Spicy Vegan Cheddar Dip in Edible Plantain Bowls (gluten-free)

in Plant Power (Vegan)4 months ago (edited)

Hi, Foodies in the Hive!

I hope everybody is healthy and feeling peaceful in the new year 😁

December is a crazy month in my family, and I'm the designated holiday cook in two other houses besides my own, as I came to find out recently, hehe, so I was in a constant rush. Yesterday, I finally got to make some decent pictures of a snack that became dinner and then became breakfast overnight! The recipe for potato cheese shared by my Hive friend and amazing cook @aguamiel was my inspiration (check it out here; as she says, it's totally addictive).

I added some fun seasonings and managed to make some plantain bowls to serve this spicy vegan cheddar dip. Below is my recipe for this healthy and delicious snack.

image.png
image.png

The versatility of edible bowls and dips is very much appreciated when it's time to go to the sofa to enjoy a movie.

They also add an eco-friendly touch to any get-together, as well as being very cool when served in their mini version, just like mini tartlets.

As a plus, these edible bowls are gluten free and so good for your vegan friends. Add a delicious plant based cheddar dip and the rest is up to your imagination.

It also keeps its freshness so well that can be eaten straight from the refrigerator.

image.png

image.png

image.png

Ingredients

image.png

image.png

For the edible bowls:

  • 250 gr unripe plantain, peeled and diced
  • 1 cup water
  • 2 tablespoons cane honey
  • 2 tablespoons coconut oil
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons sesame seeds
  • black sesame seeds to taste for garnish

For the dip:

  • 200 gr potato, peeled and diced
  • 100 gr carrot, peeled, diced
  • a dash of olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup onion, sliced
  • 1/4 cup hot chili peppers, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon fresh garlic cloves, flattened
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/3 cup water from the cooking pot


Also, raw carrot sticks rubbed with lemon juice or apple cider vinegar, coarsely crushed pistachios, spring onion rings, and sweet corn kernels for garnish.

image.png

image.png

Let's get to work!

I started with the plantain bowls.

image.png

I peeled and dice one 350 gr unripe plantain. After that, I had 250 gr of plantain flesh. Adding the juice of a lemon would guarantee that the batter wouldn't turn dark.

image.png

...whereas adding sesame seeds was going to give the batter that milky touch needed for flavor and flexibility.

image.png

Along with the sesame seeds, I added the rest of the ingredients into the blender and let it do the job.

image.png

The mixture became homogeneous in no time.

Sometimes, I put the black sesame seeds first in the hot, greased frying pan and immediately put 3/4 of a ladle of mixture on top of them, which I spread with the back of the ladle.

image.png

After a minute, they can be flipped over. However, it's important to let them dry enough so that they won't stick to the pans on which we'll shape them into bowls; this way, we can avoid using more fat to grease the pans.

I put a tortilla on an upside down mini baking pan and then I put another mini baking pan on top,

image.png

just a little bit of pressure to give the tortillas a bowl shape.

image.png

3 minutes of cooking time will be enough. And then 5 minutes at 250°F in the oven. I used my small electric oven.

image.png

You don't need to grease the back of the pans.

The mixture was enough for 8 bowls.

image.png

image.png

Time to make the dip.

First of all, I made sure I had everything I needed, as this is done so fast.

image.png

I peeled and diced the amount of potato and carrot I needed for half a liter of dip approx--now I regret not having made more, as it's so delicious and versatile.

image.png

I added enough water to cover the potato and carrot and added a little salt. I let them cook over medium fire until they were soft, which took about 10 minutes.

image.png

Then, while still hot, I added all the contents of the cooking pot into the blender. The amount of liquid was just fine.

image.png

After I processed this first part, corrected the salt. Also, I notice at this point that the dip was just fine to be used as cheese substitute,


image.png

but I had my spicy plan, so._

I sliced the onion, cut the chili pepper--which was as hot as I expected 🔥-- and took the seeds and veins out,

image.png

and sauteed them until they started to brown. At this point, I added the flattened cloves of garlic--I add the last so they won't burn, and I flatten them so the blender blades won't miss them--. After a minute, I added this sauteed veggies to the mixture in the blender.

image.png image.png

The mixture now took on a more intense color and luscious look.

image.png

As a last step,

I cut the carrot sticks and got the toppings.


image.png

Snacks ready to go to the couch!

image.png

You can eat them up literally 😁


image.png

The dip was so delicious with pistachios and carrot sticks, we finished it today for breakfast.


image.png

Bon appetite!

image.png

image.png

All text and images are my own. I have taken the pictures with my Redmi 9T cell phone. And if any GIFs here, I've used GIPHY for all them.

image.png

Thank you so much for your visit :)

MARLYN BANNER_5 (1).png

Banner by @andresromero 🖤

Sort:  

If it wasn't snowing golf ball size flakes right now, I would run to the Latino grocer and get some plantains. I need to have that bowl. It kind of makes me crazy that I can't have a taste of that gorgeous and perfect snack.

