Easy Korean Tteokbokki with Tofu and Kimchi

in Plant Power (Vegan)last year (edited)

17th December 2022

Hey there Vegans! Have you heard about Dukboggi/Tteokbokki? I only saw this food in Korean TV series way back when I was still in the Philippines, and I was too curious about its taste. When I finally tasted it, I kind've like it as I was like eating some glutinous rice cake. I'm a fan of any kind of rice cake.

IMG_20221217_123751.jpg

Tteokbokki (떡볶이) is a popular Korean rice cake recipe made from Garae-tteok (가래떡), it's a long rice cake noodles cut into cylindrical shapes like shown in the photo below. I'm seeing some thin and flat-shaped Garae-tteok too in supermarkets. Tteok, by the way, is a Korean term for rice cake.

Originally, Tteokbokki is cooked with a chili sauce but there are a lot of recipes nowadays with different varieties of flavors and ingredients. I, myself, have created my own Tteokbokki recipe. This is so easy to cook and it doesn't require long hours to prepare as well. So usually, when I don't have enough time to cook more decent food, or when too busy at work, I would simply take out Garae-tteok from the fridge and stir-fry it with some vegetables, then season it with anything I have in the pantry. My favorite vegetable to mix with Garae-tteok is sponge gourd cooked in chicken broth. That's an easy and yummy recipe.

So today, I'll share with you this Easy Korean Tteokbokki with Kimchi and Tofu Recipe.

You can choose any ingredients and seasonings you want for your Tteokbokki recipe. Since I'm not a fan of too spicy flavors, I choose kimchi. Some might say kimchi is spicy, but for me, it's not. Or probably depends on the brand? Not sure either. The spiciness of kimchi is bearable. It just has a not-so-appealing smell, but I like it as an accompaniment for noodles, fried foods, or mixed in cooking some dishes.

IMG_20221217_124427.jpg

Other Ingredients for this recipe include shimeji mushrooms (hey ya @anggreklestari, I was referring to this mushroom in my previous comment on your post 😅), spinach, and tofu. I also added some ketchup to give more flavor and some sesame seeds for toppings.
IMG_20221217_124311.jpg

The procedure is just so easy and you can finish this in less than 20 minutes.

The rolls of Garae-tteok in the pack are hard so you need to soften them before cooking by boiling them for a minute or two first. On one occasion, I discovered that I can actually directly throw the rice rolls into the pan and then fry them without the boiling process. They easily soften so don't overboil the rice rolls if you prefer that way.

IMG_20221118_140250.jpg

Drain the water and set it aside. I usually put a little amount of oil when boiling rice rolls so they won't stick to each other. Another way is to rinse them with cold water after boiling them.

Next is to prepare the tofu. Some of you probably know that I am a fan of tofu. This is my alternative to meat when I'm on a strict diet. I just cut them into small cubes and then fry them until brown. I like the tofu to be crispy for this recipe so I made sure to fry all sides well.

Afterward, stir-fry the vegetables using just a small amount of oil. Throw in the shimeji mushrooms first and add the spinach last since it is easier to cook. The mushroom is watery so you can just discard the excess water.

IMG_20221118_141013.jpg

After pre-cooking the ingredients, it'd be faster to do the last process.

In a pan, saute the kimchi for a few seconds to a minute.

IMG_20221217_124244.jpg

Add in the tofu and rice rolls. Then mix well with the kimchi.

IMG_20221217_124210.jpg

Drizzle some ketchup to add more flavor and color. Initially, this should be kimchi sauce. But the kimchi we have at home is kind've dry and lacks sauce. So I opted to add ketchup to also give a little sweet flavor. Besides, the recipe would look too dry if I won't add any sauce to it.

IMG_20221217_124137.jpg

Lastly, add the vegetables. You can season this with pepper or anything you want, but I didn't add anything.

IMG_20221217_124107.jpg

Sprinkle some sesame seeds on top just to make it more appealing and add more taste. I like the taste of sesame seeds in every bite so I always have it in our pantry so I could use it as toppings for any dishes I like.

IMG_20221217_124027.jpg

The taste was perfect for me. I like the combination of kimchi and ketchup here. There are different brands of kimchi though so the taste also varies depending on the brand you buy.

