West African inspired, peanut soup

DSC_6958.jpg

This post was made for Qurator's weekly Hive top chef. I didn't get there on time but that's okay. The theme was peanut butter.

I grew up eating quite a bit of that stuff. With a dad working and trying to raise me alone after my mother got sick, peanut butter was a handy thing for him to slap between two slices of bread. I had no problems with that, nor did most kids in the neighbourhood. It wasn't long before I was old enough to make my own.

The only thing I wished was different was the bread. He only bought whole grain bread from the health store. I wanted the soft white bread that my friends had. My best friend across the street wanted my bread so we traded when my dad wasn't looking. I was a slightly sneaky and bratty child. Poor guy I wouldn't want to raise a kid like I was

Peanut butter and jelly sandwiches may have been a staple for a kid in this neck of the woods, but I recently learned that it was not so in other places.

My former Co workers, one Mexican, one Vietnamese both told me they had never had a peanut butter sandwich. They said they had no desire. I was shocked. All these years I thought the whole world did that, at least as a kid.

I no longer use peanut butter for sandwiches.

I use peanut butter in savoury dishes, such as peanut dipping sauce, peanut noodles or Pad Thai and peanut salad dressing.

This time I am making something I've wanted to make for a while, which is West African peanut soup. You could call it stew but I was aiming for soup.

I have added some dry spices that may normally not go in this but I wanted to kick it up a notch. The most common seasoning is salt and pepper, sometimes just cumin, and sometimes coriander. I am not sure what would go into such a dish if I were in the depths of West Africa.

Untitled-2.jpg

Traditionally this would be made with chicken or meat, but I will omit that and add chickpeas. I made the recipe based on the research then doing it my way. The measurements are what I used but it of course can be changed to suit the individual.

Plantbased West African peanut soup
600g sweet diced sweet potato
350g canned or fresh tomatoes (I blended mine slightly)
120g red bell pepper
200g onion
25g garlic
15g ginger
5g hot pepper
350 chopped collard greens (kale or spinach)
60g tomato paste
200g chickpeas
300g peanut butter
3g coriander stems and roots chopped
30g bragg's liquid aminos (or soy sauce)
100 g water for mixing peanut butter
1 litre vegetable broth

Optional spices
1 tsp ground cumin
1 tbs pepper
1 tsp paprika
1/2 tsp ground coriander
1/4 tsp cloves
1/2 tsp Cinnamon
1 tbs chili powder
1 tsp onion powder
1 tsp garlic powder

DSC_6873.jpg

At first I was going to do a stew with big chunks but I changed my mind. I ended up chopping everything into cubes to make it more soupy.

DSC_6846.jpg

I have cooked collard greens a few times in my life but recently it has become one of my new favourite greens. It's hardy and lasts for a while in the fridge.

DSC_6854.jpg

I was not going to put chickpeas originally, but changed my mind at the last minute. Normally I would soak dry chickpeas overnight but this time I grabbed a can from the butcher shop across the street. This is an unlikely place to go if you eat only plantbased, but they have these items as well. Plus it's too cold to run farther. Today is -8C. Warmer than yesterday.

DSC_6864.jpg

Saute the onions, garlic, ginger, cilantro stems, tomato paste, peppers and spices in a little oil. Add the sweet potatoes and chickpeas. Stir and cover without liquid for five minutes simmering.

3.jpg

Add around one litre of vegetable stock.the liquid aminos (or soy sauce), and the tomatoes. I have homemade stock. You can use water and a stock cube, powder or just water. I like to have as much flavor as possible so I use broth.

If you want a thicker soup or stew, you could slightly cook the sweet potatoes first to use less liquid. You could also bake it in the oven or on a fire if you have that. I didn't want to turn the oven on for one potato.

DSC_6918.jpg

Next I started adding the collards but stopped, reserving most of the greens.

I wanted the peanut butter to go in before the greens. It would be easier to mix into the soup.

DSC_6931.jpg

I have been getting really good deals on all natural peanut butter without salt. It sometimes goes for as low as 3 dollars Canadian. To be honest I prefer the junky one. Shhhh don't tell anyone.

DSC_6879.jpg

This peanut butter like most, is really thick, so I added water and whisked it until smooth.

DSC_6936.jpg

I added salt to this mixture before I put it in. I don't know why, but I guess it didn't matter. I just wanted to taste the mixture and adjust the saltiness before I added it to the soup.

DSC_6940.jpg

When the sweet potatoes were cooked through, I added the peanut butter mix and the rest of the collards.

DSC_6946.jpg

It doesn't take long for collards to cook. Five minutes or so after they are added. the soup is ready to serve.

DSC_6950.jpg

It was only slightly spicy, unlike the way I usually like, which is really spicy. That was remedied with a little extra chili flakes.

DSC_6959.jpg

I usually add a little sweetener to balance the flavors, but the sweet potato did that job.

DSC_6962.jpg

I don't think it would be traditional to squeeze lime on this, I'm not sure, but for me it was an extra boost. I garnished with fresh cilantro and peanuts, and rice on the side.

