Summer Salads are Back in The House - Plus Ready Mix Instant Chicken Review

Oh man, since the sun's back and Spring is here, I'm loving summer salads again. It's easy and fun to arrange some veggies on a plate with a good dressing and a protein source. Today we had a pre made 'chicken' mix which was vegan - just add a little olive oil and water. I had my doubts about it, as I'd bought it at a bargain store for $2 for the pack, but I thought it'd be worth a go for a quick meal.

IMG20230912174313.jpg

First of all I went into the garden and collected what was available - fennel leaves, calendula flowers, spinach and kale leaves, spring onions, parsley and coriander, which was all chopped up and put in a bowl. Next was to mix the plant based chicken with water and olive oil and leave for ten minutes. As I can't leave anything alone, I also added some smoked paprika, finely chopped spring onion and some coriander. I think this might have made the mix more crumbly than it should have been but I love adding fresh stuff to packet food!

IMG20230912173921.jpg

The ingredients were quite good actually for Jamie as he can't do chickpea flour or too much soy. This had pea protein which doesn't seem to upset his stomach. Phew! I'm definitely going to buy some extra packets next time I'm up in Melbourne.

IMG20230912174305.jpg

The dressing was a mix of coconut yoghurt, tahini, lime juice and coriander, and I chargrilled a capsicum as well. Oh, and a splash of fire cider.

IMG20230912174311.jpg

Honestly, it was so easy, and so good and delicious, that we'll be trying the vegan pork balls for the same kind of meal tonight!!

What's your go to ready made vegan or vego protein?

With Love,

image.png

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here


Sort:  

Oh so jealous that it's spring over there! Here it's getting more chilly at night.. during the day still clocks off at 30+ degrees though. But less sunny and more cloudy so it really feels like fall is here while it's actually much better weather than in July when it was way too hot, lol.

That salad looks divine. I mean, it's 10 AM here and I haven't had breakfast yet, I'm now wondering if I can put together some salad with what we have in the house but I think I need to go to the supermarket first, lol.

Very appealing pictures, I Love it!

Have a good day dear! (correction, that should probably be have a good night, lol)

I guess the trick is to make it with what you have 💚 tonghts dressing was avocado, coconut yoghurt and chilli sauce. Sooooo good!!!! Have a lovely Day ❤️❤️

Looks delicious…
Enjoy trying the other recipe 😊

Do you have some leftover? I'll gladly take it if you have (≧▽≦). This one looks really good though. Healthy and I'm sure it is flavorful too. It's a good thing you found that pre made chicken, a good match to the salad ฅ^•ﻌ•^ฅ

I'll make you a fresh one!!!

Ooooooih I under stand now, it's your hubby who can't do chickpeas. Aaaaaah. OK. That salad looks delicious though!

It is! Yeah. And because I never eat them now, they upset me too!

Awwww bugger. And they're so versatile. I know what a pain it is to cook separate meals though... It's that compromise thing hey... sigh

Are you guys completely vegan?

No not at all. We can't be because there so much Jamie can't eat in a vegan diet. We choose a conscious and healthy diet over any kind of strict label but I'd say 80 percent vegetarian. Yesterday I made this salad with halloumi 💚

Aaaaaah OK. I lived with vegans for 3 years in my early 20s. I have issues with anemia and well.. Honestly I do love bacon and cheese so vegan isn't an option for me, but there's a whole world of food I'd never have been aware of if I hadn't experienced the vegan life.

I hope to one day eat a lot more like that my dear friend. Looks so tasty, and fits in with how I would like to be. Thanks for sharing such inspirational food!

You are welcome. I really feel better eating lots of fresh greens!

Wow, this is a dish that is a little foreign to my daily serving. However, I have new knowledge from your dishes. I like that. Thank You @riverflows

We learn a lot from each other on Hive ❤️

Hi, your salad looks very delicious as well as healthy and organic. The first time saw your recipe in the community I very appreciate you sharing it with us. A hug :)

Thanks 🙏🙏🙏 hugs back x

that does look yummy but we don't eat vegan proteins. btw is a chicken from your yard plant based if they eat a vegan diet 🤔😁😂 I saw an article today about cats being happier on a vegan diet.

Hahaha

  1. ' is a chicken from your yard plant based if they eat a vegan diet' said every meat eater ever, trying to be funny
    2.'cats being happier on a vegan diet' - how did they measure happiness, or account for cats killing birds and native animals with utter abandon? Ban cats, I say! That would make me happier. Fun fact, our council just banned cats and they have to be inside 24/7.