IMG_20221217_123901.jpg

As simple as these ingredients and steps, you can have a yummy Korean Tteokbokki at home. I don't need to go to Korea to eat a Korean rice cake recipe, I can simply cook at home 😊. You can find Garae-tteok probably at Asian stores and supermarkets and look for different Tteokbokki recipes online to try.

Sort:  

Wow! This one looks super delicious!

May ganyan b jan sa pinas?

Yup, meron, dumadami na din ang mga Korean resto/store dito ngayon...


~~~ embed:1604020898578960385 twitter metadata:MTQ4NDQwNTQ4ODMzMDcxOTIzM3x8aHR0cHM6Ly90d2l0dGVyLmNvbS8xNDg0NDA1NDg4MzMwNzE5MjMzL3N0YXR1cy8xNjA0MDIwODk4NTc4OTYwMzg1fA== ~~~
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @afterglow, @jane1289 ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

One of the things I love about your meals is that they are always colorful, colors draw me closer to food.

The process is quite simple and I was salivating all through the process. Tofu, that name is common in those old Asian movies and I will definitely have a lot of it if I come to visit you someday.

Then I'll bring rice rolls once I visit Nigeria someday haha

!PIZZA

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
jane1289 tipped george-dee (x1)
@lhes(2/5) tipped @jane1289 (x1)

Join us in Discord!

Great work Jane.

perfect post, thanks for that

Have you heard about Dukboggi/Tteokbokki?

No, I have never heard the name before. It's the first time i have seen the name.

I can't cook it because I am not used to cook but I am good in tasting food 😅.
This food looking very delicious and hope that you also enjoyed the taste very much.

Haha.. Am good at tasting food too 😂

Funny thing, I just hold on my hand Tteokbokki when shopping today. But no buy because I rethink. I still have many food ingredients ✌️

Will save this recipe for sure. I love everything with spinach and mushrooms.

Unfortunately, I cant find the type of spinach like yours

Grab one pack next time and make your own version 😊. For sure, it's good

Your presentation is so good.i hope it is very healthy and delicious vegan recipe. First time i knew it. You are a perfect recipe maker.thanks a lot friend.

Thanks for dropping by

Lovely combination of ingredients. Looks yummy 😋💕❤️🌱🌿🌿

You can try this too 😊

Hello dear friend @jane1289 good day
The dish looks very delicious, it's good that you tried your own recipe, I appreciate that you share the ingredients and the way of preparation
enjoy the weekend

Thank you.. Happy weekend to you

It looks delicious Madam! Bet ko siya...
Nakatikim ako Niyan once pero Hindi ko ganon ka gusto Ang lasa.
But what you cooked, parang masarap!

!PIZZA

Itry mo din hehe.

It looks really delicious 😋 thank you so much for sharing

You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

Thank you

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Thank you 😊

Looks good for vegans, although I am allergic to tofu.

Why? 😅

Look really delicious .yummy

Oh I miss this, the last time I had this was 2 years ago!

There was this korean grocery along the road near my apartment and I'd buy ramyun and some korean drinks, and one time bought the rice cakes and made a simple recipe out of it... but tbh the storebought was better than my cooking. 😂

nice recipe looks very delicious thanks for sharing😊

Yum! Looking masarap! Although I don't really like kimchi, hehe. Bihasa ka na sa pagluluto sis! This reminded me I'm yet to have lunch for today.

!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@ifarmgirl, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @jane1289 and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (3/13 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

I am trying to pronounce Dukboggi/Tteokbokki and laugh to myself. 🤣 This looks delicious. We have an Asian food store in the Chinese market, but I am not sure I will find the ingredients there because this is Korean food. But I would love to try it! I will google it. 😊

Wow. I miss having Tteokbokki. I didn't like it at first, but the second try change the way I tasted it. I love it when it has a little sweet taste. 😍 So having ketchup on it, is agreeable on my part.

Ang dali lang pala ng procedures pero mas madali kumain Madam HAHA

Blimey Jane! This looks so delicious 🤤 I love those tiny mushrooms, I never get to see those around, same with most ingredients that you mentioned here. If I come to Hong Kong, will you cook this for me? Pretty please 🙏 😍😂💙

ohhh so yummy!!!