You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I Love the UK - "What is something that fascinates or interests you about another culture or country?"

Interesting insight from an American. I have to admit, The Royal Family are quite popular with tourists from around the world, maybe even more popular than with a lot of locals. You guys bagged one of them over to the States, so you go a bit of royalty though I'm not sure how much longer his royal status will last. Just joking 😂

I hope you made it down to London as well.

Sort:  

Let's hope she doesn't embarass us in the meantime! :) It was only a 24 hour layover with the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in in my life. I'm kicking myself for not scheduling a few days as the closest I got to London was Gatwick airport on the way back. Even forgot to get fish and chips while I was there.

The currency over there was beautiful, put our dollars to shame. They do so many things right in the UK, but all I heard from them was a desire to live elsewhere. A lot was based on the weather, which surprised me as I had no idea the rain and fog was so pervasive. Which may explain why so many Brits live in Spain! :)

On the way to Gatwick from Germany, I sat next to a middle-aged Englishman. I made him roar with laughter by proposing the England restore the British Empire by invading the United States. It was good to see him laugh and I told him "Now you can tell your wife about that crazy Yank you sat next to on the plane!" I love the UK. :)

You're a true anglophile!!!