You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dal Makhani (Indian bean curry)

Hmm I wonder how this would taste? The dried fenugreek leaves have a certain flavour to it that can't really be substituted. The seeds taste very different and are an annoyance in a dish like this.
We certainly add loads of butter and fresh cream, though the fresh cream is towards the end.
Like you I always like to toast and grind my whole spices coarsely to bring out the best flavors.
The addition of carrot was the strange element to me.
I also like to try various cuisines with what is available and tweak it to my taste.

Sort:  

I don't know why I put the carrots in. I guess as a flavor addition but they were minced small so I didn't taste them. I knew after adding the cream that it should be at the end. I was lost haha. It still was so delicious and I'm glad I got the fenugreek leaves. Honestly though, when I tasted them to me (a Canadian), they tasted the same as the seeds. You're right though the seeds would be too strong I'm sure.

Thanks so much for your input. I need to have a personal Indian chef to teach me more.