A lump, a small one, to be precise...

in Hive Collectors21 days ago (edited)

I wish this wasn't just a lump of bottle caps. A lump, a small one, to be precise. I wish it had a lot of meaning and maybe if I let myself get carried away with creative writing and just write and write without thinking, something more will come out than the places where these little metal things come from.

A rattle! 😁

That is if they all come together in the bowl of one hand and are shaken like a cough syrup before drinking. 😜


&&&

Even if I had skills as a musician, I could compose something. We can try, yes, I have some editing software here, and it wouldn't be a bad idea to make a mini soundtrack to this quiet, cadenced day, in which the caps have a certain, shrill predominance.

Better not. 🤣


_1360025.JPG
If Chanel wants to be part of the soundtrack, I can't refuse

The use

This is always a concern for me when I decide to save something. Just yesterday I took some clothes out of my wardrobe and some shoes and gave them to a neighbour. I don't want items that are just going to attract dust or sit there forgotten, stressed, overheated or whatever. I want things with meaning! And I also want...

Let's talk about crown caps (by the way, thanks mipiano for the info about its inventor, William Painter).

In a (slight) survey over this month I discovered that at least here in Havana, canned drinks are the ones that proliferate in most establishments.

A friend who travelled to Varadero and from whom I ordered some crown caps for this (I don't know whether to call it a collection) intervention, said that she didn't see bottled drinks there either. It's not that there aren't any, I suppose there will be, but there aren't many, because if there were, she would have seen them in the places she visited that weekend.


_1360013.JPG

Some of the first ones I collected were these and they come from the Cuquis coffee shop, very close to home. The waitress told me that she keeps the bottle caps for her mum who makes tomato paste and then bottles it. She needs something to cover it up, of course.


_1350093.JPG

It's more or less the same story with these two that my neighbour gave me. She looked through some sacks of bottles she had and found my new little friends. She had more, but all of the same brand. My intervention demands variety (which there isn't).


_1360018.JPG

I found this Bucanero beer bottle cap in the cafeteria where I had a Guarapo during that trip to Ceiba del Agua. There was nothing else bottled there at the time I asked.

_1350345.JPG

The man on the phone was the one who very kindly looked it up for me, by the way.

_1360015.JPG

Brands

The very Cuban Cristal and Bucanero beers are hardly ever seen anymore. You could find them bottled and in cans too. I always preferred the bottled ones and I liked the bottles to be green.

I had a time when I drank more beer than I do now, although the truth is that I am not a regular drinker, only on rare occasions, at family gatherings, with friends or outings to discos and bars.

With time I've discarded bars and discos... maybe that's why, I less Cristal and Bucanero, or whatever beer they have available.

I didn't find any Sol crown cap. I like this one, as well as the Bavaria. However, (you saw) the Cuquis had Heineken and Corona, and I honestly haven't gone for a walk in Old Havana. Maybe I would have stumbled across other bottle caps there. But I've been concentrating on my bike rides, and Tai Chi and now I'm thinking of starting CrossFit on Tuesday and Thursday afternoons.

If you didn't notice, I have a pretty busy life, between housework, work, the time I spend on Hive, and now these sports outings... it's pretty much all to myself. I'll see how I manage. But the important thing is that I am happy and I am making progress in my life, things I had planned for this year. A powerful turn that I hope will help me gain physical and mental strength.

Sorry, the bottle caps... I continue.

Several times I kept thinking that the search for such metallic artefacts had been neither profound nor coherent. I was, I think, in two coffee shops where I forgot to ask if they had bottled drinks.

Then one day it occurred to me to put in a Whatsapp status that I was looking for bottle caps and I received two replies (from Pinar del Río). The moral of the story, there is always someone willing to help.

These last two were brought to me by my mom the day before our excursion to Caleta Buena.


_1360019.JPG

Holandia is a beer, but the other one I have no idea what it is.


_1360021.JPG

... searching with the help of recognition software...

😵


doy pena, era Bavaria (I'm obviously not good at remembering logos!)

