Delicious Vegan Pumpkin Chili Recipe

in Plant Power (Vegan)2 years ago (edited)


Hello again friends! After harvesting about 50 pounds of squash out of the garden, it is most definitely time to put all of it to use in the kitchen. Especially now that the weather is feeling well and truly like autumn! I roasted and pureed a few of my big Seminole Pumpkins, so I'm set for a while with the base of lots of autumnal goodies.

This weekend I had chili on my mind, especially as I still had some Aji Limo peppers from my farmers, Pinewood Springs, that I needed to use up. Now, I know I have plenty of chili recipes already up (like this lentil and peanut version or a classic vegan option), but just as with soup--I hardly ever make it the same way twice. There are just too many ways to put together a delicious pot of goodness! Having been so long since posting a recipe, I thought it was a perfect one to ease back into the routine. I'm sure many of you are looking for ways to use up those gorgeous seasonal squashes anyway.

You can easily freeze squash cubed, but I tend to use it most when it's already mashed up as in this chili or the multiple batches of pumpkin bread that I make on repeat this time of year. I also use it in smoothies, oats, soups and wherever else I can think to mix it in. Pumkin is high in fiber, beta carotene to promote eye and skin health, antioxidants that help our immune system function well, and more. So besides just being so versatile and tasting great, it's great for us, too!

You can easily switch out any of the typical, orange-fleshed squashes in this recipe depending upon what's in season or growing in your own garden. I used some of my cooked Rancho Gordo beans because I always have a slow cooker going on the weekend with some variety or another. To go the really easy route--use plain canned pumpkin and canned beans if that works for you. No judgment here. Whatever it takes to get those plants in your belly.

Vegan Pumpkin Chili

An incredibly easy chili that you can make with seasonal ingredients or click the easy button and shop the cans in your pantry! Perfect to make ahead for delicious weekday meals.

  • 1 small onion, peeled & chopped
  • 2 small yellow bell peppers, seeded & chopped
  • 2-3 small fresh hot peppers like Aji Limo or jalapeno, seeded & finely chopped
  • 1 chipotle chile in adobo sauce, minced
  • 2 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp ground coriander
  • 1 tsp smoked paprika
  • 1 tsp ground turmeric
  • 2 cups pumpkin or squash puree
  • 2 cups water or low-sodium vegetable broth
  • 2 cups cooked & drained white beans like Marcella (cannellini) (can use canned)
  • 2 cups cooked & drained black beans (can use canned)
  • 2 cups leafy greens to finish (I used spinach and arugula)
  • 1 cup cubed, roasted sweet potato (*optional)
  • salt & pepper to taste
  1. Heat a large stockpot over medium heat. Add the onion and peppers. Sauté, stirring occasionally to prevent sticking until the vegetables soften--about 5-8 minutes.

  2. Stir in the minced chipotle chile and the spice mixture. Let cook for just a minute before adding in the pumpkin puree, water or broth, and the beans. Bring just to a boil, then reduce heat. Let simmer, partially covered for about 30 minutes.



  3. Remove from heat and stir in your greens to wilt and the sweet potatoes if using. Add salt and pepper to taste. Garnish with any of your other favorites!



I love adding in potatoes or a hearty grain at the end to stretch out my batch even further. Besides making each bowl filling and bursting with nutrients, I love having plenty of meals ready for the week in case things get busy. We'll enjoy a bowl each this weekend, with a few more servings each to take with us to work or heat up at home with no fuss.

It's just about dinner time here, so time to dig in!

Banners by @woman-onthe-wing and @dksart



**Powered by LOTUS token, an alternative health social currency on HIVE. Find the community here!

Sort:  

You know what? I just bought a whole pumpkin cut it up and put it in the freezer until I think of what to do with it. Now I know. Also there were canned black beans on sale so I just grabbed a bunch for convenience. I think a pumpkin black bean chili is coming my way!

Thanks for the recipe and best wishes😊

It is that time of year! I saw all the beautiful squashes at the farmers market yesterday and had to hold back since I still have plenty at home, haha. I just get envious and want ALL of the varieties.

Would love to see your take on a pumpkin chili! I'm sure yours will be delish, too.

I think your recipe is perfect with no room for improvement so I'm going to get me a can of chipotle in adobo.😊


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @plantpoweronhive ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Thanks @steemflow and @indiaunited! Always appreciate the support. :)

You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

This recipe is delicious, hearty, tasty, with a dish like this the stomach is happy. Very good recipe. Greetings @plantstoplanks

Thanks @plantpoweronhive! So happy to finally have one to contribute to the community after a long absence of recipe posting! Hopefully more to come. :)

This must be so delicious, I can see the texture is so soft.

The pumpkin definitely makes for a creamy base. Wish I could share a bowl virtually!

wow if me were close I would definitely ask for a bowl of this dish.

It looks delicious. Thanks for sharing.

sweet_separator_mike.png

That looks delicious, with the cooler weather creeping in, it's time to get the crockpot out for some chili and soups. I have never thought of using pumpkin in chili, thanks for the recipe.
Enjoy the nice weather down there.

It is absolutely time for some good slow cooking! I just made more soup today, and have another soup recipe to share soon. Can you believe we're actually looking at close to freezing temps overnight this coming week down here? Though I can't complain--the days have been stunning! And I'm sure you've got much more frigid temps your way ahead. Wishing you many bowls of warm veggie goodness this season!

Oh, Katie you are so cute. But please stop reminding me of that frigid weather to come. It's been a perfect fall here. The colors have been off the charts this year and it's been mild. I just came back from my evening bike ride, bike meaning an ATV, I am not a peddler anymore, too many hills here.
My hubby just has a knee replacement surgery on Tuesday, so I am playing Nurse Ratchet, or is it, Hatchet? hummm?
Nice to hear you are going to put out some new recipes for us. I am trying to make us eat more plant-based food, I know it's the way to go.

Can't wait to see what you have up your sleeve.
HUGS!

Lips zipped, haha. Glad it's been beautiful up there! That is one downside to our beautiful but very dry fall, the colors on the trees are a bit muted. We're heading up to North Carolina in about three weeks, but I think this time we might be hitting the leaves past the peak. Regardless, looking forward to another quick weekend getaway.

Another surgery? My goodness, he really is going to be bionic! Though I couldn't think of a better nurse to get him back to top shape! Best wishes for a quick recovery.

Good morning @plantstoplanks, yeah, he's going bionic for sure. But he's doing pretty well so far, I am just glad he made it through the surgery.

Have a wonderful day and enjoy your trip to NC.