You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Treasury of collectibles - in my cottage

in Hive Collectorslast month (edited)

WOW, after that story, I want to go to your cottage!

What a huge education it would be for a girl from Australia and I think a lot of entertainment too!

Imagine being in a physical environment like you were on Holidays there to be able to swap money with everyone else, so cool and really such an adult think to do, even though you were kids!

So was there much of a difference in the value of each currency back then?
Did your parents freak out?

Oph I can't wait to see what else comes out of your cottage! 😃

I think as an Australian that grew up in a very small country town, it's so weird to think that living in Europe, especially back then, you are sooo close to so many other countries and are able to have such amazing experiences so close to home and we got stuck in that country own and maybe once or twice a year got to go the city for a day or 2...woohoo...

Obviously now it's a bit different and the world is much more accessible..but back then especially in the 70's and even the 80's...you know what I mean?

You lucky Europeans!

Infact even now, @ph1102 just invited me to Croatia in September for Hivefest https://hivefe.st/ and I would LOVE to go, so I just checked out the cost of an airfare and the cheapest one way with 3 stops is $1400 AUD...I might have to sell a kidney on the blackmarket first....🤣...😭...

Sort:  

Thanks for your comment ❤️

Indeed, for people from Australia, Europe is too far for a short tour.
A few years ago, a colleague from the office went to visit his relatives in Australia, so he asked me if he could take 30 days of annual leave. Because in fewer days, it's not worth traveling so much...

If you come to my cottage, I think I could use some help sorting through all my knick-knacks that I've collected over the years.
I will make new posts later about these little things of mine 🙂

I don't know if you listened to #HHHLive from Wednesday, when the topic was "Leaving your comfort zone"?
Then Melinda told her story about her two-week tour of Russia (the first non-continental flight she had from America). I think your impression would be similar to hers.

Just, please, don't sell your kidney 🙂 Although coming to Hive Fest would be worth every penny, I believe there will be online content. It is not the idea that coming to such an event should be burdensome for you, if you are not able to...

Yes it is so far away that why when Aussie do leave home, we leave when we're young, so we can spend years overseas, because otherwise we're paying soooooo much money to fly back and forth, so once you over there, you stay over there for as long as possible.

When I was in my mid twenties, I went over for 3 years and did the USA and the UK and had such a good time there, I didn't get anywhere else.

Now it's time to do Europe and I have soooo many things that I want to go to while I'm over there and Hive Fest is THE most important, but I also really really REALLY REALLY want to go to an annual Mind Valley Uni https://www.mindvalley.com/u....which is in July...so I don't think I'll be able to make it to that one..

So it would definitely be a long trip over there around Europe, with Croatia somewhere in there, either at the start, in the middle or at the end, but probably with the timing, at the start AND probably not till next year...😥

But when I do, I will be at your cottage, sorting, cataloguing and protecting all of your valuables so they last for a long LONG time! I'd be happy to help! 😃 After all, I have had soooo much practice! 🤣

Thanks so much for sharing the #HHH with me too, this is the first time I've heard of it as I have been away from Hive for a few months as my dad died a couple of months ago, so I was spending time in the hospital with him then arranging his funeral- slideshows, music, eulogy, etc...so Very happy to be back and Very happy to hear about the HHH too!

I don't think anyone would want me kidneys...They'd probably ask me for a refund! 🤣

I'm sorry about your dad 🥲

I hope you have recovered a little from the hospital stay and the organization of his funeral.
I believe that being here at Hive can help you a lot to take your mind off that event......
A trip, for example to Europe, for that long period, would please you even more, I can bet. as for my cottage, you are welcome to stay, the only thing is that it would be more difficult for me to fit into a longer stay, to be your host, but I think that Serbia (unless you have some relatives here) would not be on the way on your trip around Europe...

Yeah thanks, but when you get to his age- with so many aces and pains and emotional pain like he was experiencing after the death of Mum 6 years ago, it's a blessing in disguise for him. And now he's with mum again, so we're happy that he is happy now.

And yes, you're so right, it has been great to be able to come back to Hive and reconnect with everyone, I do miss it and I miss everyone in the community so much when I'm away from it- especially after being here 4 years in July...

I find that Hive it a bit like an chocolate addiction but not as fattening, I can't stop thinking about it when I'm away and can't get enough of it when I am here! 🤣

And I do have sooo many plans to travel- and soooo many places that I want to get to, Serbia definitely being one of them AND it's not too far away from Croatia is it! 😜🤣
So you just never know! 😃

But in reality, it all depends on the financials and I can't see them being enough to take me to Europe this year, but probably next year and next year is only 6 months away..and that will fly by (again..)

My lease is up in Feb, so who knows....

Infact even now, @ph1102 just invited me to Croatia in September for Hivefest https://hivefe.st/ and I would LOVE to go, so I just checked out the cost of an airfare and the cheapest one way with 3 stops is $1400 AUD...I might have to sell a kidney on the blackmarket first....🤣...😭...

Is that $1400 AUD for a round-trip, or just a one-direction ticket? I have some friends in Australia and I know that they pay 3-4K USD for a round-trip...
But, I kind-of agree... Australia is faaaaaaar away... 😃

Only ONE WAY...😓