Sort:  

Thanks for sharing. I indeed didn't see that SPS proposal when I write this one, but I have heard about the "reason-for-down-voting feature" it proposed. I personally think that is not very practical for implementation and wide adoption (maybe I'm wrong).

This proposal focuses on the FREE downvote feature, and analyze its pros and cons. We should have some way to measure its value, and figure out whether to keep it or not. Or maybe we'll have other better solutions to resolve the challenges in the community, which is also totally fine and let's discuss about that.

I do note the difference. This proposal has more to offer and consider.

People may be interested in changing the amount of free downvote% either increasing or decreasing it, too.

I personally thing the ratio of 25% is functional. You can already upvote 4x as much.

One thing I also notice, it is customary to decline rewards or send them to @null or @steem.dao on proposal posts.

Thanks for the comments. Appreciated.

I think it would be nice if you can raise an opposite SPS proposal that support keeping the 25% FREE downvotes, with its pros and cons, and why it's necessary, and what might get worse if it's removed, with some collected data and facts.

This should help us to make a better discussion and debate on the topic.

And if you think you could not help to make a proposal, could you please help recommend anyone else who like FREE downvote to help write one?

I completely agree that this is a debate that needs to keep happening. Everyone can reach an agreement or at least an understanding of what happens. Or why one should be careful.

I'm actually interested in making the counter-proposal. I don't have as much research, but I'll try to at least link other posts where the discussion has gone down.

The only issue is people are really focused on the other things happening with Steemit right now that this debate is secondary at the moment.

Awesome. Take your time.

I will appreciate if you could make one recently, but it should be totally fine to wait a bit longer after the current fights end. (though we don't know really what the outcomes would be)

This proposal was actually written two weeks ago, before the fight happens, and I actually paused the submission due to the dramas.

But later I still submitted it at this timing, because:

  1. we want to show how conflicts and debate should be discussed inside the community without fights and wars.
  2. downvote seems to be a topic on their table, and this one may help to provide context, facts and data for the discussions, if everybody calms down.

Hello, I made one

However, I did not start the proposal yet. I noticed you run it until May so there is a lot of time and I would like to wait 1 or 2 weeks until the situation of Steemit and Justin Sun calms down a little.

Cool. It's nice to kick off.

Then we may discuss details in the post or any other effective approach going on.