this at home!

wow this is perfect, I am also an eggplant lover.
Nice preparation I have to make this!

thank you @nurfay! don't miss this recipe! It's really amazing

Good night @helgalubevi

You always make super tasty recipes, incredible posts, but once again, we reiterate that you must appear in photos making your recipes. If you observe the community rules, in number 5 we require a minimum of three photos of this type, that is, you doing the preparation processes. Keep this rule in mind and abide by it in your future posts in this community. Greetings.

Thank you guys! I don't have a tripod, so it's kind of complicated to take pictures of myself while cooking and I live alone, so I don't have anyone to take them for me. I would like to understand what is the point of this rule since the proposal of this community is to share vegan recipes... To be honest, as an introvert I don't feel comfortable with this at all.

This looks like a great dish, eggplant is my favorite and in this case it looks really tasty.

Thank you @semerekha! I'm a big fan of eggplant too!

Me also little and I have plant of eggplant.

I love eggplant done right and I think you've nailed it yum!!!! I almost bought miso today and didn't. I did buy eggplant though. I will have to figure out how to use this joker. Nice tip on the crisscross knife slits!😊

Your dish looks delish!!!

Hope you can make it!! Well I was thinking here what kind of ingredient you could put instead of miso paste. Maybe if you joing some water, soya sauce and corn starch you can make a thick paste and put on the eggplant. After join the sugar and vinegar. I guess it can give taste and some of the glaze effect...

I could totally do that and it would be delicious. Or I could get off my lazy ass and go down the street to the store and get some miso. I like to have it in the fridge at all times. I guess you feel the same.

My eggplant sits in the fridge and awaits!😊

https://leofinance.io/threads/view/saggi07/re-leothreads-slsugcga
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( saggi07 ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

Congratulations @helgalubevi! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 70000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 71000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - May 15, 2023
The Hive Gamification Proposal