Shimeji and vegan feta crackle

in Plant Power (Vegan)last year (edited)

Shimeji and vegan feta crackle

I’ve been experimenting with vegan cheese for a few months now, and it’s been quite a journey - I must’ve read a thousand recipes and watched a hundred videos on YouTube. I’ve added ingredients, taken ingredients out and made a ton of cheese, some of them better than others. I’ve got two recipes now that I’m happy with, one is for vegan feta cheese, which I’m going to share with you today, and the other is for cheese sauce, which makes a mean vegan macaroni and cheese that I’ll share in the next recipe I post.

I wanted to make a light crunchy snack using my newly minted feta, so I decided to use a stem of exotic mushrooms ( that I couldn’t resist buying), red onions and phyllo pastry to make a party snack that looks and tastes as if it were made with cheese. The feta is a no-cook variety that I’ve developed and it doesn’t taste half bad at all - I’m super pleased with the result, actually. Of course, this feta can be used as a substitute for dairy feta in any recipe you choose, even in salads and over pasta.

Ingredients

Vegan Feta

200g of firm tofu
3 teaspoons of salt
¾ cup vegetable oil
Level tablespoon of garlic powder
Level tablespoon of onion powder
1 teaspoon thyme
1 teaspoon oregano
½ tablespoon chili flakes
4 tablespoons apple cider vinegar
3 tablespoons lemon juice
Freshly ground black pepper to taste
1 tablespoon of marmite ( or nutritional yeast)
2 ½ tablespoons of olive brine
1 cup of water

Exotic mushroom crackle

8 layers of phyllo pastry
200 g of Shimeji mushrooms
3 baby red onions
1 teaspoon 🧄 garlicpowder
½ teaspoon 🌶 chilli flakes
4 tablespoons of vegan margarine
Salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste
Vegetable oil for sautéing

Method

Vegan Feta

Melt the marmite in 1 cup of water, reserve. Add the oil, lemon juice and vinegar to a container that has a lid you can seal. Add the onion powder, garlic powder, salt, pepper, chilli 🌶 flakes, olive brine, thyme and oregano to the container and blend with a fork. Add the marmite water and stir.

Press the tofu under something heavy in a colander. Leave for half an hour so that the water drains off the tofu. Cut the tofu up into cubes once it’s drained and add to the marinade. Seal the container and leave at room temperature to infuse for around two hours.

Shimeji filling

Wash and break up the stem of mushrooms, cutting off the hard edge that holds the mushrooms as a group. Divide the mushrooms. Slice the baby red onions into quarters. Sauté the mushrooms and onions in a little vegetable oil with garlic powder, Black pepper and a sprinkling of chilli flakes for around 5 minutes until just browned.

Phyllo pastry

Unfurl the phyllo pastry and separate the layers. Cover the pastry with a clean dishcloth while you work so that it doesn’t dry out. Melt 4 tablespoons of margarine in a saucepan and using a pastry brush, brush each layer in a stack with the margarine.

Grease a mini muffin tin (I use silicone). Cut the pastry using a pizza wheel into squares. Line the muffin tin with the squares. Spoon a little of the mushroom mixture onto each square. Top with a piece of feta from the container and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Cover each “cup” with a piece of the phyllo stack. Brush the top with the leftover cooking oil from the mushroom pan. Bake in a medium-hot oven (180 degrees Celsius) for 15- 18 minutes until nicely browned and super crunchy.

img_3927.png

All images shot by me using my iPad
Recipe developed by me

Sort:  

Seriously, just book me into chez- Stylish when I come out to SA again one day hahaha... your food is outrageously gorgeous and tempting... oh my gosh... you're amazing! I can already taste all the flavours!
!LUV !PIZZA !LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@samsmith1971, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @itsostylish and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/2 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Thank you @samsmith1971. 🤗❤️🥰💕There’s a placemat at my table for you 🥂

Here is your Proof of Brian. I think you meant #ProofOfBrain
Brian
Source

Oh, hahaaaa Brian looks so clever ❤️💕😘😘😘

Wow these seem AMAZING!!! CLEVER use of olive brine... I never thought of that one! Will have to try.

Oh, my, I’ve seen so many tips and tricks, my head is spinning - fermented bean curd being one, miso paste another. The list goes on and on. But the olive brine (which more than a few recipes called for) really adds an “authentic” taste in my opinion, anyway. I’d love to know what you think if you make this, you’ve got tons of experience. It would be very interesting 🤨

I've bookmarked it to give it a go, but I don't eat a lot of cheese anyway, so I just have ordinary cheese from a local dairy that seems ethical enough for me and I don't have any dietary requirements so - melty melty melty for moi!

Sadly, I’m a cheese addict, too. Free range is fine, I think, but making 100% non-dairy is very interesting.

Oh yeah me too!!!!!!!!!!

YUM! This looks delicious, and as always, your presentation is lovely and creative 😍

I'll have to try this vegan feta recipe sometime, it looks very nice! My gripe with vegan cheese is the consistency, but it appears you have no issue there! Brilliant 💕🤗

And anything with phyllo dough- count me in!! Thank you for sharing this with us 😘

Thanks @grindan. I think this “cheese” turned out. Try it and let me know what you think 🤔 💭

You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Thank you 😘❤️💕 🌿 🪴 🌱 🌸 🌺 🌹

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@samsmith1971(1/15) tipped @itsostylish (x1)

Send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!