DSC_6966.jpg

This is something that could be made almost any where in the world with ingredients that should be easily found anywhere.

I know that even though Canadians are exposed to many cultures' cuisines because of our diversity, the majority would not think of making soup with peanut butter. It really hits the spot for me and I could just keep eating it.

The traditional West African peanut stew will probably use whole peanuts ground up. I skipped that step due to my supply of peanut butter.

DSC_6980.jpg

Thanks for dropping by and have a great day.

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters

All photos taken with a Nikon D7500 by me except the ones of me taken by my other half.

Sort:  

It does seem wierd that something as basic and commonly eaten by so many kids, is foreign to others. We also ate a lot of peanut butter sandwiches as children - I guess too many as I can't stand them now. Which is probably why I never think of peanut butter in any other food. But you have reignited my hopes in peanut butter. What a delicious recipe

I stopped eating peanut butter sandwiches but I can't be without peanut butter. I am a peanut lover and thank goodness I don't have the allergies that so many have. I feel sorry for those folks.

Thanks for your nice comment.

You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

Thank you very much.

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @edwing357 on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Thank you very much.

https://leofinance.io/threads/@plantpoweronhive/re-leothreads-3nkxpz
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( @plantpoweronhive ) sharing the post on LeoThreads.

Thank you so much.

Se ve estupenda esa sopa muy diferente gracia por compartir su receta

Muchas Gracias.🙏

You have made peanut soup perfectly. Definitely it will be so delicious and tasty. You always share unique yummy vegan recipe. I like your all recipes. You are perfect recipe maker and your presentation is always good. Thanks a lot. Friend.

Your comment is very much appreciated my friend. Thank you so much.😊

Thanks for sharing this recipe. I've been on a diet for a while now and I think this can help me a lot

I wish you the best with that and thank you so much.

How are you dear friend @carolystahl good morning
Aquie in Argentina, and especially in the city of Corrientes where I live it is not customary to eat mani, if we eat man as a dry fruit, or a paste we call Turron de Mani, this is consumed as an exquisite dessert.
I love your dishes, decorate your dishes very well, I appreciate that you have shared this recipe and your experience of it
have a nice day

Hello my friend. Nice to have your lovely comment. It's a new interesting fact for me about another custom. Thanks very much. Best wishes.😊

Congratulations @carolynstahl! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 9000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 9500 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

The Hive Gamification Proposal

Thank you!

You're making a big impact @carolynstahl! Keep up the fantastic work and you'll reach your Hive target in no time.

Peanut Soup?? It was an automatic click for me. I have never had it, or actually even heard of it, and Africa and I have had many dealings. How did I miss it?

I am definitely going to try this, mostly because I long for dishes that use peanut butter. BTW, I was in the peanut butter and jelly group growing up. We had grain bread too and I longed for the soft white like all of my friends had, with their albacore tuna fish tucked inside.

I like it spicy, but not everyone in the family does, so I leave the Thai hot out and just go with really spicy.

Thanks, once again for taking a tame recipe and spinning in the magic!

You rule!!!

!LUV

Yes I have been meaning to make this for years and finally did it. I'm thrilled to meet another member of the Peanut butter club. You just reminded me of the other thing I loved and that was the awesome tuna sandwich in the soft white. I eventually got that at my friends' houses.

Thanks so much for passing by!😊

You are always a joy. I am still away until next weekend, but, I need to make more of an effort to get out a little bit more!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @hive-173296 ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Thank you!

It looks delicious. I never would have thought to use peanut butter for soup. I guess that's about to change 😆 I love the narrative of this post, the photos, and the soup!

In my country, peanut butter wasn't popular until a few years ago, as national production went down the drain, and as a result, we import almost everything these days. I confess that I love peanut butter, and I'm lucky enough to eat it from time to time--it's not cheap here (10$ x 1 kg approx.).

I loved visiting your blog. One can learn a lot from your cooking, @carolynstahl. Cheers 🥜

We grew up on peanut butter so it becomes addictive. I found out about this soup and wanted to try it. The way it's made in West Africa is by grinding up the peanuts but I took a short cut haha. Many people here have allergies to peanuts and some will die if they eat it. I am very happy that I"m not one of them.

10$ a kilo is quite a lot but sometimes that's the price here as well. I look for deals whenever I can. Everything here is also imported unless someone has a garden or a farm. We are really lucky to have a variety of things from around the world.

I am so grateful for your comment. It's really kind and I thank you. Best wishes from Canada.😊

You are a masterchef indeed!
Peanut butter sandwiches are really common here in SA, I occasionally have it on toast - wholegrain bread😉 but understand that longing for soft spongy white bread as my Mom only ever made wholegrain bread!
I would never have thought of making soup with peanut butter! It sounds absolutely yum and full of flavour!
Wish you could come and cook for me😉

You give me way too much credit. I didn't invent this one. It comes from your continent haha.

I no longer have spongy white bread, and almost always whole grain, but I like a good white bread sometimes. It's strange how some cultures don't eat peanut butter.

Um....I wish you could cook for me!

This is the first time I said OMG about a recipe.

Well that is a great compliment! Thank you!