Ah, this is what the search turned up.

🤐
Whattttttt!!!!!


image.png
And is this for sale? - screenshot of the search

Come on, I have a record of living under a rock! 🤣

And I would like to end this post with the crown that started this intervention (chapística).

Please note that I only found beer bottle caps. No soft drinks. It's worrying how scarce everything is here where I live. However, to tell you the truth, I'm not interested in carbonated soft drinks. I've never been interested in them. Nor bottled juices, I prefer to make my juices at home from fruit I buy or grow myself.


_1360011.JPG

This is from a Portuguese beer that I tried for the first time on my 44th birthday, when my friends Eddy and Mary were here at home.

... wait!

Eureka, it's true that I also have bottle openers.

_1360010.JPG


A key-holder (both sides)

_1360009.JPG

And this vintage bottle opener... needs a touch-up and I think I know who can restore it for me. 😉


_1360027.JPG

PS. I will continue to collect bottle caps because I feel tenderly influenced by the hostess of this community in the pursuit of certain collections, as well as the hidden collector within me. One day the bottle caps will end up embedded in some wall of my dream place, where other things will surely round off my infinite happiness.

... and what's more, promise kept!

image.png

source



Original content by @nanixxx. All rights reserved ©, 2024.

Sort:  

There are so many types of beers there! I want to taste some of them 🙄

No, because you get dizzy and then you don't understand the Keychain. 😁

teníamos una buena colección de chapas en casa...cosas de mi madre... si aparecen te aviso...

Yaiiii... gracias. 😄🤗

If you lived in the world of Fallout (the video game now a TV show) you would be rich with all them caps!

Hi, I miss your posts. And the bike, have you finally got it home?

Look where you've taken me. Thanks... I always learn something. 🤓

I used to like role-playing games, well... I used to. I don't play anymore. I just want to do outdoor activities.


source

Outdoor activities are the best. I love the invigorating feel of being out and about!

No bike yet, I am just running till I get one 🙂

I shall be posting soon, I had to take a break because of real life stuff but am just about ready to get back into it!

Good, I'll keep an eye on it. ✨

😉

Impressive amount of badges! I love the blue one. I don't drink beer much, so I don't know many of them... others I do and they look great. Let's hope they're worth a lot and sell them!😃

Impressive amount...??? Pero si esto no es nada, es un montoncito muuuuuuy pequeñito. 😂

Let's hope they're worth a lot and sell them!😃

Here everyone wants me to sell my bottle caps and I'm just thinking about making a map with them on a wall. 🙂

But I don't have any....😌

You have more than me....🤣

The map will look great, keep on collecting!

But surely you go out on the street, and in less than two hours you find a variety of bottle caps.

No.... clean everything.... no matter what I have a collection of pendants and rings hahahaha

Chanel is as happy as you are with your bottle stoppers. Sorry I didn't look you up more, but I liked what you showed us. Excellent post.❤️❤️❤️🥰

Mamani, yo estoy feliz con tu contribución a mi chapística. Recuerda ahora cada vez que abras una botella, si encuentras alguna, guardarme la chapa. 😋

Buhito wanted to hear a musical composition of bottle caps made by you 🦉

I don't drink beer, but Buhito does, so if you ever want to, Buhito invites you jiji

Are you really going to risk it? It's not exactly music... hahaha... more like just noise.

Buhito seems to be quite the hipster. I'm going with him to a disco to dance and drink beers. Of course I'm going. 😅

Do you only collect those you have found, or do you accept unusual/foreign bottle caps from others?

At the end of the post, I explain why I collected those bottle caps for a month, but I've decided to keep collecting. And of course, I accept donations for my crown cap collector cause.

;)

You are bringing your bottle caps collection just on time!!! Intervención chapística was successful 👏👏

And that one that is for sale... Now you can sell your bottle cap one day, when it becomes rarity and is worth much 💰😁

😄 tendré que seguir coleccionando chapitas... Gracias @mipiano.

