You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: West African inspired, peanut soup

It looks delicious. I never would have thought to use peanut butter for soup. I guess that's about to change 😆 I love the narrative of this post, the photos, and the soup!

In my country, peanut butter wasn't popular until a few years ago, as national production went down the drain, and as a result, we import almost everything these days. I confess that I love peanut butter, and I'm lucky enough to eat it from time to time--it's not cheap here (10$ x 1 kg approx.).

I loved visiting your blog. One can learn a lot from your cooking, @carolynstahl. Cheers 🥜

Sort:  

We grew up on peanut butter so it becomes addictive. I found out about this soup and wanted to try it. The way it's made in West Africa is by grinding up the peanuts but I took a short cut haha. Many people here have allergies to peanuts and some will die if they eat it. I am very happy that I"m not one of them.

10$ a kilo is quite a lot but sometimes that's the price here as well. I look for deals whenever I can. Everything here is also imported unless someone has a garden or a farm. We are really lucky to have a variety of things from around the world.

I am so grateful for your comment. It's really kind and I thank you. Best wishes from Canada.😊