If I could open a vegan restaurant, this would be on the menu and be a big seller I just know it.

Thanks for the inspiration my friend. 😊💚

Plantains are super versatile for making gluten-free bread, crepes, pancakes, etc... I made cannoli in December but they turned out really ugly, haha. I need new kitchen toys for these little plantain experiments.

You would have an amazing restaurant. Here in my country, vegan customers don't have many options. I don't know if they are few or many, but a lot of non-vegan people like to try vegan menu from time to time.

I hope you can make some bowls soon. I think they are perfect for salad. For soup, you'd have to make a thicker tortilla and cross your fingers, hahaha

Thank you so much for dropping by, my dear friend ❤️

I would not make it for soup. I already see the soup on the floor haha😂

I love your banana bowl, very unique. Of course, this dish can be eaten all together which is the most fun.

Yes, that's the idea, that you can eat it up. No dishes to do, hehe

Thank you so much for dropping by, my friend ❤️

Me leíste la mente jajaja, desde anoche quiero algo así, imaginaba unos tostones y muchas salsas para untar y llegas con tu cocina mágica a provocarme más antojos jajaja

Mi mente iba por unos plátanos verdes jajaja, creo que suena a un libro de metafísica 😆 el poder de la mente jajaja

😂 Aquí lo que sobra es plátano verde, para barrer con la aglutinación de diciembre y Reyes. Yo amo los tostones con lo que salga, jajaja.

Deseo que el Año Nuevo te traiga lluvia de tostón con todo lo que le quieras poner. Amén 😁❤️

Jajaja bueno de este fin de semana no pasa que coma tostones , así tenga que soñarlos 🤣

Bueno, mi querido amigo, será que nos mandamos a congelar --con todo y los cuatro estómagos 🤣-- y que nos despierten cuando ya exista la impresora 3D para comida. Solo debemos asegurarnos que hay tostón en el menú.

jajaja tipo dueño de Disney y luego nadie lo revive 🤣

Qué cruel 🤣🤣🤣🤣

Te imaginas uno allí congelado al lado de unas cajas de tostones jajajaja, mejor vamos hacerlos y comemos , luego congelamos a quien venga a martillarnos 🤣


You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here | Curation Trail

Thank you so much for your consideration and support, @plantpoweronhive 😁💚

@tipu curate :)

You're too kind, @rozku ❤️ Much appreciated 😁

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Thank you so much for your consideration and support, @foodiesunite, @sirenahippie 😁💚

While reading this, I was like “wow”
This is really nice
You did well!

Thank you so much! These bowls are really fun food 😁

This is really amazing here. I will like to have a taste

I hope you will! Thank you so much for dropping by!

This food is actually so salivating

Oh, then you must come and join us for dinner! 😁

Thank you so much for dropping by! ❤️


BANNER AMAZING.png
You've been curated by @amazingdrinks! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

Thank you so much for your consideration and support, @amazingdrinks 😁🍻

Ay santo Dios que divina sorpresa… este quesito quedó tuning con ese sofrito picoso espectacular y de paso para acompañar esas cestas de tostones que lucen divinamente!
Me encantan ver el acabado degustado! Eso quedó brutal….

No sabes cómo agradezco haber visto tu receta de queso de papa para tu exquisita pizza de ratatouille. La pizza está pendiente; ahora que probé cómo queda, se abrió el cosmos, jaja.

Mi reto ahora es hacer la pizza o un gratinado. Me toca llenar la nevera, para poder seguir incursionando en las recetas veganas porque ahorita está iluminada, llena con la luz de enero 😂

Gracias por pasar, mi querida @aguamiel💕 Qué tengas excelente noche 💤

Que hermoso regalo ver mi receta recreada con tu magia ♥️ y la nevera en modo festivo aún haciendo juego con el pesebre y el arbolito…
Preparándonos para las municiones y crear exquisiteces!

Gracias querida amiga

y la nevera en modo festivo aún haciendo juego con el pesebre y el arbolito…

🤣🤣🤣

Congratulations @marlyncabrera! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 7000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 7500 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - January 15, 2024