Nice to see your collection! Collecting bottle caps can be a surprisingly meaningful, offering a tangible connection to different moments and experiences. Each cap, with its unique design, color, and branding, can evoke memories of a particular event, place, or even a shared drink with friends!

Last but not least, it is a compact hobby that do not demand much space, making them ideal for display on a board, in a jar, or arranged in a creative pattern! 😁

Yes, you are right but these were only collected from a few establishments I passed by and some I received from other people. It was just to get an idea of what kind of bottled drinks are sold here. Anyway, I'll keep collecting them to put them on a wall one day. Something artistic.

Thanks for stopping by! Best regards! 🤗

Looking forward to see the final product on those wall someday! 😁

@nanixxx aunque son pocas chapas, lograste hacer un escrito excelente, y algo muy importante cumpliste con la iniciativa que, en tu comentario, prometiste, eres una bella persona. Saludos.

Ah, gracias 😊. Si usted supiera por cuantos lugares pasé preguntando si vendían bebidas embotelladas para recolectar sus chapas. Les explicaba que quería tener chapas de diferentes bebidas, y todos me decían que solo vendían enlatadas y de botellas plásticas.

Sin embargo, la idea de coleccionar esto me ha gustado y ya le encontré una utilidad.

Gracias por su amable comentario. Un saludo desde La Habana.

Pequeña pero lograda!! Seguirá creciendo!...esperemos que hayan botellas y no tantas latas 🤭. Creo que podemos hacer algo por ese abrebotellas, sacachapas, abridor...😉🤣. Rectificado!!!

¿Igual que la colección de objetos navideños?

No es un abrelatas, sino un abrebotellas 😅 - creo que podrías hacer un post de cómo vas a restaurar esto. Jajaja... ¿te gusta la idea?

Ando mal jajajajaja..abrelatas!!!🥴

A ti también te gustan los edits y los hives?

Do You remenber a cuban beer named: Tinima? I don't remenber what provinces it came from

Camagüey.

Ya sabes que estoy en esto de las chapas. Cuento con tu apoyo ;) 😁

Claro. Si hoy me estrene como buzo. Exploro opciones por si la psicología no da 😉

😅 Enfócate en lo positivo. No en lo negativo.

Congratulations @nanixxx! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - April 2024 Winners List
Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2024

🙂 always growing... and thank you for your support!

You're most welcome, @nanixxx! We're thrilled that you joined us for Hive Power Up Day.

Congratulations @nanixxx! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 1 badge.
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - April 2024 Winners List
Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2024

Back then we use to use this bottle caps and conjure toys from it. We could flatten it, we could bind them together, we could use stone and compress them, the possibilities were endless but we sha had fun with it.

Seeing your collections brings back so many memories 🥹.

#dreemerforlife

I think we all did that in our childhood. Around here even musical instruments and handicrafts in schools.

Thank you, I'm glad your reading here brought back good memories.

Awwwnnn... good to know such wonderful childhood memories cut across continents ❤️

Holandia is a beer, but the other one I have no idea what it is.

Over here Hollandia is a type of yoghurt drink.

You sure have an interesting way of writing.

Always a #dreemerforlife

yoghurt drink?

Now I'm left wondering... will there be beer-flavored yogurt? LOL.

Best regards, dreemer!

Nice collections!
If I am not mistaken, its my first time seeing someone have those collections :)
#dreemerforlife

They say there's a first time for everything. But did you notice that people sell these on E-Bay?

😅

Cool caps but I think your dog drank too many of them...🤣

The Buccnero cap looks pretty cool too.

I do like the old pepsi cola opener, though not a fan of either, just the opener!

Nice work

Cool caps but I think your dog drank too many of them...🤣

Hahahahaha... Maybe!

Better to have a vintage opener to decorate the living room and not to open crap like beers and carbonated beverages... right?

I am glad to know that the collection of good resolutions is turning into a collection of good realities. a hug

😅 ah, I seem to have moved from thought to action.
A hug.

🎾🏃🚴🏊‍♀️🧘‍♀️