Making Sweet Potato Compote for the first time.

Hello, good evening, all friends in this community. this is my first post in this community and not only that because this is also my first time cooking in the kitchen.. don't laugh and do you guys like me here. Maybe because my gender is male and my status as a husband is sometimes lulled and my ego says that cooking is the duty of a wife so I have never cooked at all and before I got married the task of cooking was my mother's job. And so far I'm just a connoisseur.

Why did I decide to start learning to cook? Because of this community. it is this community that has changed my mindset a little because it turns out that there are also many men in the HIVE community who own cooking utensils, not just looking for money. And forgive the limitations of my mindset friends, maybe because my culture in Indonesia is much like that, this community changed everything to make me even more independent because I have decided to make this account stand alone without the help of my wife.




The reason why I cooked compote is because cooking compote is the easiest job in my opinion and does not require any special skills, even though while cooking this compote my wife occasionally monitors me for fear that I will injure her cooking utensils and contaminate the kitchen and fear that the gas stove will explode. It seemed she wasn't afraid that her husband would get hurt, she was just afraid that the cooking utensil would burn, and she kept repeating this..ha..ha..but in the end I managed to make the sweet potato compote..

The ingredients I need to make this compote are :

1. Sweet potato (I don't have a scale, I know this sweet potato is probably around ½ kilogram and I harvest this sweet potato myself from our garden which is beside the house)

2. Coconut milk (I use 1 coconut which I squeeze twice to make the coconut milk)

3. Palm sugar (I use 150 grams of palm sugar that I bought at the nearest stall)



The procedure for making my version of compote :

1. The very first step is that I peel the sweet potato and I wash it thoroughly then I cut it into rough pieces so that it cooks quickly when boiled

2. After that, boil the sweet potato using water until it boils and prick with a fork whether the sweet potato is cooked or not.

3. After the sweet potato is cooked, throw away the cooking water.

4. Then add coconut milk and palm sugar which I have sliced ​​so that it dissolves easily

5. Stir until the coconut milk boils and the palm sugar dissolves, or you can taste whether the compote is already sweet or not according to your taste.

6. After the coconut milk boils, turn off the stove and let it sit until the compote is warm so you can enjoy it.

Just info for you, if you can consume cold compote you can also store it in the fridge and you can enjoy it with ice, it's up to you because whether you enjoy it cold or warm, everything tastes good to me and it depends on taste.
I will make another recipe after this of course a home recipe in a simple way. So follow me and let's share the recipe. Greetings from me, Tomi Diwirja, Indonesia

Sort:  

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @bhattg by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

I had no idea you can make compote out of sweet potato. This is why I love Hive, you can always learn something.

actually making compote is very easy, but sometimes as a man I still rely on my wife when it comes to cooking. thanks for stopping by.

Congratulations @tomidiwirja! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 50 comments.
Your next target is to reach 100 comments.
You received more than 900 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Recap of the Final
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of the play-off for third place

thank you @hivebuzz keep supporting me yes.

You're welcome @tomidiwirja, it's well deserved! Congrats on your constant involvement on Hive 😊👍

This is a nice and simple recipe. I will try it out soon.